1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Road Cycling

Discussion in 'Pedal Powered' started by FrenchTart, Jun 29, 2016.

  1. mrthingyx

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Apr 3, 2003

    Posts: 15,369

    Location: Cambridge

    Was finally out in my Spatz Pro 2s and whilst it wasn't wet they were really nice and warm (4°C). I did go through a puddle and get them wet (would have soaked my normal overshoes), but nothing crazy.

    Just need to find a puddle to stand in...
     
  2. merlin

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,627

    Location: England

    FFS, I have a hilly(ish) sportive tomorrow and I can't get my RD into the largest cog at the back. Everything is indexed perfectly, and it's definitely not the limit screw adjustment blocking off the largest cog.

    It makes no difference which ring I'm in at the front.

    The bike had new cables fitted a few weeks back - this is the first time I've even tried to select the easiest cog (bike has just sat on the training using ERG mode for weeks) so this is the first time I've spotted the problem.

    Ideas? Cable issue? It's almost like there's not enough cable. Frig sake - I've no time to run this to the bike shop today and today is the only chance of fixing it. :(
     
  3. Berger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 22, 2003

    Posts: 10,230

    Location: Wigan

    You should be able to tell, does it try to shift and can’t?

    Have you changed to a larger cassette or anything like that?

    Not sure how confident you are in DIY. I’d undo the cable, actuate the mech by hand and ensure it can go in the largest cog, then will help see where your issues are.
     
  4. Roady

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,702

    Location: Hereford

    Annoying or what! Must be different versions/updated version they need to bundle into the Rotor program, or at least warm you about :rolleyes:

    Haha I've thought about doing that with mine just to 'prove' how good they are but chickened out... I've sprayed them with a hose to clean filth off them without an issue and ridden through lots of standing water & spray. They're great but mine have not ridden through a torrential downpour yet... But equally expecting them to be as excellent, even if they don't keep me perfectly dry, it'll still be head and shoulders better above anything else I've tried. The coverage/protection is excellent. But I can see riding in the warmer/muggier spring weather they'll be too warm! Certainly wouldn't want to wear them in a wet summer, the Pro might be better than the Roadman for that? Less insulation...

    Sounds like not enough cable length/stretch for it to go slack enough. Got much you can slacken off from the RD adjuster? Sounds like you basically need enough to move a whole gear 'over'. As you say you've checked the limit screw. As Berger says, remove cable from the equation to confirm (if you're slackening the cable off may aswell undo it anyway, then only takes 20s to push it over by hand to confirm limit screw again).

    How are you adding tension to the cable when tightening things really does matter. There's some GCN 'trick' about being in a certain cog before tightening but I could never get that to work very well. I have one of the '3d hand' thingys to hold cable tension and it helps but usually still takes me a couple of tries to get it close when I change cables. Sometimes using the tool is a faff and takes longer than just doing it by hand and trial and error a couple of times... Just make sure you have your barrel adjuster somewhere in the middle so can adjust either way. Although I know I always do mine too loose so I wind mine right in...
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
  5. merlin

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,627

    Location: England

    Thanks guys - just loosened off the cable and started again - it's now going in albeit only off the small front ring - I'll take that! Phew :)
     
  6. Roady

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,702

    Location: Hereford

    Enough for a bailout - and that's all you need! ;)

    Just check the top end when actually out on it before sportive to confirm, we all know how indexing can be 'perfect' in the stand, yet dire on the road... From what I can fathom some minor rub in your lowest gears is kinda expected/allowed for now by Shimano. Annoying for perfectionists (like me).
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
  7. merlin

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,627

    Location: England

    Yeah tbh I've got used to the fact that indexing on the trainer vs off the trainer are two different things - the bike has very often needed a quarter turn on the RD when going on or off the trainer. I just imagined having to climb some ****** mini mountain without access to the 28T, it filled me with dread :p
     
  8. Jonny ///M

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 23, 2004

    Posts: 9,921

    If limit screws are set and the hanger is straight then the best order is to go into highest gear front and rear.

    Disconnect cable.
    Wind barrel adjust fully in then back off a out a whole turn.

    Connect cable with reasonable hand tension.

    Shift down one gear, 11th to 10th,to see if it even moves the mech, if not redo the cable with a bit more tension.

    Once you get it shifting down one gear with one click stick it in the 4th cog up or whatever gives a straight chain line.

    Look from the rear and try to tell if the chain is going to the left or right when coming off the sprocket.

