1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 12,175

    it was a few months back.
    corsair mispriced their 64gb ram (4*16) on their website - basically selling it for 32gb money.
    vengeance pro rgb 3600mhz as well...not their cheap stuff.
     
  2. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,573

    Location: Lincolnshire

    You're right, not sure why I thought clock speeds were so much lower. That will definitely be interesting to see then!
     
  3. stoke1863

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 4,562

    Location: Chesterfield

    Corsair Dominator platinum RGB 3466mhz, they basically listed the 64gb kit for the same price as 32GB.

    I ordered as soon as it was reported, got the kit in April, sold 32gb of it (overkill for me) so my 32gb remaining cost me just over £100
     
  4. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 12,175

    oh damn...was it the dominator platinums...even better deal lol
     
  5. stoke1863

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 4,562

    Location: Chesterfield

    Yeah it was dominator platinum RGB
     
  6. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 3,675

    Location: Cheshire

    Simply not good enough. ;)
     
  7. Harbz

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 598

    Location: West Midlands

    I don’t think you read the question
     
  8. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 4,279

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    So it did work on x470, like they said and then retracted. Very interesting
     
  9. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 22,380

    Location: MediaCityUK

    Well I've slapped it (3700x) in my B350-F Strix, 3200MHz RAM now and CPU running 4.3GHz / 3.6 at load, getting Ryzen Master to get all cores to 4. whateverish.

    I tried 4.4 at 1.45 and it crashed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  10. majestynl

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 23, 2018

    Posts: 36

    Location: Amsterdam

    One of them was me. Just spend 1hr playing with this bad boy (3700x) and it was not that hard. Currently running 3800mhz cl14 1:1 . 63ns latency with Aida. Only mem write speeds are ugly for all 3000 series except the 3900x.

    Will try to push more tomorrow...

    PS: still waiting for the lost courier to get my other chip from OCuk...
     
  11. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 22,380

    Location: MediaCityUK

    Jeesus, the 3700x is getting to 95 degrees on Prime 95. This is with PBO and all core at 4GHz. Doesn't seem that hot in the case :s
     
  12. StriderX

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 18, 2008

    Posts: 25,397

    Chiplet processors likely need redesigned heatsinks at this point.
     
  13. Tomuks

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 1, 2019

    Posts: 52

    So I would be better not updated bios on my shiny x570 aorus master.. as max clocks on 3900x droped from 4.65 to 4.35.. updated from F3 to F5e... :S hopefully they will sort this out fast..
     
  14. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 22,380

    Location: MediaCityUK

    I'm at 4.1GHz all cores with 1.34v (1.37 - 1.39 reported) seems stable and temps around 88. Not sure if I should actually try the wraith prism cooler, paranoid I have seated it incorrectly unless it is just as said new heatsink required.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  15. s6545

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2019

    Posts: 115

    For those comparing 4790k to 9900k/9700k performance, there's actually quite a large difference in CPU intensive games such as Warhammer II.

    Warhammer II:
    https://www.sweclockers.com/test/26...-i7-9700k-och-i5-9600k-coffee-lake-refresh/16

    The Witcher 3:
    https://www.sweclockers.com/test/26...k-och-i5-9600k-coffee-lake-refresh/15#content

    I think it matters hugely which games you play. Clearly though, there are some games that benefit from newer CPUs, even at 4K resolution, where there may be 10-20 FPS difference.I think it's mostly down to IPC improvements though, rather than core count. And possibly moving from DDR3 to DDR4 as well.
     
  16. s6545

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2019

    Posts: 115

    It would be very interesting to see how much using DDR3 limits a 9900K or 9700K. Has anyone tested this, or could you post a link showing performance in benchmarks?
     
  17. Curlyriff

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 1,933

    Location: Oxfordshire

    I am generally at 4k resolution for what I play which is showing about 6fps in TW:W2 & 2fps in W3 so am sticking with my thought process although I am likely to go back to 1440p @ 144hz instead on next build. Don't play any games currently that make a huge difference though myself.
     
  18. Markc0

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 8, 2019

    Posts: 16

    So i have a B450 Tomahawk and updated BIOS to latest version, from their website. I installed a 3700x correctly, and now its not finding any signal to the TV.
    Reading a few comments on there, a few people have this issue, and somebody told 1 of them there won't be any more BIOS for these boards.
    Not happy, and they better fix this.

    Right now im hearing the fans of an old laptop, not my £350 part i just paid for a was promised it would work with these boards. I only got this rig in Jan, with a Rayzen 1600x as a stop-gap. I built this rig for 4k gaming, and needed the 3700X to do just that. They better pull their fingers out, i swear.
     
  19. Rofflay

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 28, 2006

    Posts: 4,967

    Location: N Ireland

    There is not much there at all in Warhammer the 4790k seems to be up there at 4k. Then when you look at BF1 there still is no doubling of fps in the 720p bench can u be more cpu bound? 240p boys? Even there it is still not doubling the fps so i think maybe around the start of 2021 it will happen the fps will double in really cpu bound benchmarks.


    As for Totalwar.. They have always been the test for me same again a doubling of fps is nowhere in sight you need a leap in ipc not cores.
     
  20. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 34,527

    Location: Welling, London

    Built 3 PC’s yesterday. My new 3900 system was the last one. I was so knackered by the end of it i couldn’t be bothered to do anything. One cinebench run and that was it. Will crack on today.

    One thing I noticed on installation was that it felt very heavy for a normal sized CPU. Had some real weight to it.