1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. KrisWragg

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 28, 2013

    Posts: 158

    Location: Worksop

    According to the website:

    "Campaign period begins November 15, 2018 and ends April 6, 2019 or when supply of Coupon Codes is exhausted, whichever occurs first. "

    "Following purchase, Coupon Code must be redeemed by May 6, 2019, after which coupon is void."

    https://www.amd.com/en/gaming/raise-the-game
     
  2. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 561

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

  3. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 230

    Location: Cornwall

    On the rewards site you open a browser window and sign into your steam account via that. It then adds it to your steam library. You don't use a steam code like normal.

    Just found the instructions in my email.
    "
    This email contains instructions to activate Resident Evil™ 2 for your AMD powered system.

    1. Enter your Steam username and password on the Steam account page. If you have not already set up an account or downloaded the app, you may do so at http://store.steampowered.com/
    2. In the MY REWARDS page on AMDRewards.com, click on the “REDEEM ON STEAM WITH YOUR ACCOUNT”.
    3. In the Steam POP UP WINDOW, enter in your username and password.
    4. Once finished, click on “ACTIVATE ON STEAM”, and the game will be added to your Steam Library.
    5. Enjoy."
     
  4. Otellino

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 11, 2019

    Posts: 4

    Here's my photo to join the Roll of Honour! :D

    [​IMG]

    As for the flickering issue I mentioned earlier - yeah, it seems that with a different web browser (Edge) I don't get the flickering at all. As a side note, I now know that Imgur on Firefox causes my screen to flicker on my AGON monitor, which is a shame.

    It's just really odd, I was on a GTX980 previously and didn't experience this sort of issue at all. O.O
     
  5. Harry Hodgson

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 11, 2019

    Posts: 5

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. Harry Hodgson

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 11, 2019

    Posts: 5

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    I dont have a pen in my house this is the best i can do lol
     
  7. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,981

    Location: Dalek flagship


    Welcome and on TROH.:)


    The Roll of Honour.

    [​IMG]



    Date 11/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Harry Hodgson, Link
    Date 11/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Otellino, Link
    Date 11/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Colzy, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, artur_k, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Dicehunter, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Illuminist, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, vapor matt, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, spook2575, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, L-Digital82, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Uzu, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, drskiba, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, nashathedog, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Chud_Jenny, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Bloot, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Vince, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, zoffster1, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, FordneyMcCumber, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Vish Petrol, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Dave2150, Link



    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Radeon VII.
     
  8. Harry Hodgson

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 11, 2019

    Posts: 5

    Thank you! :)
     
  9. Otellino

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 11, 2019

    Posts: 4

    Yay! :D
     
  10. lordhawkwind

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 9, 2016

    Posts: 63

  11. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 561

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    Not that much of a biggie IMO and easy fix.

    By default motherboards have CSM enabled, as then even if you have non UEFI compliant HW you'll have POST. Once you're in OS it won't cause issues if you had VBIOS without UEFI/GOP module in.

    Only those that set their motherboard for "full UEFI mode" (ie CSM disabled) will have POST issue. Then usually mobo will fall back to enable CSM, you'll get a message on screen after re-POST stating as there was non compliance, it set most compatible settings.
     
  12. Raz

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 18, 2003

    Posts: 4,377

    Location: Helix Nebula

    Is there much difference between the models other than the price? I think the Vega 64 from Sapphire was the one to go for previously and it seems the cheapest of the bunch for the VII.

    Also, what's a good PSU for this card? I've got a seasonic focus plus 550w gold PSU but I imagine that wouldn't be enough.
     
  13. harmattan

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 22, 2015

    Posts: 122

    Location: hamshiretown heathamleton

    They are all the same: shipped from AMD to AIBs (who then may slap a bramded sticker on the shroud). Wouldn't think there's any binning going on between them. I would go for brand with which you have best CS experience amd best price (for me, that's Powercolor who gets my business since they replaced two failing 5870s with a 6990 without hassle a while back).
     
  14. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 230

    Location: Cornwall

    Use this to see what your hardware uses wattage wise, its not been updated for Radeon VII yet so just use a Vega 64 to give you an idea.
    https://seasonic.com/wattage-calculator#
    A PSU @ 50% load gives best efficiency in most cases.
     
  15. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,507

    Location: Knowhere

  16. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,507

    Location: Knowhere

    No, A 550 watt psu isn't enough and I'd say don't risk it, On the box it states that the VII requires a 650 watt psu minimum but a 750 watt psu is what's recommended.
     
  17. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,579

    Location: United Kingdom

    For the roll of Honour @Kaapstad :)

    [​IMG]

    In my system (Vega 64 Liquid sitting at the bottom of my case but just out of shot)
    [​IMG]


    Had quick go at undervolting and managed to complete Timespy Extreme stock clocks with the voltage running at 0.975v, fan speed set at maximum of 50% and GPU temp didn't go over 57c. :)

    Edit

    1802/1000Mhz undervolted at 0.961mv appears game stable. 0.951mv crashed.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019
  18. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,769

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    So jealous mine won't go below 1061mv
     
  19. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,579

    Location: United Kingdom

    Comparison Nasha.

    [​IMG]

    1802/1000Mhz @0.961mv
    1652rpm (peak)
    GPU Temp 57c
    Junction temp 77c

    Actual core clocks during the FS run were 1770-1750Mhz roughly.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019
  20. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 561

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    My V64 is not a great clocker as others I have seen.

    [​IMG]

    Seems as if clock for clock no gains on VEGA20. Sorta of shame as they respun die to have more thermal sensors, etc but no other improvements.