1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Fury(X) Fiji Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Jun 24, 2015.

  1. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,613

    Location: In a house

    Nice :cool:
     
  2. flopper

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 3, 2010

    Posts: 2,847

  3. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

  4. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 21,186

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Ooooooooooooooo!! Nice for you guys if so :cool:
     
  5. flopper

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 3, 2010

    Posts: 2,847

    allow +75.
     
  6. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

    Thanks, will try this weekend ;)
     
  7. Howling

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 1,945

    Does nothing for me. I'm just gonna assume it doesn't work.
     
  8. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,172

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Fury Xs are very temp sensitive

    If you use VC watch the temps.
     
  9. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

    Kaap, it is yet to be proven if actual core temps are sensitive or VRM temps.
    Since we know that air cooled furys top out at 75C and fury Xs never top above 55-60C even when clocking to stock voltage maximums, it is safe to say that core temps are not the issue here. But I do believe when we clock the core higher, VRM temps get affected, even though they are rated for 125C I think.

    In your case when you moved to custom water, VRM got better cooling from waterblock. I believe you seen how bad stock water cooling system is for VRMs.
     
  10. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,172

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I got a 25mhz improvement in oc going to custom water and the cards run @35C flat out.
     
  11. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

    yes, but that 25Mhz was due to VRM being cooled much much better. As I said, stock AIO is goo enough to keep the cards under 60C even overclocked. And GPUs shouldn't freak out until they hit above 75C (which is max for fury pro).
     
  12. Spec-Chum

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 21, 2009

    Posts: 381

    Location: Doncaster, S Yorkshire

    Last edited: Nov 17, 2015
  13. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,172

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I think you will find they do.

    GPUs from both brands perform better at lower temps when overclocked.

    Fury Xs have HBM which I suspect is very sensitive to temps as it is right next to the GPU.

    Even on my 980 Ti the Samsung memory is guaranteed to crash when pushed hard if the temps hit 53C.
     
  14. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,172

    Location: Dalek flagship

  15. Dygaza

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 27, 2014

    Posts: 550

    Location: Finland.

  16. Spec-Chum

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 21, 2009

    Posts: 381

    Location: Doncaster, S Yorkshire

    [​IMG]
     
  17. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

    With Maxwell memory and memory controller has other (more serious) issues than temps ;)

    though you gave me an idea. thanks :)
     
  18. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,613

    Location: In a house

  19. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,172

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Welcome

    Copied this into the Fury Pro owners thread.:)
     
  20. Howling

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 1,945

    After some testing then No, the Trixx software does not do bugger all for me. Max core clock before any artifacting remains the same, could just be I've got 2 total dog**** cards or just the software is not there yet :)