1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. Ring69

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 10, 2019

    Posts: 1

    Hi guys
    I Starter to read about news and leaks like 6 data ago, so i wanted to ask for some Help.

    I already have the b450 gaming carbon pro AC and the ryzen 3600. How i having a problem about the RAM. Since the motherboard only lets OC RAM to 3466mhz(from the reviews, more than that, and the PC doesnt noite) i AM a bit Lost on the RAM to choose. I AM going for a kit of 8gb x 2 3200mhz from ballist sport LT, its cheap. My only problem is if i should go for dual rank(Faster but less oc) vs single rank(easy oc) . Because if i go for single rank, and do get 3466 MHz on oc, is it going to match or be better than 3200 MHz dual rank ? Or Will the dual rank memory oc to 3466( if it let me go that far) and out performance the single rank at oc at 3466. Or should i go for 3466 RAM cl16 dual rank ?
     
  2. harney

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 8, 2013

    Posts: 1,748

    Location: Middle age travellers site

    Yep shocking support form MSI you should see some of the comments on the Bios page here.. i have 3 builds here waiting to be upgraded

    https://www.msi.com/blog/the-latest-bios-for-amd-300-400-series-motherboard

    Even some of there flagship product 300 400 are not supported yet

    What makes it worse is and this was posted since the 5th is they state

    Are You Ready for Ryzen 3000 Series Processors? Yes peeps are ready with these new shiny chips ..how about you ask yourself MSI are you ready ??
     
  3. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 319

    Location: Scotland

    People with x370 motherboards and having BIOS issues :rolleyes:

    It was made clear from the start that the priority would be x570 > x470 > x370.
     
  4. Journey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,607

    Location: West Midlands

    There are Ryzen 3xxx BIOS listed on that page, I helped a friend upgrade his BIOS yesterday evening on a Mortar, and I did a B450 Pro Carbon myself zero issues.
     
  5. harney

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 8, 2013

    Posts: 1,748

    Location: Middle age travellers site

    Which mortar board was it ..i am having problems with the mortar b450 Non TI
     
  6. Journey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,607

    Location: West Midlands

    Standard B450 Mortar.
     
  7. harney

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 8, 2013

    Posts: 1,748

    Location: Middle age travellers site

    thx i will keep trying then ...
     
  8. Ross Thomson

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 7, 2017

    Posts: 1,065


    They posted "The upcoming BIOS update will be available soon next week, stay tuned!!!"


    also they have X470 bios for

    X470 GAMING M7 ACK
    E7B77AMS.19O
    X470 GAMING PRO CARBON AC
    E7B78AMS.19M
    X470 GAMING PRO CARBON
    E7B78AMS.29M
    X470 GAMING PRO
    E7B79AMS.1AN


    SO they do have flagship x470 ones avaliable
     
  9. Journey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,607

    Location: West Midlands

    How are you trying to do it? Using flashback or via the BIOS?
     
  10. harney

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 8, 2013

    Posts: 1,748

    Location: Middle age travellers site

    Thx for the info ..its the X370 GAMING TITANIUM bios i am after
     
  11. harney

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 8, 2013

    Posts: 1,748

    Location: Middle age travellers site

    tried both my next step in go buy a small sub pen less than 8gb and retry

    thx for the help chaps
     
  12. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 11,754

    Location: Northern Ireland

    which is why i don't understand those on x370 boards rushing out to buy the 3xxx chips. surely you wait till the dust settles somewhat and bios revisions start to filter down.
     
  13. Pannalicour

    Gangster

    Joined: May 5, 2017

    Posts: 113

    Could you tell me the temperature of the cpu and vrm when fully loaded?

    Thx I am planning to get the same cpu for the x370 asus prime pro.
     
  14. Journey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,607

    Location: West Midlands

    Just to check a few things, if you use flashback, try the following.
    1. Download the .zipped BIOS from MSI
    2. Extract file, and then rename it to MSI.ROM, ensure that file extensions are turned on in Windows so you can see the extension change.
    3. Format any USB pen drive type device to FAT32/NTFS, and then copy the file across, eject the stick to ensure writing has completed.
    4. Remove old CPU and RAM from the motherboard
    5. Insert the USB stick into the flashback port on the read I/O
    6. Turn the system on
    7. Press the flash back button a few times, then it will go red.
    8. Wait ~5 minutes.
    Follow that and you'll have no issues, to many people are skipping steps and causing themselves massive headaches. :)
     
  15. Ross Thomson

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 7, 2017

    Posts: 1,065

    don't be silly - that requires common sense lol
     
  16. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 319

    Location: Scotland

    Exactly my thoughts. They will come but just not for a couple of weeks.
     
  17. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 11,754

    Location: Northern Ireland

    well yes quite, those sort of buyers are a retailers dream. i wonder how many will give up/brick their x370 boards and end up having to pony up for a new board.
     
  18. Harbz

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 598

    Location: West Midlands

    Any ideas if the Asus boards are ok? I have a x370 prime pro. Will a 3700X work?
     
  19. Pannalicour

    Gangster

    Joined: May 5, 2017

    Posts: 113

    That is medium settings. Trust me ultra taxes the cpu a different way.
     
  20. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 11,754

    Location: Northern Ireland

    don't get me wrong, i know what the upgrade itch is like. it's ******* killing me here :p but i just don't see the point yet, why torture myself further by buying a new cpu then have to hope and pray the current, almost certainly limited if not totally broken bios works on my x370?!