1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rise of the Tomb Raider Bench Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Mar 12, 2016.

  1. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,542

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Your lucky I'm running Nv now.:eek:;):p
     
  2. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,542

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Kaap might as well throw in the DX11 result, can't have thebennyboy sitting atop me:p

    [​IMG]

    Same as before:

    DX12
    1080p
    970@1380/3506(Stock clocks)
    3770K@4.5
    364.51 Drivers
     
  3. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,055

    Location: Dalek flagship

    And on the scoreboard.:)
     
  4. thebennyboy

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 23, 2013

    Posts: 3,427

    Oh i don't think so. :D

    GPU: R9 290X @ 1240/1600
    CPU: 4790k @ 4.7GHz
    Drivers: 16.3 Crimson

    1080p - DX11
    [​IMG]

    HBAO+ doing it's work making my 290X suffer. :p
     
  5. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,055

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Scoreboard updated.:)
     
  6. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,542

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Neither do I.:p

    DX11
    1080p
    970@1535/3602
    364.51 Drivers

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Ian Evey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 4, 2009

    Posts: 2,428

    Location: Derby

    Your the lucky one if your running Nvidia now :)

    On a serious note I am actually unimpressed so far with the dx12 numbers.
     
  8. TheF34RChannel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 12, 2015

    Posts: 1,694

    As am I. Is there any reason to buy this game before Volta? :/
     
  9. thebennyboy

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 23, 2013

    Posts: 3,427

    Can't do any better than that, not bad for the old 290X. HBAO+ probably gives you the edge. I think i need to plug in the additional power connector as the card was pretty much drawing the max it could. :p

    Got to a point where it was becoming unusually unstable no matter how much voltage i gave the core.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2016
  10. Wilkeh

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 27, 2012

    Posts: 331

    DX12
    1440p
    4790K @ 4.4
    GTX 980
    361.75 drivers

    The old girl blew out some steam then haha! That last scene nearly erupted the whole PC :D

    [​IMG]
     
  11. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,542

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Don't know about how it's running on AMD, but unless G-Sync isn't enabled in the DX12 build, then DX11 is running way better than DX12 here, Mantle for me had a much bigger impact, it really didn't get the credit it deserved imho but that's the nature of the game.:)

    :cool:
    If you enjoyed the first one and didn't get bored and want more of the same, that's reason enough to get it, but it is just more of the same imo.

    First time Iv'e pushed this 970, don't oc any more and just run stock now, that Kaap character dragged me back in, used to have the 290X, it's built like a tank, cracking card in it's own right as is the 970.

    Never know mate if AMD can, they'll get some more out of this.:)

    :cool:
     
  12. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,055

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Kingpin 980 Ti @1570/2127
    Stock volts
    Air cooled
    Stock bios
    DX12
    1080p
    4930k @4.5
    364.51 drivers

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2016
  13. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,055

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Kingpin 980 Ti @1570/2102
    Stock volts
    Air cooled
    Stock bios
    DX11
    1080p
    4930k @4.0
    359.91 drivers

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2016
  14. Robzere31

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 20, 2005

    Posts: 3,934

    Location: Redditch

    i7 4770K @ 4.5ghz
    G1 980ti 1500/4000
    1440p
    364.51

    DX11
    [​IMG]

    DX12
    [​IMG]
     
  15. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,055

    Location: Dalek flagship

    And on the scoreboard.:)
     
  16. andrewohare

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 25, 2013

    Posts: 1,736

    Location: Redditch

    DX12
    1 x Titan X @ 1150/1753
    1440p
    364.51 Drivers
    5960x @ 4.3
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,055

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Can you recheck you settings please, your score is more than double what it should be for the settings in the OP.:D:)
     
  18. andrewohare

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 25, 2013

    Posts: 1,736

    Location: Redditch

    Sorry about that .. I had it on FXAA instead of SMAAx4 didn't realize

    1 x Titan X @ 1150/1753
    1440p
    364.51 Drivers
    5960x @ 4.3


    DX 11 result

    [​IMG]

    DX12 Result
    [​IMG]

    Miss my other titan x :(
     
  19. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,055

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Scoreboard updated.:)
     
  20. fs123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 4, 2006

    Posts: 2,442

    The 290X is being limited by a driver problem othus affecting the result. Since it's a very high texture quality setting I suspect some memory management issue which the 970 avoids due to the game being Nvidia sponsored. It's only the AMD cards which appear to act according to the developer warning that the setting needs more than 4GB.

    Rather strange imo if the 4GB Nvidia cards don't seem to be affected by the >4GB requirement. Foul play or just a coincidence? :confused:
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2016