1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The AMD Driver Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LtMatt, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,787

    Location: Knowhere

    Thanks for the pic, The new forum software is a bit looney, It sometimes takes me 3 or 4 goes to get a post right if it includes screenshots, copy/pastes & deletions etc, There's these funny little dots when copy/pasting from the AMD driver updates that the forum can't seem to see making them immune to deletions, I feel sorry for Kaap with all the bench threads to update, I did the Strange Brigade bench thread a couple of months back, never again. :D
     
  2. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,787

    Location: Knowhere

    :D I rolled back to 18.12.1, With no VSR for 1440uw there's no reason for me to move up yet & it was a mess so I did a couple of bug reports and rolled back.

    I'm not sure I know where you mean? In the Radeon Settings/Display AMD's simply on or off for me
     
  3. MyBrainz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 30, 2012

    Posts: 2,351

    Location: Stoke On Trent

    Under each game profile.
     
  4. henson0115

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 6, 2013

    Posts: 1,086

    Location: Nottingham

    No problem, yea first time posting a pic on here and been reading 10plus years. Easier to host elsewhere and let them do the code. It's not like I'm not used to HTML or anything lol.
     
  5. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 13,200

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Because the previous posted list for 18.12.3 is not complete

     
  6. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 6,787

    I submitted a bug report for slow and crash-causing alt-tab/alt-enter and won't be upgrading my drivers again until either I see something in the driver notes about it or it's been a good few months. I expect they'll fix the broken "Zero RPM" toggle fairly soon though.
     
  7. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,787

    Location: Knowhere

    From the look of it my guess would be that AMD optimized means they plan to make individual profiles for any games Freesync does not play well with. Because all the games are set to AMD optimised by default I presume it means Freesync on unless they've added a profile for that particular game.
     
  8. AmateurExpert

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 7, 2017

    Posts: 411

    Location: location location

    Catching up on this thread - recent Windows 10 updates broke compatibility with older AMD drivers (and other things too) so its not just whether the driver itself supports the GPU. Of course Windows will try to install incompatible drivers, what else would you expect from Microsoft? They have no QA team.
     
  9. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 13,200

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    @LtMatt, has anyone reported the following behaviour of the 18.12.2.2 drivers?
    If you have a game with custom profile, and the game crashes (ESO is unstable some times) on restart of the Windows 10, the AMD interface ignores completely the custom profile exists and is enabled. Even if launching the game directly from the drivers interfcace and the profile states is enabled.

    Changing profile parameters, and launching from the drivers works, but after 15-20 minutes magically defaults to normal clocks (no min/max on P7) while the game is running.
    The only way to fix this, is to delete the game profile and start new one.
     
  10. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,331

    Location: United Kingdom

    I'll look into it, but i suspect this is expected to stop unstable settings being applied after a crash.
    Another workaround is to toggle the histogram on, or you can try toggling it on and then off.
     
  11. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 19, 2004

    Posts: 6,531

    Location: n/east-the toon

    Anyone find that the FPS slider is not working set at 60Hz for my monitor , game launched from Dirt Rally game profile.

    Reported.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2018
  12. leemk

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2007

    Posts: 557

    Keep getting a notification that a newer driver is available , currently installed 18.12.3 but it says 18.12.2 is recommended.
    Is .3 knackered and they recommend downgrading.
     
  13. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 19,523

    Location: The KOP

    Amd always recommended the latest WHQL driver. 18.12.2 is the latest stable WHQL signed driver so it's the recommended driver.
    18.12.3 is the latest beta driver so is not recommended by Radeon settings.

    Hope this helps the confusion.
     
  14. Shiari

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 11, 2013

    Posts: 795

    Location: Nottingham

    It helps the confusion, it doesn't make it any less annoying though. The message is confusing since the beta *is* the latest driver, but by the sound of it not the latest *recommended* driver.
     
  15. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 19, 2004

    Posts: 6,531

    Location: n/east-the toon

  16. KentMan

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2016

    Posts: 387

    I installed the 18.2.3 driver and now Freesync no longer works :( the options turned off and greyed out... Back I go to the drivers before this current branch of fail :(
     
  17. Shiari

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 11, 2013

    Posts: 795

    Location: Nottingham

    I know that doesn't help you, but it works just fine for me. It's probably just gone out of sync (no pun intended) with what the monitor supports, could try reconnecting it or things like that.
     
  18. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 11,180

    Location: Milkyway Galaxy

    I keep getting system freezes with this latest driver, Have to hard reset to get back into windows, Doesn;t happen with the prior driver running a Vega 64.
     
  19. Th0nt

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 21, 2005

    Posts: 7,343

    Location: N.Ireland

    Its a shame they ballsed this rollout as you would want a positive experience to make a statement that your software team is upping the game. It should have gone beta for a few versions but then again all things released these days are rushed. Who remembers getting floppy discs on magazines to update things, they were that rare because it usually was shipped in the box working properly in the first place!
     
  20. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 11,180

    Location: Milkyway Galaxy

    The actual main 2019 driver works great, It's the 18.12.3 optional that's borked for me.