1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec me a CCTV System

Discussion in 'Home and Garden' started by Sirrel Squirrel, Dec 28, 2013.

  1. Siliconslave

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 11, 2002

    Posts: 9,901

    Location: The Flatlands

    i'm yet to mount one of my hikvisions (reminds me i need more cat6...) so i've got it sat inside a window like this - connected with a PSU and powerline eithernet. Not pretty or all that practical as you get a load of reflections (IR is also totally useless) but i guess if it was semi permanent you could make a hood to keep reflections down

    [​IMG]
    (low quality stream as its from my phone)
     
  2. MehulLakhani

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 1,186

    Location: Watford

    Anyone have any ideas ? Have to pull the trigger on a 7 camera install soon, and want to get the latest kit if I possibly can ....
     
  3. norm

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2003

    Posts: 4,994

    I bought and fitted a Hikvision DS-2CD2355FWD-I recently, I'm trying to get to grips with smart events e.g. intrusion detection, line crossing, however I'm still getting loads of false positives like clouds reflecting off the car, shadows when the sun is bright. Is this the limitation of this so called smart system, is it better just to record 24/7?
     
  4. Siliconslave

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 11, 2002

    Posts: 9,901

    Location: The Flatlands

    General consensus seems to be don’t rely on the smart stuff. Record 24/7 and then maybe use the smart stuff for refinement.
     
  5. Mike1983

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 16, 2007

    Posts: 733

    Or connect a dedicated PIR to the alarm input. I’ve done this on a few of mine and it works perfect. I still record 24 / 7 as I’ve got plenty of storage but the PIR nails down definitive times to look for events.

    I couldn’t get any of smart event features (line crossing etc) to work accurately.
     
  6. Unicorn

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 24, 2011

    Posts: 4,726

    Hope im not too late here but i use the Yi outdoor camera and love it, I paid 40 pounds for the white outdoor 1080p version on prime day. Loaded a 32gb sd card and set it up and its been faultless ever since.
     
  7. ash_scotland88

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 1, 2007

    Posts: 5,186

    So getting fed up with my swann unit and should have listened to you guys to begin with.
    Can the IP hikvission ones with POE and SD cards be connected to a NVR at a later date? Thinking something like the
    Hikvision DS-2CD2063G0
     
  8. Scream

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,629

    Location: The Darkside

    Yes
     
  9. LabR@t

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 30, 2005

    Posts: 9,701

    Blink Vs Arlo?

    The wireless feature is really interesting for me.
     
  10. ash_scotland88

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 1, 2007

    Posts: 5,186

    Is that to me? I didn't realise I pasted in bold and large.
    Any recommendations for a cam? I want zone and/or line crossing. Fed up of loads of false alerts.


    If timed alerts are a thing too that would be great, eg onlyalert me between 2300-0600 type.
     
  11. WoodyUK

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2009

    Posts: 6,384

    Location: Warwickshire

    Hello Chaps.

    I've a cheap-o QVIS DVR + 4 Camera system which was installed by a "professional" between 4-5 years ago.

    Unfortunately the camera outputs are all black on the screen now since a power cut or surge a couple of weeks ago.
    The DVR still powers on and all works as usual, can navigate the settings etc.

    The power adapter brick that splits out to 4 power connectors to the cameras still lights up and shows a 5.4V output according to a very cheap voltmeter so I presume that is fine and it's the DVR that is the problem.

    The cameras are on BNC connectors.

    My question is: Can I buy any DVR that has BNC input and expect it to work? Or is there anything specific to look out for? Must it be a QVIS unit again or is it generally accepted to mix and match cameras and DVRs?

    Thanks in advance.

    I'd rather not have to replace the cameras, I've no complaints over the quality of them and can easily see numberplates of cars at the end of my drive etc.
     
  12. Kaka

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 11, 2004

    Posts: 1,356

    Location: Curitiba

    As long as the replacement DVR has BNC inputs then you should be fine.

    Before shelling out on a new one though, I would either get another dirt cheap camera to test on the existing DVR or a BNC to VGA adapter and connecting them directly to your monitor to make sure they work.
     
  13. DampCat

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 26, 2007

    Posts: 13,675

    Location: Manchestah

    Are you guys mounting external cameras high or low? I can't figure out what's Best. Low, easy to interfere with it. High, thwarted by a baseball cap.

    Looking to get one over my drive now I've got an expensive car on it.
     
  14. The Funktopus

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 14, 2008

    Posts: 3,474

    Location: Aigburth, Liverpool

    I’m planning on fitting CCTV on my house next leave, I only need a two camera system, as there’s no realistic way to access the house from the side, so I only need one over the garden, and one over the drive.To get around the high/low problem, I was also planning on fitting a Ring video doorbell as well, so I’d have high and low coverage of the drive and the front approaches to the house.
     
  15. Longbow

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 15, 2004

    Posts: 9,339

    I presume you've already gone ahead now, but I cannot see the advantage of EasyIP 4, with the exception of a few smart features? Lower megapixel camera, and doesn't support "265+" like EasyIP 3. It's possible that the lack of availability and details about the EasyIP 4 cameras is because they are still being made.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2018
  16. Scream

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,629

    Location: The Darkside

    H.265+ is the least of my worries and if it was available, I wouldn’t use it anyhow.
     
  17. ddoubleep

    Gangster

    Joined: May 5, 2017

    Posts: 389

    Location: London

    I am looking to get some CCTV installed at home. I think I need to get a couple at the front of the property to cover the cars and front door along with the garage and windows and then a couple at the back to cover the back patios and one on the side to overlook the alleyway so looking at 5 camera in total.

    I asked a few local guys to see what they had and they mentioned they do a Qvis DVR / 5MP AHD system or another a Dahua 2MP or 4MP HDCVI system. Looking through the threads not sure if this is the correct route/path as they are not IP / NVR setups.

    Can anyone recommend a system that allows good day and night coverage and access via the app on my phone, tablet and maybe TV/monitor from time to time?

    Should I avoid the above and look more at Hikvision?

    I had budgeted about a grand but may have to spend more on an IP setup?

    Thanks.
     
  18. azibux1

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 3,206

    Location: UK

    How come?
     
  19. Scream

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,629

    Location: The Darkside

    I’ve never had success with Hikvision’s encoding technology. Quality issues being one of them. If you have storage space issues then you could give it a go.
     
  20. azibux1

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 3,206

    Location: UK

    Ah fair enough. I never looked into it much but I think I have it switched on with my 2335