1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 11,734

    Location: Northern Ireland

  2. scrivz69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 6, 2008

    Posts: 2,210

    Location: York

    Cheers mate I have found and book marked it.
     
  3. Phate

    Caporegime

    Joined: Nov 1, 2003

    Posts: 35,395

    Location: Lisbon, Portugal

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
  4. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 11,734

    Location: Northern Ireland

    no worries, i've been feverishly checking :p still going to hold off a bit longer till the dust settles a bit and i start to see reviews of the new bios working on older boards.
     
  5. Kali81

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 30, 2004

    Posts: 505

    Location: London

    Just took the plunge on an asrock taichi, 8 pack ddr4 3600 and a 3800x. Havent been AMD since the Athlon 64

    Edit...

    I actually got the 4000mhz ram, will i be able to down clock it to 3600 and maybe tighten the timings?
     
  6. scrivz69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 6, 2008

    Posts: 2,210

    Location: York

    I'm in the same boat, my 1700 is cracking on just fine at the moment, I have the money to upgrade to a 570 board but at this moment I don't see the point. I will just sit and watch lol. hopefully not to many car crashes.
     
  7. Troop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 14, 2006

    Posts: 1,151

    Location: Land of Dragons

  8. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 34,523

    Location: Welling, London

    BIOS updates killed my GB Ultra :(
     
  9. Smffy

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2015

    Posts: 3,060

    Location: London

    Ditto ;)
     
  10. Sin_Chase

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 13, 2004

    Posts: 20,535

    Killed.....in what way :eek:
     
  11. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 21, 2018

    Posts: 763

    Location: Ashton

    Mine too, lets goo!! Finally the wait for the 3800X is over, now we are going to find out why AMD was holding them back.

    Hopefully the guys that are waiting for the 3900X get theirs soon too.
     
  12. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 34,523

    Location: Welling, London

    Was being a bit odd after updating it. Not restarting properly, no bios screen. I then powered it down using the power button, and nothing since.

    When I switch off from the mains, then switch on, the lights on the mobo and cooler flash for a millisecond but do nothing. Then my RGB ram lights up, but still completely dead when I switch on. Only if I switch off and on from the mains do I get that brief flash of light. Also, when I switch on for the first time, the psu makes a loud clicking noise. I've cleared CMOS using battery method and jumper, but still no luck.
     
  13. Besty

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,442

    as I posted on previous page i would not assume that you can unless 8 pack confirms so.

    binning for clock speed not always same as binning for tight timings.
     
  14. Kali81

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 30, 2004

    Posts: 505

    Location: London

    Sorry I missed the post. I have been at work since 3am

    Spoke to a sales rep who just said he thought it wouldn’t be a problem.

    If it’s an issue I’ll buy the 3600mhz ram and return the ram I just paid for.
     
  15. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 11,734

    Location: Northern Ireland

    you sure it's not the psu that's went pop-a-doodle do?
     
  16. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 21, 2018

    Posts: 763

    Location: Ashton

    The PSU should not be making any sort of loud noise :/
     
  17. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 34,523

    Location: Welling, London

    The coincidence would be amazing wouldn’t you say. It’s not a rubbish unit either, it’s a three year old superflower leadex platinum 850w. Never given me one problem before.
     
  18. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 21, 2018

    Posts: 763

    Location: Ashton

    Website says 5 year warranty, so you should be good.
     
  19. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 11,734

    Location: Northern Ireland

    yea but if it's making a clicking noise that doesn't sound right - a psu won't shouldn't make any clicking noise, loud or quiet. only noise i want to hear from a pus is maybe a bit of hum from the fan!
     
  20. Phate

    Caporegime

    Joined: Nov 1, 2003

    Posts: 35,395

    Location: Lisbon, Portugal