1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wolcen: Lords of Mayhem- New ARPG

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by starmanwarz, Dec 24, 2019.

  1. Darujhistan

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2011

    Posts: 4,165

    This is why I never buy on launch!

    How does it compare to D3, Grim Dawn and POE so far?

    Started POE while I wait for Grim Dawn to go on sale, got to lvl 28 and enjoying it.
     
  2. FoxEye

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 17, 2006

    Posts: 23,297

    Location: Cornwall

    Is this like D3 where you have to have an active internet connection to play a SP game?
     
  3. eekfek

    Soldato

    Joined: Apr 18, 2006

    Posts: 6,875

    Location: ]8-

    I got online about 15mins ago, level 3 now ... hopefully it won't disconnect for a good while :)
     
  4. Parky

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 14, 2009

    Posts: 1,315

    Location: Accrington, Lancashire

    There is an offline mode that works fine, but you can't transfer those characters to play online later on.

    Online mode will be like D3/POE, so any server issues and you won't be able to play.
     
  5. FoxEye

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 17, 2006

    Posts: 23,297

    Location: Cornwall

    Any tangible benefit to playing online? I played all the Diablos, Torchlite, etc, as SP games.
     
  6. Parky

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 14, 2009

    Posts: 1,315

    Location: Accrington, Lancashire

    At launch I wouldn't say there is a massive benefit, party play might net you better experience gains and magic find for better farming, but if you're happy with a single player experience then I don't see a real need to jump online.

    Things might change further down the line depending what content they add in, but I imagine that it will be a way off given the size of the dev team etc.
     
  7. agnes

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2006

    Posts: 15,754

    Location: San Francisco, CA

    Just to note, offline and online are 2 seperate instances. No cross sharing. So if you get some insane loot or progress super far. You can't move that character to online should you wish to play with others.
     
  8. dreigns

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 8, 2004

    Posts: 1,413

    Location: Kent,UK

    Got online fine ended the night lvl 21 and enjoying it, only 69 more levels to go.

    There are bugs a very few audio bugs, ui but no game breaking ones yet
     
  9. MouthBoy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 6, 2010

    Posts: 2,451

    Location: Midlands

    Yea I am level 15 I think but based on the beta I am nearing the end of act one, about level 18-19 last time I did it in the beta.

    I have found a few odd bugs but again nothing game breaking, and some audio ones too.

    I am liking the changes from the beta and I think they have made some elements easier to understand too. Am very much enjoying it.
     
  10. GAC

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 4,187

    well been having a few hours in this morning messing about and got to say its a beast of a engine, had to drop from high to medium settings at 1440p as my gtx1070 was maxed out. now its around 70-80% usage, game still looks nice enough.
     
  11. McBain

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 21,929

    Location: Lancs/London

    This looks like a blatant D3 rip off, even the equipment screen looks like a direct copy and paste job... as does the looting :p

    That's no bad thing mind D3 was amazing. I may well give this a go.
     
  12. GAC

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 4,187

    and cant create a game now, oh well.
     
  13. MouthBoy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 6, 2010

    Posts: 2,451

    Location: Midlands

    Well I got to lvl23 last night and into act 2, have gone to play this morning and it cannot create a game. Also I notice that it thinks I am in act 1 still...

    EDIT: Looking at the forums this is a known issue where your progress is reset but your character and stats are not. Read one person completed act2 but is now at the start of act1 again, but at lvl32...
     
  14. GAC

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 4,187

    found a bug myself vsyncs broken, went from 100% gpu usage to 70% by setting frames manually to 60fps (on a 60hz screen) guessing vsync is set to let it run as fast as possible.
     
  15. MouthBoy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 6, 2010

    Posts: 2,451

    Location: Midlands

    I am now in the game, but lost the first part of act 2 as progress. Not as bad as others but still a tad annoying.
     
  16. MouthBoy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 6, 2010

    Posts: 2,451

    Location: Midlands

    Well that was annoying. Finally getting somewhere and suddenly the game kicks me out - was in the middle of a story plot cut scene too!
     
  17. agnes

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2006

    Posts: 15,754

    Location: San Francisco, CA

    It's as though D3 and PoE had a gap year romp and this was the offspring given away as a result. It's great fun, combat is fun, much slower than both of them thus far but I can see the combat getting insane.

    We managed to get a couple of hours in last night, however the group function was broken so the wife and I couldn't group up. Will get more time in it tonight.
     
  18. Glanza

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 13, 2007

    Posts: 10,158

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Hoping the servers are sorted tonight, looking at twitter and their subreddit they've been spinning servers up to hopefully help demand.
     
  19. GAC

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 4,187

    not helped much yet for me. can login to asian servers but as for eu ones atm still cant make a game.
     
  20. MouthBoy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 6, 2010

    Posts: 2,451

    Location: Midlands

    I have been able to play on EU ok today for the most part. Just completed Act 2, and encountered a horrible bug.

    My personal stash has been reset to what it was at the start of Act 2...so all my gear is gone, gems are gone, everything I collected. Not happy as I had 12 Entropys saved up for later, and now have 2. I also lost 2 legendary's and 2 unique's.