1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox One X

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by signs, Jun 13, 2017.

  1. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,248

    Location: Telford

    Yes did mine when I replaced the hard drive with MX4. The stock stuff MS use was horrid and dry. It seems a bit quieter but tbh it’s hard to tell. I was more impressed with the drive swap difference tbh.

    It’s not seen a great deal of use lately since I have got back into the Original Xbox.
     
  2. beachBOYken

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 18, 2007

    Posts: 8,821

    Location: London

    Pleased I never bought that in the sales now, was eventually going to get it, so this is excellent.

    Will be joining up to Game Pass soon, brilliant service and seems to be getting better and better.
     
  3. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 20,329

    Location: MediaCityUK

    Is it easy to swap the drivers out? I heard it's hard to get the OS back onto the new one?

    I thought about changing the paste as apparently it'll make it run faster due to the GPU throttling?
     
  4. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,248

    Location: Telford

    It’s pretty easy to do this guide is pretty good...

    https://www.tfix.co.uk/guides/how-to-upgrade-xbox-one-hard-drive/

    Not heard of any throttling on one x tbh..
     
  5. pcfarrar

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 6, 2016

    Posts: 747

  6. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,248

    Location: Telford

    I wanted mine as a fresh drive. A few seem to have issues when cloning the drive.

    I did mine so it was like a new One X then re-setup it took a while but I have had no issues at all since doing it...
     
  7. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 19, 2005

    Posts: 3,330

    Location: Ealing, London

    I've got no access to a PC at present, could I replace the drive somehow without access to windows? Closest thing I can use is the wife's iMac. My eBay replacement Bluray drive arrived last night, looks like it's been taken from another unit, definitely not new, bit cheeky but as long as it works I can't be bothered to whinge. Scared of the soldering bit but just have to try I suppose.
     
  8. pcfarrar

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 6, 2016

    Posts: 747

    Mac has a lot of the linux tools so it wouldn't be a problem if you know your stuff.
     
  9. Witcher1980

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 23, 2017

    Posts: 148

    Location: Westleton

    Quick question for you guys.

    I have the division on disc, but it was recently on game pass so I used that version to stop having to put the disc in.

    I noticed today it was removed from game pass as it now says insert disc or buy from the store. I inserted the disc and it started installing again and downloading 19gb. Atm division now shows up twice in my game library. The game pass version is still installed and showing in storage.

    Should it not just use the gamepass version and read the disc for a license?
     
  10. sja360

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2003

    Posts: 3,679

    Location: Dundee

    You didn't buy the digital copy/license so it's not in your history. it's removed from gamepass you'll have to use the disc.
     
  11. Witcher1980

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 23, 2017

    Posts: 148

    Location: Westleton

    Yeah I know I have to use the disc each time now, but I thought the installed Game Pass version would work with the disc license as it does say insert disc which was already in. Instead of having to download the 19gb patches again.

    Seems silly to me if the disc is inserted it has a license, but from what you are saying digital has a different license so the disc license will not work.
     
  12. TheVoice

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 15, 2005

    Posts: 20,267

    Location: Glasgow

    The drives would need to be the same size for that to work, part of the process of setting up the "new" drive is formatting and partitioning it for the correct size.
     
  13. malachi

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 27, 2006

    Posts: 8,500

    Location: Earth

    Yes it is, I found this out with Killer Instinct when I had the digital version. Purchased the retail disc and had two separate installs on my console taking up space :(
     
  14. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,248

    Location: Telford

    Just found out why the Project Gotham series will never come to BC. When Bizarre creations was purchased by Activision Bizarre retained the rights to Project Gotham even though it was a Microsoft game studios release. Activision shut Down Bizarre creations and now they hold the rights to the Gotham series with no intention to release the rights or games. MS have tried to buy back the rights to the games and if they cannot secure a deal then all hope is pretty much lost I think.

    Shame really as PGR4 was superb and I still enjoy playing it on 360.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  15. r3d zombie

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2007

    Posts: 4,004

    Location: Ahcumfaegovin

    did MSR come to xbox?, I remember playing it, but not sure on which console. very similar iirc
     
  16. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,248

    Location: Telford

    Yes as Project Gotham. It was on Dreamcast as MSR originally both made by Bizarre PGR is a continuation of MSR.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  17. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 19, 2005

    Posts: 3,330

    Location: Ealing, London

    [​IMG]
    More messing about than I thought it would be but Blu-ray working now so well done me.
     
  18. r3d zombie

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2007

    Posts: 4,004

    Location: Ahcumfaegovin

    yeah Dreamcast, that was it. It had a Kudos system that was something a bit different from the average arcade racer.
     
  19. pcfarrar

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 6, 2016

    Posts: 747

    Supposedly there was an Xbox update released yesterday that speeds up the home screen.
     
  20. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 20,329

    Location: MediaCityUK

    I'm not in two minds if I should keep my XBOX, I play on it occasional but the PC has more games I play, the main attraction on XBOX is 4K HDR which is just reliable, it works, even if it isn't "true 4k", but feels like I'm waiting 400 quid just hardly using it! And if a XBOX "TWO" is around the corner, well.. not sure what to do.