1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Skoda

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Phil W, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. kyleVTR

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 21, 2012

    Posts: 695

    Location: Luton

    mk1 diesel
     
  2. 2ZR-FE

    Gangster

    Joined: May 18, 2012

    Posts: 135

    Well it uses the PD130 engine that is in a lot of vag cars, its a typical turbo diesel a mass of torque between 2000-3500 rpm then nothing, change gear and repeat. They feel quicker than they are because of the torque.

    Can be remapped to around 180 bhp very easily, then they start getting quick, expensive for what they are though.
     
  3. kyleVTR

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 21, 2012

    Posts: 695

    Location: Luton

    o right ok, im after a diesel for around £4k so was looking at these just thought it be something different, any you can recommend?
     
  4. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    TIP fitted now, ball-ache of a job and one which I wouldn't like to attempt again! Engine cover won't fit now as it fouls on the Recirc Valve so looks like I'll need to trim it a bit.

    Seems to pick up boost quicker, sounds a bit louder. Can't really tell any difference in how it drives!

    [​IMG]

    Jubilee fitted to the lower pipe now btw!
     
  5. Pants

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,979

    Location: Leicester

    It's going on a standard exhaust. I'm just replacing my broken stock downpipe on the cheap basically, until I get it repaired for MOT time next year. I was also hoping for a bit more noise and pull at higher rpm in the meantime!

    I have a Jabba Sport stage 1 remap so that might turn off the rear lambda sensor, but I'm not sure. If not I might get an engine light and be forced to go stage 2 to turn it off. ;)

    Does anyone know if I should I be expecting to need new turbo bolts for changing the downpipe on a 100K car? Already have the gaskets...
     
  6. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    Should be just gasket and new Nuts, no?
     
  7. Matt82

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 13, 2004

    Posts: 16,548

    I'd do the bolts. They're cheap. I was planning the same. Bigger down pipe and standard system but was worried it would make it torque spike harder. Def tell us what it does to the sound too!
     
  8. Pants

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,979

    Location: Leicester

    The ToyoSports downpipe is on now. The difference in size is comical when you see them together!

    Fit: Not too bad. The only problem is at the smallest tapered end it's just a tiny bit smaller than the existing exhaust, so the clamp on the sleeve that connects the two has to be done up very tight. It sealed correctly but the chap put a tiny spot weld on to make sure it couldn't move. I'll have to grind the spot weld off to change it back for MOT time which is the only annoyance.

    Noise: Pretty much no change when mated to the standard exhaust, a tiny bit louder if you really want to split hairs.

    Performance: I've got a stage 1 JabbaSport v-power map. It's early days yet but I think it does pull a little harder throughout the range with the de-cat, nothing too dramatic though. I didn't notice performance at 5.5K + to drop off as quickly, I think it holds it longer. It also felt a little more responsive and eager to spool at part throttle / lower revs. I need to drive it some more to be sure though.

    I did my local benchmark (up a hill from a standing start) and it was 5mph faster than before at the braking point. Not very scientific obviously so I won't read into it too much!
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2012
  9. Matt82

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 13, 2004

    Posts: 16,548

    I'd put a tiny wager on it being a touch more fuel efficient too with the boost coming on more readily
     
  10. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    Had the Cam Belt changed for peace of mind. Car is approachIng 65k now and no previous history of it being done, incidentally it was the original belt.

    A new belt, tensioner etc, water pump and coolant came to £200 inc. labour which wasnt too bad IMHO!

    Need to change the oil, fuel filter and spark plugs next and then I'm up to date with most of the serviceable parts.

    Also bought these as I think my current set are warped...

    [​IMG]

    :)
     
  11. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    Replaced the gash blue hose that came with the CAI for a black silicone one, tempted to paint the pipe black now to keep it as standard looking as possible!

