1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Fury Pro Fiji Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,206

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Welcome and on TROH.:)

    The Roll of Honour.


    Make Sapphire Tri-X, bake73, Link, Date 05/10/2015
    Make Asus Strix, Sh4rkie, Link, Date 01/10/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, maonayze, Link, Date 23/09/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, r22snapper, Link, Date 10/09/2015
    Make Asus Strix, BigDools, Link, Date 06/09/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Ajaxx, Link, Date 01/09/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, LoadsaMoney, Link, Date 14/08/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Radox-0, Link, Date 06/08/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, neil473, Link, Date 04/08/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, IainR, Link, Date 01/08/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Mr Evil, Link, Date 22/07/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Nutella33, Link, Date 21/07/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, sothur, Link, Date 17/07/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, Lokken86, Link, Date 17/07/2015
    Make Sapphire Tri-X, djtoltec, Link, Date 17/07/2015


    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Fury Pro.
     
  2. r22snapper

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2014

    Posts: 547

    Location: Peterboghorror

  3. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,736

    Location: In a house

    That can't be right, the Ti and the 980 should be smashing the Furys to bloody bits! :eek:

    :p
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015
  4. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

  5. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,689

    Never mind that, the old 947Mhz 290 has the GTX 970 convincingly beat :o

    GTX 960 is an utterly pointless GPU isn't it?
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015
  6. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I can never tell when you make comments like that if it's sarcasm or not :D.
     
  7. maonayze

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 21, 2014

    Posts: 1,201

    Location: South Wales

    Doesnt the pokey out tongue kinda give you a fair idea though :D
     
  8. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    There's not always a pokey out tongue though. I didn't notice this time anyway haha.
     
  9. Heinz57

    Gangster

    Joined: May 27, 2008

    Posts: 315

    Recently got a Sapphire Fury Tri-X, it's better than my awful overheating MSI 290 twin frozr in almost every conceivable way.

    However, it squeals like nothing I've ever heard before. In some games I can even hear it over my headphones and it always seems to be emitting some nasty high pitch noise (albeit quietly).

    I know many cards suffer from coil whine, but is it particularly poor with this line of card or have I just got a bad 'un?
     
  10. r22snapper

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2014

    Posts: 547

    Location: Peterboghorror

    Mine is the quietest card I've ever had and I haven't heard a report like yours before :(
     
  11. Heinz57

    Gangster

    Joined: May 27, 2008

    Posts: 315

    The thermal performance and fan noise (or rather lack of) is outstanding, although arguably anything would be compared to my old card.

    It's just this electrical squeal/buzzing, I'm not sure what I can even compare it to. If it is uncommon I'll probably try and get a replacement then.
     
  12. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,736

    Location: In a house

    Doesn't sound right, both mine are fine, no squeals, buzzing at all, very quiet.
     
  13. bake73

    Gangster

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 202

    Location: Wigan

    Send it back! mines very quiet. even when gaming.
     
  14. r22snapper

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2014

    Posts: 547

    Location: Peterboghorror

    Adapters detected: 1
    Card #1 PCI ID: 1002:7300 - 174B:E329
    DevID [7300] Rev [CB] (0), memory config: 0x00000000 (unused)
    Fiji-class chip with 16 compute units per Shader Engine
    SE1 hw/sw: 00030001 / 00000000 [..............xx]
    SE2 hw/sw: 00030001 / 00000000 [..............xx]
    SE3 hw/sw: 00030001 / 00000000 [..............xx]
    SE4 hw/sw: 00030001 / 00000000 [..............xx]
    56 of 64 CUs are active. HW locks: 8 (R/O) / SW locks: 0 (R/W).
    Sorry, all 8 disabled CUs can't be unlocked by BIOS replacement.

    :(

    Guess I will have to wait for my RMA to be refunded to improve on my frankly lame 3584 shaders :p
     
  15. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,645

    Location: Knowhere

    Like you I moved from a 290x Twin Frozer space heater to a Fury Tri-X and it is a silent cool card. I get a low coil whine once fps goes over about 2000 but 1500 fps is still silent so no send it back, Don't put up with it. You suffered long enough with the ruddy Hawaii chip and deserve a good example of a good chip so try and get a replacement.


    What psu are you using?
     
  16. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,645

    Location: Knowhere


    So how different is this?

    Adapters detected: 1
    Card #1 PCI ID: 1002:7300 - 174B:E329
    DevID [7300] Rev [CB] (0), memory config: 0x00000000 (unused)
    Fiji-class chip with 16 compute units per Shader Engine
    SE1 hw/sw: 00050000 / 00000000 [.............x.x]
    SE2 hw/sw: 00030000 / 00000000 [..............xx]
    SE3 hw/sw: 00030000 / 00000000 [..............xx]
    SE4 hw/sw: 00030000 / 00000000 [..............xx]
    56 of 64 CUs are active. HW locks: 8 (R/W) / SW locks: 0 (R/W).
    8 CU's are disabled by HW lock, override is possible at your own risk.
     
  17. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Doesn't that mean you have a great chance of unlocking?

    That's similar to what I got but I have 3 more dots on SE1 between the x's and works great.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  18. r22snapper

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2014

    Posts: 547

    Location: Peterboghorror

    All of the other ones seem to say that it is possible at your own risk, mine just says that it isn't possible. To be fair, I've only had a quick glance through the threads but I don't know why mine would say that instead of what most others have.
     
  19. IbaneZ

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 4, 2005

    Posts: 20

    Got a new 1440p monitor and thought it was a good idea to pick up a new card as well. Been using it for five days now and I'm loving it. A really nice step up from 1080p gaming. :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  20. Heinz57

    Gangster

    Joined: May 27, 2008

    Posts: 315

    Nothing very special, Corsair CS650M, but it's never given me any trouble before.