Thinking of buying a 208 GTi

Soldato
Alright guys, I'm looking at a few cars currently, I'm open to ideas. I'm 27 years old, I don't have any no claims, I currently use my works van which is on a fleet insurance which should lower my cars insurance. I don't really need to drive long distance or many miles. I drive for a living but I'm sick of a 200K Transit Van so I'm after a car!

Anyway my budget is £7k to £12k. Lately I've been reading a lot on the Peugeot 208 GTI. It just looks perfect, fun to drive and filled with glowing reviews. Does anyone own one of these?

Here's a couple I've looked at.
http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/2013-Peugeo...%3Ae87b86a91590a2aba43b7b6cffb799ae%7Ciid%3A8

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/2016-Peugeo...%3Af1f0aacc1590a7854edbc630ffa30042%7Ciid%3A7

The Fiesta ST is another option but 208 GTI looks a bit better IMO but I know I'd be playing it safe with a ST

Any advice guys!

Associate
I think it looks hideous and i couldn't personally bare to spend 7-12k on a peugeot.

What are you looking for exactly? im assuming it doesn't have to be practical as you have a van and you want something quick and fun to drive. With that sort of money and power id be looking at things like an s2000 but thats me.

Soldato
The Peugeot will be fast and fun. If you can afford one without taking inadvisable financial risks, then go for it. It looks like what I'd have been interested in when I was 27.

Soldato
The 208 is the better of the little hots.
The corsa vxr is terrible.
The clio sport is good.

Is it a newer 208 gti?

200 bhp in a tiny car = funn

Soldato
OP
I have never been a fan of Mini Coopers. As for the Renaults, I've looked at 200s but I don't fancy a paddle shifter gearbox, I'm pretty much after a full manual.