1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zen 2 Owners Thread!

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by SiDeards73, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. Zernath

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 832

    Location: East Anglia

    Annoying! Coil whine on the motherboard or PSU then perhaps? Not a lot you can do about that, except chuck everything in a sound proofed case. :(
     
  2. Wingz

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 29, 2003

    Posts: 2,700

    Location: Cardiff

    Been messing around with ram timings went from xmp 3200 to 3533 made a huge difference in tomb raider benchmark

    [​IMG]

    Also Improved my Cinebench Score from 5090 to 5139

    [​IMG]

    Going to try to lower the timings or try 3600
     
  3. Orange Nexus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2018

    Posts: 895

    So it does make a diff. Most reviewers are using 3600 CL16. Seems like tight timing still a thing in Gen 2.
     
  4. TrM

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2019

    Posts: 450

    im wondering if it would also make such a impact on a 3900x i have corsair vengence pro 32000 cl16 and they really dont like to oc at all tbh and considering some 3600mhz ones to replace them
     
  5. Orange Nexus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2018

    Posts: 895

    In GEN 1+ the diff between 3533 CL 14 and CL 16 is . . .

    https://imgur.com/zcniBc9

    The CL16 just equals a 3266 MHz CL14 DOCP setting. Although, its just a couple of tests but the cinebench run says a lot.
     
  6. i_am_jon

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2007

    Posts: 112

    Interesting read here: https://www.gamersnexus.net/news-pc/3492-ryzen-cpu-thermals-matter-coolers-and-cases

    Looks like it could be CPU temp holding back boost clocks, ideal load temp is <55C. Would take a custom loop to keep the 3900x that cool, my air cooler gives about 70C load temp which may be why the highest boost I've seen on is only 4.4Ghz. Also explains why lowering vCore may help if it's a case of finding the optimal balance between voltage and temps.
     
  7. Orange Nexus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2018

    Posts: 895

    Its like back in the Phenom days.
     
  8. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 15,807

    Location: Hertfordshire

    <55C is completely unrealistic even on a custom loop.
     
  9. brightside229

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 10, 2009

    Posts: 911

    Location: Newark

    no one is going to see <55 unless on phase change or ln2
     
  10. i_am_jon

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2007

    Posts: 112

    Shame he didn't test single thread work loads. Yeah 55C is low but my guess is people with good water setups will be seeing better boosts than those on air like me. Previously I figured so long as load temps stayed under 80C all was good.

    Could still be related to AGESA 1.0.0.3AB, hopefully next update will boost single cores a little more aggressively. To be honest i'm fine with current performance but it bugs me that not seeing 4.6Ghz as advertised.
     
  11. Wingz

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 29, 2003

    Posts: 2,700

    Location: Cardiff

    Currently Stress testing my cpu using realbench (almost 1 hour) @ 4.3ghz 1.35v temps are 87c custom watercooled.
     
  12. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 21, 2018

    Posts: 763

    Location: Ashton

    Is that score 4.3Ghz all cores?

    Also is 1.44v okay for daily B Die voltage? Cant find a definite answer. Some say up to 1.5v, others keep it below 1.4v
     
  13. i_am_jon

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2007

    Posts: 112

    Toasty.

    That's why I dropped my 3900x 4.3Ghz all core overclock. Could get through cinebench without going over 82c but a 1 hour stress would see it spike over 90c at which point i'd get crashes. I'm just running a twin tower air cooler though.
     
  14. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 15,807

    Location: Hertfordshire

    1.44V should be fine for B Die and 1.5v is about the max it should be, ideally should have good air flow and/or ram cooling for higher voltage though.
     
  15. Wingz

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 29, 2003

    Posts: 2,700

    Location: Cardiff

    yes 4.3Ghz all core. and yes 1.45V on ram is fine for 24/7 use. Even Corsair sells 4500Mhz ram which are 1.45V
     
  16. UKDTweak

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 2, 2002

    Posts: 6,560

    Location: N.Ireland

    My 3700X System keeps turning off randomly... keyboard and mouse have no power and screens go off, yet case fans and cpu fan all continue to run... think my old (from 2010 ish) 700w 80+ bronze PSU might not be up to the task but ive tried chipset drivers and bios reset... so far its only been in game (playing The Division 2), no event logs to check as it appears to be a power loss, hence i think its my old PSU... my PSU has 2 +12v rails, both max out at 30a... as the EDC on the 3700X in Ryzen Master can hit 90A and ive seen it do just that while in game.. would you agree its time for a new PSU or is there something else i could look at... the power failures are random, i can be gaming for 30 minutes or 2 hours before it has happened, CPU temps around 65c at the time of failure. It only started two nights ago, the night before ran with no issue.

    I even enabled PBO at one point, all set to auto, nothing else, booted and ran Cinebench 2.0 and got an extra 200 points in multi and saw my CPU Peek had gone to 4335mhz where as pre PBO it only hit 4275mhz... i was able to play The Division 2 for a good hour at teat setting before another power loss.
     
  17. Duvar

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 165

    Last edited: Jul 18, 2019
  18. Wingz

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 29, 2003

    Posts: 2,700

    Location: Cardiff

    Shrinking to 7nm means it'll get more hotter. it doesnt get that hot when gaming around 65C
     
  19. sityeuropa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 3, 2014

    Posts: 1,433

    I found one left of the Ballistix Sport LT 3200MHz CL 16 32GB for £140.

    Is this a good price?
     
  20. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 17,606

    Location: North West

    my 3600 has died on me. Booted it and it is stuck on the vga light, not to confident in the durability of zen 2, I was not even overclocking. Hope ocuk have quick rma process.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2019