Am I that nasty, really?

Soldato
After realising OP is 77 it doesn't seem as odd now apart from the cee u next Tuesday bit but I find it rather amusing picturing an old woman (this may be an assumption) shouting that at her grumpy husband :D

If she were sufficiently old, then it wouldn't even be a rude word to her. I mean, it was good enough for Chaucer! It's just old Anglo Saxon. It only became vulgar (which literally means common) when the Normans had everybody speaking Old French. The Upper and Middle Classes didn't want to sound common so they avoided old Anglo Saxon terms. The Working Class meanwhile, just carried on talking how they always did. It's about class.

Anyway, I'm a programmer. I'm not sure it would be possible to code effectively without swearing.

Man of Honour
OP
what a delightful relationship you have

A reasonable but snidey assumption.
Whatever it sounds like, you should be so lucky to have one like ours, and for those who seem curious about her age, she's 58, but we've been together since she was 22.

You're not nasty, but you should be old enough to understand this is how women work.

I've been telling myself that since yesterday evening, at my age you would think that I'd know that by now.

Surely the right thing to do is to teach them how to search for it themselves.

A nice sentiment, but I fear it would be akin to trying to nail a soap bubble to the wall.

I would have said the same but then again my wifes an only child. ;)

Perhaps you're lucky in that respect Dan.

She is a doormat and her family are morons............. there I said it.

Thanks for that wildman, and FWIW, I REALLY laboured the point that I think her brother is as dumb as all get out, so although it was completely out of character for her to drop the "C" bomb, I feel that I perhaps asked for it, and with her white hot, auburn haired temper, she let me have it, big time.

Soldato