1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Sony A73/A7R3/A7S3/A9 Thread

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by traveyb, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. tatts

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 8, 2005

    Posts: 1,602

    Location: Cumbria

    Didn’t it say in the release notes somewhere that it wouldn’t work if it was assigned to another button?
     
  2. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 30,644

    Location: Co Durham

    Did it? Damn will go check.
     
  3. MrRockliffe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 14, 2014

    Posts: 2,452

    Location: Hampshire

    Is it still worth getting a 1st gen A7? Looking at getting a camera for some photography and video work, and have been looking at:

    • A7
    • A6300
    • X-T20
     
  4. .one.

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 1, 2006

    Posts: 3,553

    I owned an A7 and it was a horrible experience.
     
  5. MrRockliffe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 14, 2014

    Posts: 2,452

    Location: Hampshire

    Why so?
     
  6. .one.

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 1, 2006

    Posts: 3,553

    I was used to canon and the A7 feels like a toy and AF was unreliable & colour science junk.
     
  7. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 7, 2008

    Posts: 14,291

    Get the A72
     
  8. Richdog

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 23,551

    Location: Utopia

    That has all changed with the A7III series (other than the size which if you don't like then that can't really be helped).

    AF and colour science are excellent.
     
  9. MrRockliffe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 14, 2014

    Posts: 2,452

    Location: Hampshire

    It's a little out of budget with a lens - would absolutely love one though
     
  10. And

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 7, 2002

    Posts: 742

    I get some of what you're saying. It's different, you need to learn its quirks.

    From the A9 perspective (as a long time Canon shooter), the colour science and white balance isn't quite there with Canon but can be fixed in post, the noise is comparable with Canon's best, the AF is better (but needs time to learn how to best use it) and the silent shutter is just amazing. Can't help you with the size if that's what you mean by it feeling like a toy, I've been looking past that and just using the camera as a tool to get images.

     
  11. aoaaron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,200

    Do any of you Sony A7/9iii users have any solutions for the lack of a flippy screen? I kind of need one, especially for video. Would a Atmos ninja be the perfect solution? Not sure how heavy or portable it would be.
     
  12. Spleen Sauce

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 16, 2005

    Posts: 944

    Location: UK

    Some people get away with using the smartphone app, gives an idea of focus and framing at least. Failing that, a SmallHD monitor would probably do the trick. Atmos is a bit overkill unless you really need it.
     
  13. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 19,198

    Location: London

    Doesn't the Atmos cost around £500? Probably not the most idea cost wine. Does the PlayMemories app work for the A7iii?
     
  14. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 30,644

    Location: Co Durham

    New app now. Imaging Edge I think its called. Much, much, much improved over the god awful playmemories app.
     
  15. aoaaron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,200


    But don't you lose autofocus if you use the apps?

    Yeah it does seem a bit overkill, I agree... the small focus HD costs about the same though.. and the atomos offers better IQ and 60fps so I thought it'd be a decent shout..
     
  16. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 30,644

    Location: Co Durham

  17. Richdog

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 23,551

    Location: Utopia

    I tried the app this morning before I went to work and the functionality seems really low, you can hardly change an settings with it? I was expecting much more settings including the new interval timer etc.

    Very disappointing, unless I am missing a mode or something.
     
  18. crinkleshoes

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 9, 2009

    Posts: 11,567

    Location: London, Vantage or SR3

    I just picked up the 135mm... there's something very special about this lens!

    Got the two f0.95 lenses... didn't realise til it arrived, the 35mm is for APS-C... but the 50mm has a nice dreamy effect to it, even though it's not very sharp.

    [​IMG]
    _DSC5534
    by CosmicLogos, on Flickr

    [​IMG]_DSC5552 by CosmicLogos, on Flickr

    Quick first play with the 135mm at home:

    [​IMG]_DSC5478 by CosmicLogos, on Flickr
     
  19. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 19,198

    Location: London

    Noice - what aperture is the 135mm?

    Supposed rumour that the A9ii will be coming out in September and it will be 'revolutionary'. It's fairly balls to the wall so other than upgrading the flip & touch screen, SD card slots and FPS in mechanical - not sure how revolutionary it can be.

    Edit - 135mm f1.8 :eek:! Wowsers. Keen to see some reviews on how it does compared to the 85mms.
     
  20. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 30,644

    Location: Co Durham

    It blows the 85mm out of the water in sharpness, bokeh, AF speed, quietness.

    A9ii I would expect will be 36Mpx stacked sensor and global shutter. Along with the best AF of any camera system.