1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,729

    Location: Ireland

    I'd test it first if i were you, then you no probs sending it back if its a few weeks after receiving it.
     
  2. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 225

    Location: Cornwall

    There's issues with flash player content in browsers too, YouTube is broken on my daily rig using chrome.(2400g) I get green on the video when scrolling. Its fine on Edge and internet explorer. This is using 19.1.1 for the 2400G so there are issues across the board. You'll notice on Windows updates one of the most common is "Security Update for Adobe Flash Player" so it's an issue that might be caused with a windows update too!? (KB4480979) been the latest.
     
  3. harmattan

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 22, 2015

    Posts: 122

    Location: hamshiretown heathamleton

    Could I request someone with a VII run CUINFO to look at the locked CUs i.e. are the locked CUs laser cut or just software masked? I requested in a few other forums and folks acted like I was taking crazy pills...

    I'm cautious to even mention, but interested to see of we have another "first-batch 290, gtx 465, vanilla 6800" etc.
     
  4. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 225

    Location: Cornwall

    Its had a full afternoon of test before entering the naughty cupboard lol.
    https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18248827
    https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18248738
    https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18239978
    https://www.3dmark.com/nr/69959
    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6156260
    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6155478
    https://www.3dmark.com/tsst/382744
    https://www.3dmark.com/tsst/381916

    Held back with my sons 2400G but got tested what I needed to see.
     
  5. majestynl

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 23, 2018

    Posts: 36

    Location: Amsterdam

    Hmm that's what I did, will try again later. For me running games in Windowed mode is accepting the OC. Running 1950mhz easily ;)

    Anyways..report later.

    Just an question for all with a Radeon VII:
    Can you guys share GPU-Z screenshot?
    Mine is showing Micron as HBM manufacturer.
    Didn't know Micron released HBM already. Can't find the dataSheet.
     
  6. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 556

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    @majestynl

    VBIOS only supports Hynix H5VR32ESA4H or Samsung KHA844801X. AFAIK Micron do no HBM, W1zzard may well be putting out an update on GPU-Z. I'd register at TPU if you already are not, PM him that you'd be happy to beta test, as that is what he did with Vega10 to get manufacturer read back working correctly.
     
  7. majestynl

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 23, 2018

    Posts: 36

    Location: Amsterdam

    Hey gup, will pm him thanks. Yeap thought so. That's why Im curious. Saw the vbios supporting Samsung, Hynix en one generic.
     
  8. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,853

    Location: Dalek flagship

  9. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,432

    Location: Essex

  10. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,432

    Location: Essex

    yea ill do this gimme 5 mins. edit: cant get the memory app it relies on to even run. Meh think this might be a no go for me.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  11. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex

  12. zoffster1

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 9, 2017

    Posts: 17

    Location: Manchester

    Adapters detected: 1
    Card #1 PCI ID: 1002:66AF - 1002:081E
    adapter #1: this ASIC is not supported
     
  13. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,432

    Location: Essex

    Gents - anybody redeemed these games if so after redeeming the code at amd website how long does it take before something happens?
     
  14. D.P.

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 29,965


    Yeah, after realizing the epic failure for gamers they have decided it will be a Radeon Pro.

    I don't get why they simply don't sell this as a Radeon Pro for say $1200. They would likely sell even better!

    16HBM and certified pro drivers really makes this a bargain for the content creators/pro market.
     
  15. zoffster1

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 9, 2017

    Posts: 17

    Location: Manchester

    4 days and counting for me...
     
  16. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,432

    Location: Essex

    All of the time then. Seems stupid to me, nothing should take that long when its a digital download key.
     
  17. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,729

    Location: Ireland


    They already marketed it as a dual use card before launch so your spiel is a bit behind the times.
     
  18. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 225

    Location: Cornwall

    My code arrived in my email by 16:05 on the 7th. I redeemed it straight away and added the 3 games onto the AMD rewards account. Res 2 is on my steam account now and then I'll have to log back in as the other two release. Shame one is uplay. Have you had the code from ocuk?
    Someone did say they finish on the 9th though, not sure if that's right?
     
  19. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,432

    Location: Essex

    How did you add res 2 to steam I have no code or anything. Meh I guess ill just sit and see what happens. I have emailed support to see if they can shed some light
     
  20. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,729

    Location: Ireland

    Check the and reward site, the codes usually show up there before an email goes out. It's some pop-up window you get so it can redeem the steam code.