1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

***21.9 Ultrawide Thread***

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Nexus18, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    As using Nvidia, the problems are with AMDs cards :p

    Nice! :cool:
     
  2. mikeym

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 15, 2009

    Posts: 949

    Yeah, was doing some more reading and probably wouldn't take the risk. Supposedly drivers updated to fix issues but people still complaining...
     
  3. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    Yeah, its funny how its an AMD FreeSync monitor, but has major problems with AMDs cards, yet it works without a problem, if you have a Nvidia, i'll probs be best off waiting till the 11s come out, picking one of those up, and then this monitor :p

    Wonder if it could be something to do with Win 10 also, as in that thread, it seems that they are on it, but im on Win 7 still.

    Its also not just that monitor that is having the problems, as some others in that thread, have got others, and ive not had a single prob on Win 7 with my BenQ XL2730Z.

    EDIT:

    Found a BenQ :- https://www.overclockers.co.uk/benq...hz-hdr-freesync-gaming-monitor-mo-12d-bq.html

    Reviews are decent :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2018
  4. mikeym

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 15, 2009

    Posts: 949

    That BenQ looks pretty decent on first looks. Must have missed it altogether when I was looking or it would have been a serious contender...
     
  5. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    Yeah it does, shame its not in stock here, i can still get it though.

    Been reading reviews, and watching vids on YT, looks a good'un, and ive got a BenQ already, so know what the're like :)
     
  6. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    Noticed its a DP 1.4, now my my 350Z, is a DP 1.2, so im guessing the cables a DP 1.2 as well, so bearing in mind im not interested in the HDR, would my 1.2 cable, still give me the FreeSync on it, like it does now on the monitor ive got ?

    EDIT:

    Just been reading up, and apparently, DP 1.2, can do 3440x1440, at a max 120hz, so my cable should be fine, as the new monitors only 100hz :)

    Orders in!

    Lets see what all this widescreen gaming fuss is about :p
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
  7. CatPlaysGames

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 4, 2018

    Posts: 5

    What's the best 2560x1080 ultrawide to get?
     
  8. Howling

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 1,989

    You've now just ruined every 16:9 monitor that's ever existed and will ever exist for yourself. Welcome aboard :D
     
  9. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    Aye, thanks :D
     
  10. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    Shes shipped! :D
     
  11. prjwebb

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 764

    Dunno about that. I've just bought a 27" 1440p 165hz g sync IPS to replace my x34a. As someone who predominantly plays FPS games the extra width is more of a distraction for me.
    I think I'll be happier with the extra frames.
     
  12. Howling

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 1,989

    Admit it, you miss the extra real estate ;) I have a 24" 144hz side monitor that I *intended* to use for Overwatch and the like.... but honestly I just can't cope with how narrow it is so it's now a 144hz discord/music/browsing screen :p
     
  13. prjwebb

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 764

    Haha, my x34 is actually off at the moment and tucked behind on the vesa mount. Using a 1440p 27" 144hz TN panel atm until my new one arrives. I miss the real estate on desktop for sure, and i miss the IPS colours more, but in game it's just a distraction to me.

    Single player stuff like tomb raider I'll definitely miss it though.
     
  14. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    Interesting

    https://www.displayport.org/cables/how-to-choose-a-displayport-cable-and-not-get-a-bad-one/

    so i don't have a Displayport 1.2 cable.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
  15. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 22,183

    Location: y0 Momma's a$$

  16. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    The BenQ EX3501R :)

    The Sammy has too many problems.


     
  17. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 22,183

    Location: y0 Momma's a$$

    Looks decent, hope it's good!
     
  18. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    Yeah thanks, shes on her way! :D
     
  19. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,700

    Location: In a house

    Shes here, and all set up (will get a pic up later), got 3440x1440 100Hz, FreeSync on, and no probs so far, been running through some benchies, just to see if i get any black screens, FreeSync flickering or owt like the Sammy has, but nothing so far! :D

    Shes an absolute thing of beauty, gaming on this is going to be incredible! :cool:

    Me Last lighty bench for now, and me LC 64 creams it still, when it all goes off, and they all burst in, was still doing 70+ :eek:

    Settings :-

    [​IMG]

    Result :-

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
  20. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 22,183

    Location: y0 Momma's a$$

    Nice, enjoy!! :cool: