1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up Pi-hole

Discussion in 'Linux & Open Source' started by NoNameNoNumber, Nov 5, 2016.

  1. Buffalo2102

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 9, 2004

    Posts: 540

    I've moved away from pihole now and use dnsmasq with some blocklists. I found with the blocklists that I use, graph.facebook.com or graph.facebook.net were the lines that were affecting Facebook access, so I remove them from the lists. Hope that helps.
     
  2. valve90210

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 17, 2006

    Posts: 3,785

    I updated my pihole yesterday which I have running on an old early model b with only 256mb and I have to say I'm impressed, the webif was always slow to load before but now it's lovely and speedy!
     
  3. PaulB

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 15, 2002

    Posts: 807

    Wow, wish I had set this up ages ago.

    Got Pi Hole set up on my Synology and it's running a treat.

    Blocking 2.4 million domains with a good chunk of the 'ticked' lists added from this page....

    https://wally3k.github.io/

    Internet noticeably quicker!
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2018 at 4:19 PM
  4. Combat squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 9,163

    Just got this running again on my proper lan - block list is saying its blocking '-1' domains - any idea why? Followed bledds guide and pointed router at the IP of the pihole's as the primary DNS.

    EDIT: Also appears I cannot update my apple devices with pihole running - once I put my DNS back to what it should be - it works fine - only enabled default lists
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
  5. Combat squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 9,163

    Just reinstalled all of rasperri pi and pi hole, seems to work well now :)
     
  6. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 45,121

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Nice :)
     
  7. maj

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 19, 2010

    Posts: 1,929

    Location: Newcastle

    Does anyone here have a Fire Tablet? I got one for Xmas but hate the lock screen ads. Has anyone had any joy blocking them with Pi Hole? There's some adb commands I've found online but they only seem to stop the ads for a few hours then they're back.

    com.amazon.kindle.kso seems to be the main culprit and I've added it as a blocked domain but doesn't seem to make any difference.
     
  8. Sp00n

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 17,695

    Location: Brighton

    com.amazon.kindle.kso isn't a domain, i'd be surprised if you can block the adverts as they'll likely stream them from the same domains as the content in order to get around the blocking.

    Apparently you can request the advert removal via chat looking at some post on the xda forums or continue to keep removing com.amazon.kindle.kso via adb as it probably reinstalls itself when updates are performed or something like that.
     
  9. Tomsk

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,054

    Location: Overground, underground..

    You'll get used to the ads and your brain will just bypass them.

    I switch my Fire on, and swipe to unlock withour even seeing the ads now.
     
  10. maj

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 19, 2010

    Posts: 1,929

    Location: Newcastle

    I've done the adb trick but it only seems to last 24 hours then the ads are back. I'm finding Pi-Hole is getting more and more less useful now that websites are starting to host their ads on the same domain meaning if you block the domain, you block all the content.

    I could potentially flash it with a custom rom if the ads do become too intrusive. I'm aware of the option to request Amazon to remove the ads, but yet to try my luck. The fact you can pay a fee either pre or post purchase to remove the ads speaks volumes.

    Edit: Doesn't even look like you can flash the latest Fire OS. Sigh...
     


Share This Page