The 5 year plan to £50k

Status
Not open for further replies.
Soldato
It's do-able with a little luck initially.

Join the railway as a train driver - that gets you around £45k a year excluding overtime. Do that for 5 years and you'll achieve your target most likely. Or drive trains for 3-5 years (depending on the company, mine is 3 years) and apply to be a driver instructor or competence / driver manager. Comp managers earn between £50k-£60k, again depending on the company you work for.

I was a driver for 5 years, an instructor for 10 years and have been a comp manager for the last 3 years.

The biggest hurdle is getting the driver's job in the first place.

Nix

Nix

Soldato
So much aggression in this thread.

Let's play devil's advocate:

So, you're now nearly 40. You've somehow managed to get your desired benchmark of 50k, but the job doesn't fill you with meaning or content. You're working for the sake of working.

Now what?

Soldato
Your attitude is poor and based on that I don't think you'll ever be on the sort of salary you're talking about. You would be better off looking for something that you will enjoy doing that will put you on a similar amount to what you currently earn.

If you are careful with your money whilst living with your parents on that sort of salary you can definitely afford to save for a house deposit with a view to buying something in 5 years or so. Even if you can only put away at least £5k a year you will soon have enough to buy a basic first home.

Also 27k is a decent enough salary for anyone to be on outside of London, so I don't think you really have any right/reason to complain or expect more than that within 5 years of starting from scratch.

Caporegime
OP

So, you're now nearly 40. You've somehow managed to get your desired benchmark of 50k, but the job doesn't fill you with meaning or content. You're working for the sake of working.

Now what?