1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 56 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. greatash

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 29, 2013

    Posts: 466

    unfortunately it will, old 4 thread cpus dont hold up well in modern games
     
  2. joelk2

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2010

    Posts: 4,519

    The plan is to Ryzen it up early next year. I just can't afford to do GPU and CPU/mobo/ram at the same time. It would be one or the other.
     
  3. 5t3v0

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 12, 2019

    Posts: 33

    Location: Auld Reekie

    How much discount do gfx cards get on Black Friday typically? Could be a gamble this year if a disorderly Brexit happens on 31st October and the pound tanks. You should get the 5700 before 31st December to get the free game offer which is another £40 saving. The Vega 56 doesnt qualify for this promo so another reason not to get it
     
  4. joelk2

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2010

    Posts: 4,519

    I don't really know, but everywhere does deals around that time so there will be an offer somewhere. Brexit is a load of tosh to be honest. No one really knows what's going to happen to the price of anything.
     
  5. 5t3v0

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 12, 2019

    Posts: 33

    Location: Auld Reekie

    Lol. I'm meant to flying abroad on 1st November :eek:

    Edit: The reason for asking is I can't recall I've ever bought hardware on Black Friday so was genuinely curious if the discounts were decent or not. What's the chances of an i7-9700k dropping to under £300 I wonder? Next to none?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2019
  6. joelk2

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2010

    Posts: 4,519

    Haha. Oh. Yeah. I'm away at that point too. Not back til the 5th. Black Friday discounts can be good and can be turd but it's worth a wait that's for sure of no need to buy anything in the next month
     
  7. MyBrains

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 30, 2012

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Stoke On Trent

    Been trying to flash my 56 to 64 yesterday, on either BIOS i get a device mismatch error. Tried different ATI flash tool version with same outcome.. didnt have this issue flashing my 480, anybody got any ideas?
     
  8. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 3,276

     
  9. fastwunz

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 3,158

    I have recently upgraded and my vega 56 is now paired with a ryzen 3600x and 16gb of good memory.

    i literally couldn’t be happier - my system munches through everything at 1080p - well chuffed
     
  10. Th0nt

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 21, 2005

    Posts: 6,438

    Location: N.Ireland

    I would be surprised that it couldn't munch through 1440p also. With RIS and other tweaks it should be clearing 60 fps undervolted with slight oc.
     
  11. Relentless81

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 9,878

    Hi,

    I had a play around with my 56 Pulse again last night and managed to get it to sit just above 1600MHZ in game which has made a noticeable difference to frame rates but at the cost of 250W and mid 70c's

    Is the temp and power draw OK?

    I was considering selling up for a 5700XT but its hard to say what performance gain I will get with mine at the above settings
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
  12. Trivo

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 3, 2019

    Posts: 22

    I was a bit surprised today to find a lack of disassembly guides for the vega 56 pulse. It should be straight forward, of course, but there is nothing specific, just a tear down of the vega nano pcb, disassembly of other Pulse model cards, nothing for the vega 56 specifically. Am I googling wrong? Can anyone provide a link with pictures or maybe a video of a v56 pulse tear down/repaste?
     
  13. Bruizer

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 27, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Totally ok! I've got my MSI Airboost OC at 1600 with 1050mv and 50%+ power. I've only seen 250w once and that was under the most extreme stress test (can't remember which of the softwares), but gaming I'm usually around 200w. (And I'm on a 650watt power supply).
     
  14. Alan1969

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 16, 2019

    Posts: 568

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    I too have recently upgraded to a 3600 and 16gb 3200 cl14 and my vega 56 still munches through everything. I don't really have a need to push my vega 56 but perhaps I will got round to having a go once I get my mobo back.
     
  15. Relentless81

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 9,878

    Hmm doesnt sound that ok, mine jumps to 250W as soon as I start running Heaven and it stays there. Seems quite high although its completely stable I might back it off a bit
     
  16. Alan1969

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 16, 2019

    Posts: 568

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    what card do you have? is it a reference or custom?
     
  17. Relentless81

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 9,878

    Sapphire Pulse

    ,
     
  18. an0nym0us

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 15, 2019

    Posts: 1,134

    Did you manage to get there in the end? If not, I'll try to recall how I managed it.
     
  19. MyBrains

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 30, 2012

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Stoke On Trent

    Not tried again since i posted about it..
     
  20. an0nym0us

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 15, 2019

    Posts: 1,134

    Do this at your own risk! The below process is from what I recall doing a while ago, so I hope it's accurate.

    Ensure you take all the usual precautionary measures such as not overwriting the default BIOS, backup the original BIOS, etc. For the BIOS file to be flashed, make sure you've extracted it from any zipped folders and save it to the ATIFlash folder.

    I used version 2.84 of ATIFlash, but it was a while ago so not sure if Windows 10 updates have changed anything.

    Using command prompt in administrator mode, navigate to the folder with ATIFlash and new BIOS file, then enter the following command:
    "0" represents the 1st PCIe slot, so make sure you change this depending on which slot your GPU is in.
    "nameofbiosfile" must be changed to the full name of the BIOS file you'll be flashing to the GPU (including the file extension".

    After a successful BIOS flash, do a clean reinstall of the GPU drivers.