1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What did you do to your bike today?

Discussion in 'Biker's Cafe' started by edd1e, May 3, 2012.

  1. Scuzi

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 19,658

    Location: Жит&#10

    Is it clicking when you press the starter and it doesn’t turn? I had sort of similar issues with a dodgy regulator/rectifier on my XTZ750.
     
  2. CGrieves

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2002

    Posts: 1,841

    Location: Clapham Junction

    It's a Super Four- of course it has an ecu....
     
  3. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    That was the first known issue when I bought it, but that problem's gone away now that it is being started more regularly. There's no sound at all, just a dimming of the electrics.
     
  4. tom_e

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 26, 2003

    Posts: 26,840

    Location: West mids

    Sticky starter relay? It's usually the relay you hear clicking.
     
  5. Diddums

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2012

    Posts: 19,398

    Location: London


    This. I was gonna say loose earth connection somewhere but then it'd also happen when riding.
     
  6. CGrieves

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2002

    Posts: 1,841

    Location: Clapham Junction

    Sorry mate, I completely misunderstood the problem, got it confused with Noobish Abbz' starter issue. I thought it was spinning on the starter but not firing. Apologies!

    Definitely sounds like a starter or relay issue.
     
  7. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    Yep, I get the clicking point but that issue has resolved itself. The issue now is the bike cutting out and nothing subsequently happening at all with the starter. This includes while riding!
     
  8. Diddums

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2012

    Posts: 19,398

    Location: London


    Earth fault then. Check all your connections.
     
  9. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    Thanks. Any easy way to narrow it down to an isolated area?
     
  10. Diddums

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2012

    Posts: 19,398

    Location: London

  11. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    That's a good help, thank you. No manual to work with so more investigation needed.
     
  12. Diddums

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2012

    Posts: 19,398

    Location: London

    To be honest it's much of a muchness tbh. At that level of sophistication there's not much difference in it and your CV400 probably shares it's loom with a few other bikes, but don't quote me on that. I love faultfinding tbh. Start at one end and gradually eliminate everything until you find the fault.
     
  13. Diddums

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2012

    Posts: 19,398

    Location: London

  14. MowyTone

    Mobster

    Joined: May 4, 2009

    Posts: 3,366

    Location: Southampton

    I had an issue with the CBR where it would ride fine for upto 30ish mins and then would cut out. Nothing I did got it going again apart from waiting for 2 hours. It would then start witout issue.

    Eventually found the issue to be one of the stator wires had gone through the insultation and was arcing against the frame. This in turn stressed the fuel relay and even had the contacts pulling out of the solder in the fuel pump.

    This seemed to need time to take hold and shut the bike down. Might be work checking the loom for something similar
     
  15. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

  16. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    Thanks - will have a look around and see if there's anything like this going on.
     
  17. Diddums

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2012

    Posts: 19,398

    Location: London


    Honestly if I wasn't working I probably would. Been years since I've had a good spannering session. Good luck, once you get the basics the rest tends to fall in to place.
     
  18. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    Pity - you could have viewed and worked on your future bike!
     
  19. davejh666

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 17, 2011

    Posts: 826

    Location: St Neots, Cambridegeshire

    I have got a 1999 Firebalde that I bought back in May of last year. It has been quite heavily modified, won't list everyting, but RSVR rear swingarm, R1 rear shock, 929 front forks, custom rear subframe and race seat. When I viewed the bike I was pretty sure there were a few things wrong with it, and the previous owner hadn't looked after it, but I was prepared to spend time and money on it as I got it cheap. It failed it's MOT last year and needed quite a bit of work doing to it:

    • Headlamp image kick incorrect tape and align headlight - £10.00+vat
    • Supply and install red rear reflector - £2.00+vat
    • EBC Vee Rotor front brake discs - £140.00+vat each
    • EBC HH front brake pads - £20.70+vat each. I have quoted 929 front brake as I suspect this is what they are.
    • Rear brake inline pressure switch - £14.00 +vat
    • Dot 4 brake fluid - £2.17+vat
    • Rear Brake pads - £18.75+vat
    • Front fork K-tech parts:
    • Oil seals - £16.61
    • Dust seals - £17.50+vat
    • Guide bushes - £9.78+vat
    • Slide bushes - £10.64+vat
    • Front fork oil £11.80
    • Labour 5hrs @ £55.00+vat per hrs
    • Sundries and consumables £3.00+vat
    It failed it's MOT towards the back end of summer so decided that I would tackle most of the work myself, I like tinkering with the bike and decided that there really wasn't anything on the list that I couldn't do. I also wanted to strip all the fairing off the bike and have the radiator off as there were loads of bent fins. The exhaust had started to go a little rusty so wanted to get that off and sand the rust off and paint it black.

    I have now, more or less completed all the work, the only thing I am struggling on is the rear brake inline pressure switch. I can see exactly where it is leaking from but am buggered if anything I have seen is the correct part to replace it with. The garage that quoted the work said he uses Goodridge ones like these:https://www.demon-tweeks.co.uk/Prod...V8DLTCh2LUAIDEAQYAyABEgLOAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds but honestly this looks nothing like the part that is leaking on mine. I may have to admit defeat in this and just ask the garage to do it.

    The radiator is now all back on with nice straight fins, I have discovered though that the fan doesn't kick in, so I have got a manual switch to wire in this weekend. All new fluids all around. Exhaust and callipers painted black (The bike itself is white so the black goes really well, and the EBC Vee rotors have black hubs). The oil seals hadn't 'gone' they just had dirt and bits in them which didn't allow them to make a seal properly. Bought a sealmate and sorted them in about 30 mins!

    My only 2 issue's doing the whole work was 2 snapped studs/bolts. I snapped a bolt undoing the old brake disc. Had to take it to a local car garage who removed it for £10 for me. And I also snapped the head of an exhaust stud. Now this really annoyed me. I ran the bike everyday for a week prior to removing them. Sprayed WD40 after heating it up each day. Then when I came to remove it again ran the bike to temperature before removing the studs. They came off fine. Cleaned all the studs, sanded and painted the exhaust. One snapped when I came to put it back on. So ****** off.

    This weekend will involve me getting the fairing all back on and the manual switch wired in. Hopefully will get the brakes bled this weekend as well and then back to get the MOT done at the end of this month.
     
  20. Snaggle

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,279

    Location: Northants

    it dose not mater what inline switch you use as long as its fits.. no need to replace like for like