1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Sony A73/A7R3/A7S3/A9 Thread

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by traveyb, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 29,630

    Location: Co Durham

    Not sure. Could be or could just be only Sony could get them to work. Whichever way it's good news for anybody swapping systems or want to use Nikon or canon glass.
     
  2. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,143

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    New lens, wasn't expecting this for at least a month.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 7, 2008

    Posts: 13,250

    nice!
     
  4. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 29,630

    Location: Co Durham

    Damn. Haven't got mine yet. Who did you order yours from?
     
  5. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,143

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    LCE, in store, I would have picked it up yesterday but didn't catch my answerphone until 4:50 and they close at 5.
     
  6. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 29,630

    Location: Co Durham

    Sad panda. I order from park cameras who promised they were going to get the first UK stock in on 26th October. Lies. I knew I should have gone with LCE
     
  7. RSR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 17, 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    I'd be a little bit careful with the 2.0 update on the A7 III, as I kicked mine off last night and it failed with the Sandisk 128GB card in the camera. So I swapped it out for a 64GB one and the update worked fine that was after stressing for a bit.
     
  8. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 29,630

    Location: Co Durham

    Well mine failed first time as well. Didn't change anything and worked fine second time. I was twitching as well
     
  9. RSR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 17, 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    Mine just wouldn't update with the 128GB card in the camera, as I tried it a good 4/5 times and on different computers.
     
  10. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 29,630

    Location: Co Durham

    Obviously it has issues. Mine just had a Sony 64gb card in and failed just the once
     
  11. footman

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 3,625

    [​IMG]

    Been after this for weeks, very little UK stock except for SRS and the usual grey import sites. Even B&H in New York have no stock. I was sort of locked into Wex as they gave me an excellent P/ex value on a lens I didn't want so I had a big credit with them. Suddenly popped up yesterday as "opened box used", saved nearly £200 from the new price.
     
  12. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 29,630

    Location: Co Durham

    Nice. Ordered my 24 mm from wex. Will be here tomorrow. Everywhere has stock except park cameras who still won't for two more weeks grrr
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018 at 10:08 AM
  13. footman

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 3,625

    That's a good lens, you'll enjoy it. I only ever go for free standard delivery from Wex and it's usually arrived next day, very efficient bunch as well as offering the best p/ex value. They beat Park Cameras by £210 on my Sony 16-35 F4!
     
  14. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,143

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    I haven't test this lens's optical performance so that will have to wait but first impressions are that this lens is small, so so small. 85/1.8 FE small. To the point I think where has all my money gone to and I have been ripped off.

    The size of it is the same as the Canon height wise, even the hood is the same but they chopped it off half way. Inside the hood is soft felt fabric, it clicks and locks like most of the new hoods do. Comes in a nice case too.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 29,630

    Location: Co Durham

    Small, light and according to reviews optically fantastic. What is there not to like. Wish all GM lens were like this
     
  16. GSXRMovistar

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 6, 2002

    Posts: 9,035

    Location: London UK

    The A7III turned up today and immediate thoughts are its tiny compared to my old 5DmkII but tech wise light years ahead. Also agree trying to update the firmware via a Mac was impossible and I gave up, luckily I have an arcade machine in the house that runs off Windows so was able to hook it up to that an the whole process was done in a matter of mins.
     
  17. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 7, 2008

    Posts: 13,250

    Its mac being mac and locking down software
     
  18. Clov!s

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2011

    Posts: 15,728

    Location:

    I noticed how small but still quite weighty the a7iii is, not a bad thing at all. I haven't bothered updating mine as i only have the Tamron 28-75 at the moment, i don't have any GM lenses so will hold off.
     
  19. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 29,630

    Location: Co Durham

    How's my lens doing? ;)
     
  20. GSXRMovistar

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 6, 2002

    Posts: 9,035

    Location: London UK

    Haha all good thanks, the Tamron seems huge on it although tiny compared to my 24-105L that used to be my walkabout go to lens and the 85mm is very compact. Holiday coming up so hoping I'll be able to put all the kit through its paces.