1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The official Philips BDM4065UC thread

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by phill1978, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. BluesFanUK

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2015

    Posts: 171

    Errr... why?
     
  2. Smurfin

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 18, 2008

    Posts: 264

    Sorry yes!
     
  3. PCM2

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 18, 2010

    Posts: 6,745

    Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne

  4. Monkeh

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 25, 2009

    Posts: 357

    Bit the bullet on one of these instead of the Iiyama cos of past experiences with Iiyama TFT quality. Hope I made the right choice.
     
  5. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,430

    Location: Edinburgh

    Did you?

    Interested in one of the two 40" screens so searching the web for feedback and reviews.
     
  6. Saloei

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 16, 2015

    Posts: 30

    I'm enjoying mine. I love the blacks with no light bleed at all. The monitor has its quirks with some color banding but overall I like my Philips. The new one, BDM4350UC, is now available in some parts but it's using IPS screens. I know IPS is better for gaming but I have no complaints with games. I play PCARS and I don't experience any lag.
     
  7. Aikon359

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2003

    Posts: 1,000

    Location: Peterborough

    Ok, Think i need to resurrect this thread as i need a bit of help from the other owners on here.

    Has anyone had any issues with their philips in regards to the screen randomly going black?.

    mine seems to inconsistently drop out around 5 times or more a day and its driving me batty. ESPECIALLY when half way through a game and then POW! screen goes black for 3-4 seconds and just comes back on like nothing happened 0_0.

    Any assistance or thoughts would be massively appreciated as i dont fancy having to return this to Philips for a warranty repair.
     
  8. ketma

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2003

    Posts: 333

    Location: Lincs

    Yes, mine did that and progressively got worse until it no longer came on at all. Tried all the usual stuff like drivers and cables, but made no difference. Got it replaced through OcUK.
     
  9. Aikon359

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2003

    Posts: 1,000

    Location: Peterborough

    interesting to see this isnt isolated at least. thanks for getting back to me so fast ketma.

    Really wish i could get mine replaced through OCUK too. i contacted them a few days back but as it was over 30 days since i purchased it, they told me i could only go direct through phillips.
     
  10. ketma

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2003

    Posts: 333

    Location: Lincs

    Odd they told you you could only go direct, mine failed several months after the problem started, I contacted Phillips as well but OcUK were MUCH faster on the replacement - 1 week, you really can't fault that for service.

    I'd raise a ticket in their customer support section.
     
  11. theukmoog

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 12, 2008

    Posts: 1,068

    I was getting the black screen issue after updating my nVidia driver back in March.

    I rolled back to the 362.00 drivers and not had it again since.
     
  12. Aikon359

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2003

    Posts: 1,000

    Location: Peterborough

    Hmm thanks moog!, might give that a try actually, although im not usually one for using outdated drivers. usually like having that up to date to get the best out of games and using the 362 driver from now on to stop the black screening might end up biting me in the rear end in the future if i have to stick with it.
     
  13. Saloei

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 16, 2015

    Posts: 30

    Mine went black after a year due to its capacitors blowing. I replaced my capacitors with 68UF 12.5X50 Rubycon ALUMINUM ELECTROLYTIC CAPACITORS 68uf/450v from our favorite auction site and I feel good! I like my BDM4065 monitor. Love the blacks with no light bleed. I couldn't let this monitor go.
     
  14. djkav

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 28, 2006

    Posts: 2,958

    They can't tell you that if its faulty. It's against the terms of the Sales of Goods Act. You have a choice to go through the original shop, or direct to the manufacturer. They may advise you to go direct to the manufacturer, as it may be quicker.

    But the legality of it is that you have formed a contract of sale between you and the shop for the purchase. The shop cannot refuse, as that would in turn cause a breach of the terms of contract.

    The Sales of Goods Act also, offers protection for up to 6 years on certain goods. Although, the longer the time frame, the harder it is to claim.
     
  15. Aikon359

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2003

    Posts: 1,000

    Location: Peterborough


    thanks for this!. ill have a word with ocuk in the morning . appreciate it!
     
  16. Aikon359

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2003

    Posts: 1,000

    Location: Peterborough

    Well, just as an update, and after a bit of back and forwards chat with ocuk and all that, i still cannot return the monitor to OCUK direct, they are adamant that it has to go to the manufacturer still.

    Apparently the 6 year thing is the time you have to take a warranty claim to court if the retailer refuses to repair or replace a fault if identified within a reasonable time after purchase.. around 30 days or so from what im told.

    quite frustrating as the philips process will take a long time. coupled with the fact i dont have a spare monitor at all and i have just been made redundant, im essentially going to be without a pc until philips can sort the issue :-(

    Dosent help that its getting worse either.. now sometimes takes half a minute just to turn on and sometimes just ...crashes with a garbled screen. :-(
     
  17. Saloei

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 16, 2015

    Posts: 30

    Don't know the cause of your problem but I will mention my monitor went black when my capacitors went bad. I'm typing this message using the same monitor. I replaced my power board and also replaced the capacitors the board came with to prevent this from happening again. I'm no technician but can solder which is what saved my monitor.

    My original capacitors busted on my power board. They looked rounded at the ends.
     
  18. Azrael1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 11, 2004

    Posts: 1,395

    Location: Kettering

    I would be gutted if mine fail.

    I use mine for work / watching movies / browsing and light gaming.

    I was interested in the newer version then read the horror stories across different forums regarding it.

    I might upgrade to a 38 inch Ultra widescreen end of this year or next year though and use this as a second monitor.
     
  19. Aikon359

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2003

    Posts: 1,000

    Location: Peterborough

    Well, Actually quite surprised in the end!. finally logged a repair/replace request with philips and it was pretty damned painless despite being initially told by them to go back to the retailer twice.

    Logged issue in less than 10 mins, dpd are coming to pick up the faulty monitor on monday and at the same time they are delivering a brand new replacement on the spot.

    Quite pleased all in all!.
     
  20. ketma

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2003

    Posts: 333

    Location: Lincs

    Glad you got it sorted in the end, however bear in mind the replacement will be a refurbished unit - not brand new.