1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Fury Pro Fiji Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,723

    Location: Knowhere

    It did great on Liq Nit so congrat's to Josh,

    Shame it sucks so badly on air. I wish they'd hurry up and give us voltage and memory control.
    Will we even get it?

    My Sapphire model is fine running 3dmark at 1100 but when it came to game benchmarks 1080 was the best to run anything. I think it was the Thief bench that wasn't stable any higher. TR was 1090 too.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2015
  2. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

    it seems that we will sooner or later ;)
     
  3. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,306

    Location: Dalek flagship

    If we do get voltage and memory control water cooling is going to be important as the cards are very sensitive to heat. Using custom water blocks enables the Fury X to run @1150mhz on the core with stock volts.
     
  4. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,723

    Location: Knowhere

    So you're saying it'll never clock well on air?

    That really sucks as the cards are over priced to start with and paying out for blocks as well will really put them past fair pricing compared to the competitions performance.
    They've really gone about not being seen as the cheaper brand in the wrong way.
     
  5. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,306

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Not quite.

    The way to look at it is the AIO cooled Fury X (with a bigger core) overclocks better than the air cooled Fury Ps. If you then change the AIO cooler for custom waterblocks the Fury X clocks even better.

    How much difference voltage control will make I can not answer but I think the way things work above won't change when using volt control.

    Or putting it another way if you are using a Fury P and want to push it as far as it will go, using a custom waterblock will probably give the best results.

    Only time and testing will tell for sure.
     
  6. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,306

    Location: Dalek flagship

  7. Nutella33

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 15, 2011

    Posts: 2,799

    poor review there. You can tell they are still sulking about the nano situation
     
  8. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,378

    Location: Aberdeenshire

  9. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

    Stable and no issues? How are temps?
     
  10. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,378

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I have only run 3d mark Fire strike so far i'm about to run a game and see what like. No artifacts and stable all the way through. Temps look pretty much the same I shall double check tho.
     
  11. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

    weird with temps :D seriously something is bottlenecking fiji xt :(
     
  12. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,378

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Just tried some Far Cry 4 and everything works fine. If anything temps have come down but I think the room is a lot cooler than the last time I played which explains it.

    Tempted to try 4096...
     
  13. Sh4rkie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 26, 2007

    Posts: 1,434

    Count me in, Asus Strix unlocked 3840, 1080 core and 550 memory.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,306

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Welcome and on TROH.:)

    The Roll of Honour.


    Make Asus Strix, Sh4rkie, Link, Date 01/10/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, maonayze, Link, Date 23/09/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, r22snapper, Link, Date 10/09/2015
    Make Asus Strix, BigDools, Link, Date 06/09/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Ajaxx, Link, Date 01/09/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, LoadsaMoney, Link, Date 14/08/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Radox-0, Link, Date 06/08/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, neil473, Link, Date 04/08/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, IainR, Link, Date 01/08/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Mr Evil, Link, Date 22/07/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Nutella33, Link, Date 21/07/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, sothur, Link, Date 17/07/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Lokken86, Link, Date 17/07/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, djtoltec, Link, Date 17/07/2015


    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Fury Pro.
     
  15. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,378

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Welcome mate. Have you tried going to 4096 yet?
     
  16. Sh4rkie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 26, 2007

    Posts: 1,434

    No i didn't bother. The Asus cards don't have dual bios which means it'd be a pain if it failed booting to a second gpu to restore the card. The second reason was i ran the numbers and i didn't think the risk was worth the performance gain.

    For example a sample from my testing:
    Stock = out of the box card
    o/c = 1080core / 550mem
    stock 3840 = stock clocks + unlocked to 3840
    o/c 3840 = 1080core / 550mem + unlocked to 3840

    Code:
    Tomb Raider @ 4k Ultra
         stock        o/c           stock 3840    o/c 3840
    Min   46           48           46.6            50.4
    Max   62           66           66              68
    Avg   54.6         58.4         57              61.6
    The slim potential of unlocking the extra 4cu coupled with probably only a another minor bump didn't seem worth it.
     
  17. Sh4rkie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 26, 2007

    Posts: 1,434

    My card didn't look promising for anything but the 'low' bios mod.

    Code:
    Adapters detected: 1
    Card #1 PCI ID: 1002:7300 - 1043:049E
    DevID [7300] Rev [CB] (0), memory config: 0x00000000 (unused)
    Fiji-class chip with 16 compute units per Shader Engine
    SE1 hw/sw: 00020000 / 00000000 [..............x.]
    SE2 hw/sw: 00020000 / 00000000 [..............x.]
    SE3 hw/sw: 10000000 / 00000000 [...x............]
    SE4 hw/sw: 00020000 / 00000000 [..............x.]
    60 of 64 CUs are active. HW locks: 4 (R/W) / SW locks: 0 (R/W).
    4 CU's are disabled by HW lock, override is possible at your own risk.
     
  18. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,378

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I don't expect to get all the shaders to unlock either but I'm already happy I got something.
     
  19. Sh4rkie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 26, 2007

    Posts: 1,434

    Yep that was my thinking too :)
     
  20. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,017

    Location: In a house

    Welcome to the club :)