    Also re-fitted my engine cover after it was removed to fit the TIP.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    Well, hit a stumbling block today. Got the DP out to check measurements to see if I needed any reducers or clamps on it. I bought it cheap and had a suspicion something may have been not quite right, turns out the Flexi pipe is nackered. At first I thought the light was coming from the Lambda sensor hole but after covering it up, it seems not!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And the split...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I can get a new Flexi for £12ish so in going to call a local powerflow dealer and see how much they will charge to replace the old one!

    Also 'cleaned' the airways with this cleaner, seems to have made it smell a bit fresher and can't complain for a quid!

    [​IMG]

    Needed a cam belt sticker after loosing mine so hunted online and found a website that offered free samples, rude not to :D

    [​IMG]

    And got some of this stuff ready for the brake change... Joys of having mum work for them :D

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    Got ready to do the brakes today, went to my 'rents house as my driveway is sloped and I don't like working on it!

    Got the car in the air and wheels off, stripped off the retaining springs and went in the garage to find no socket or Allen key in the size I needed... Damn!

    While the wheels were off I knew my horn needed sorting as the CAI fouled on it so I cable-tied it out of the way, got a piece of mesh and bent a temp bracket up! The outside temp sensor was just hanging as well so I bolted that back up...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    When I tied the horn up I didn't think and left it pointing up, water got in so I got what I could out, will have to see if it's nackered it or not!

    Gave the TB a clean as well, was very grubby when i opened it fully...

    Before:

    [​IMG]

    After:

    [​IMG]

    Finally, whilst the front wheels were off I gave the calipers a coat of smooth green, better to do it now whilst the old discs and pads are in!

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    Finished off the rear brakes today, found something else to change now though!!

    [​IMG]

    And my bump stops...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Not too bad though, about £16 delivered for a new pair :)
     
  15. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    Had some great news today, well for me anyway!!

    I contacted Milltek to see if I could pursue a warranty claim with the split flexi in the Sports Cat, wishful thinking seeing as I bought it 2nd had and you need to be the original purchaser for warranty claims.

    They said they can supply a replacement flexi for £34 or so. I asked how much it would be to get it fixed and fitted to the car by them, they said they can't fit it to the car but they would put a new flexi in for the same price if I got it to them. Brilliant customer service IMHO, I was expecting a flat "no". I'll get it sent off next week, very very happy though, puts the sports cat at £140 now but it's still a bargain!!

    :D
     
  16. Matt82

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 13, 2004

    Posts: 16,548

    Spotted the droplinks attached to the damper. Do the vrs use tt arms?
     
  17. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    You can fit them IIRC but they are not the same!
     
  18. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    A not great update today, Air Con has been problematic over the past week or so, problematic in the way of not working at all!

    Problem is there are a lot of different components that can fail, only one fault code on VCDS which could potentially be a number of different things.

    First thing was to get a re-gas, worked fine, lovely and cold. 2 days later...warm air. Compressor isn't kicking in, neither is the condenser fan. Had system pressure tested and still charged with gas.

    Ordered a replacement HP/LP switch as thats the 'fault' according to VCDS, I can then go on to investigate other components if that doesn't work.

    Bill on air con so far;

    - £40 Re-gas
    - £22 HP/LP switch
     
  19. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 9,938

    Location: Jupiter

    Air con problems this week, changed the pressure sensor & found there was no gas in the system.

    Found the cause of the problem, inflicted by who ever fitted the Intercooler, started by filling the system with Nitrogen, pressure held to start with but then started dropping off.

    Took the front end off to try and see where it was leaking...

    [​IMG]

    Re-filled the system with nitrogen, sprayed some fairy liquid about and spotted the culprit..

    [​IMG]

    Clamp part of the jubilee clip was chaffing on a pipe on the condenser and wore a hole through...

    [​IMG]

    Phone pic but you can just about see the pin hole...

    [​IMG]

    Tried to solder it but heating it up created another hole, new condenser time! Happy we found the leak though!!
     
  20. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 18, 2005

    Posts: 13,052

    Location: Shropshire

    How much for a new condenser Phil? :o