    If it's towards the mech then add a quarter turn at a time until the chain is vertically in line from sprocket to jockey wheel.

    If its trying to shift down to the next sprocket then take tension off until the chain is vertically in line with th the jockey wheel.

    Do a quarter at a time and shift up and down the gears to let it settle in before adjusting more.

    Once each shift results in a gear change up the block make sure it drops down from the bigger cogs. If it's sluggish then back off tension a quarter turn.

    When looking from the back the way you turn the barrel adjuster is the way you want the chain to move.

    The newer shadow style mech barrel adjusters can be annoying with tension on them. The plastic cap turns but doesn't actually turn the metal threaded part. I tend to push the mech into the larger cog by hand, pull the outer cable out of the adjuster and turn it with no pressure applied.


    Wall of text.
     
  9. merlin

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,627

    Location: England

    Thanks Jonny - absolutely right on the barrel adjuster - for ages I thought turning it was doing something so I was scratching my head as nothing was changing, the knob was just rotating and not moving the blooming threaded screw - thought I was going mad.

    It's now totally playing ball, it's going into the largest cog at the back, but only when on the smallest front ring - I can totally live with that as I tend not to cross-chain anyway, we all know kittens die because of large front cog to large rear cog.
     
  10. Roady

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,702

    Location: Hereford

    Haha. There are no mountains in the midlands! ;)

    What's the route/ride? :D

    Really need to decide if I'm doing the same one as last year as my first of 2020. Really should as without it last year my sportive/event riding pretty much totally sucked.

    EDIT: Domokun! Wow it's been a while.
     
  11. Saytan

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,405

    because they insist on indexing the front derailleur, which is wholly unnecessary and actually inferior.
     
  12. merlin

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,627

    Location: England

    It's not local:

    https://www.the-rawlinson-bracket.co.uk/

    Reasonably easy season opener, trying to gently wake the legs from winter slumber.
     
  13. Jonny ///M

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 23, 2004

    Posts: 9,921

    All Shimano 2 piston calipers are the same 22mm pistons I believe so should feel the same, it's a matter of the right hose and hose fitting.

    Last time I looked the low limit screw range on the newer mechs is 0-0.5mm so can be pretty much touching the replaceable skid plate. They are very sensitive to the angle they are set up at and I've had some bikes where the low screw just stops doing anything and the mech is rubbing on the chain. That will be a chainline issue rather than a mech issue though.
     
  14. SoliD

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 25, 2004

    Posts: 14,601

    Location: Portsmouth

    And yet another organised ride called off, this week is our clubs reliability ride tomorrow which I was quite looking forward to. Can't wait to go to spain in 3 weeks after this winter!
     
  15. AndyCr15

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 28, 2011

    Posts: 10,190

    Location: London, UK

    I'm thinking of trying to sell my wheels separate to the bike, so paid the postage and bought one online :)

    [​IMG]
     
  16. One More Solo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 29, 2004

    Posts: 15,600

    Location: Manchester

    Didn’t you just buy the bike? Or are you just selling the wheels?
     
  17. AndyCr15

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 28, 2011

    Posts: 10,190

    Location: London, UK

    It's for the previous bike. I took the photo in front of the new bike just for a nicer background than my carpet :p
     
  18. TheBrooder

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 8, 2007

    Posts: 3,083

    Location: Cognac, France

    Any elemnt bolt users had a problem updating the firmware - I'm in a loop of "checking" "Downloading 0%" "checking".

    I tried a factory reset but there's no change...
     
  19. Berger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 22, 2003

    Posts: 10,230

    Location: Wigan

    Wet, cold, windy. Left home and it was raining but the forecast was to get better and I’ve been getting a bit sick of the trainer.

    But by then my feet were soaked and cold. Turned into a hard ride, 270w NP for the two 1/2 hours of the bunch, felt a bit sick, when I peeled off for home bonked big time.

    Got home ate two jam sandwiches had a coffee and then went and sat in the shower, feet hurting as they warmed back up.

    Rode through a few floods, one almost up to the hubs and bb. checked my inpower when I got home. Perfectly dry, the cover is super tight to fit and has an O ring but good to know. Good job I drilled a hole in the BB shell earlier in the week too!
     
  20. TheBrooder

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 8, 2007

    Posts: 3,083

    Location: Cognac, France

    I was moaning at a few small 8-10% climbs and a constant headwind. At least it was dry!

    Did you ride around Wigan? I grew up in Standish.