1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. Panos

    Suspended

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,977

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    @Things change I've changed

    You have to read some of the comment section and not the headlines which Jay already changed.....

     
  2. Woodsta888

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 24, 2013

    Posts: 843

    Location: Anywhere but here

    Oh yeah, I'll decide what the voltages 'should' be, then moan why his doesn't work. If you had a stable system with a BIUOS with probabaly particular RAm timings then dont reapply the profile - then the RAM will probably take a few goes to retrain itself and require a few cycles to change parameters, as sopme parameters have to change before others. Hence boot cycles.

    I've never seen a BIOS report so nice as that with scrolling text before. That is FLASH
     
  3. Panos

    Suspended

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,977

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    My 570X Taichi doesn't like loading old profiles on new bios update. But neither my Asus Z370I Strix or the Asrock Z170 Formula OC or the MSI X79 GD or the Gigabyte X99 Gaming.
    This guy should be sued for defamation tbh. And of all the high profile youtubers has proven time and again is the least tech knowledgeable.
    And he shows that when he completely dismisses the AMD engineers long announcement of how the Zen 2 voltage work, applying 5 year old Intel voltage knowledge.
     
  4. Woodsta888

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 24, 2013

    Posts: 843

    Location: Anywhere but here

    Oh! What happens when you load an old profile?

    Agree about Jay2C - Bet he wont be getting any gear from MSI any more.
     
  5. String

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 6, 2013

    Posts: 11,970

    I've just returned from work after 3 weeks. PC was working fine before I left. It's taken 2 clear CMOS attempts to get it to boot, and I'm currently swapping a mechanical HDD for a 1TB SSD and copying some data over - I think I'm on clear CMOS #7 of the morning ... and counting.

    It's a horrendous, painful experience just trying to do the simplest of things. After my 2700x and now this, I just can't see me wasting any more money on an AMD system in the future.
     
  6. alec

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2016

    Posts: 291

    New cpus incoming
    Ryzen 5 3500X
    Ryzen 5 3500
    Both 6 Core no SMT, 4.1 boost 3.6 base

    Difference is 3500X has 32MB L3 cache as expected, while 3500 is 16MB L3. Could it be a Zen+ chip relabeled?
     
  7. Panos

    Suspended

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,977

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    The system is unstable. It could boot now, but not 2 days later on the case of X570 Taichi and X99 Gaming. The rest couldn't boot at all.
    Setting up everything from fresh is better and doesn't have issues.
    Thats why I have the memory timing settings on my mobile phone :D takes extra 3 minutes to set them so be it
     
  8. Panos

    Suspended

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,977

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Have you considered might be the board? Have you used the latest bios?
     
  9. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,611

    This type of comments are all over the place, not just "high profiles" in the video-sharing websites.

    It looks like AMD chose very bad timing to start their milking-cows procedures :D
     
  10. Woodsta888

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 24, 2013

    Posts: 843

    Location: Anywhere but here

    Have you seen how much backlash he has received over that video. Guess not as it's not like you to get the whole picture :rolleyes:
     
  11. Panos

    Suspended

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,977

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Even Hardware Unboxed tells Jay not to use the review MEG board as is faulty!!!
     
  12. Woodsta888

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 24, 2013

    Posts: 843

    Location: Anywhere but here

    I did see that in a post above, but funny how 4K8K manages to miss the rest of the thread, instead selecting a post that fits his agenda, posting dribble.
     
  13. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,611

    Why do you think that he speaks only for the particular case?
    He is describing the overall picture through the years.
     
  14. Woodsta888

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 24, 2013

    Posts: 843

    Location: Anywhere but here

    Everything technology based when new has issues. Tesla's, Nvidia Gfx cards, intel CPU vulnerabilities, Boeing 737 800 MAX's, Any PC game on release, iphones...anything. His particular case is flawed and therefore no credibility can be given for the sweeping statements he is making. I think he's jealous that RYan Shrout has a job at intel. When you are called out by your peers from other channels and tech sites, you know you got it wrong.
     
  15. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 17,377

    Location: North West

    Jay is useless, everyone in the know, knows Ryzen 3 can use up to 1.5v in low load, yet here he is lowering it in the bios to 1.35 and expecting no issues.
     
  16. Orange Nexus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2018

    Posts: 609

    Same guy who had LN enabled and was complaining about temps. Same guy that plugged power to the gpu before securing it with screws. Not sure why any from this forum will want to go by his innuendos.
     
  17. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,611

    But I doubt that users are happy to be beta-testers. Especially when every year, AMD launches "new technologies" in one way or another. Except maybe last year when it was a simple Zen refresh.
    Next year with Zen 3, it will be the same.

    But I didn't read his statement as such. I read it from the view that AMD's production practices, especially the binning, as we all know, are not as good as intel's high quality binning process.

    Or that AMD is a small company that is unknown for many IT managers.
     
  18. Doobedoo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 24, 2016

    Posts: 1,971

    Location: South West

    Yawn!
     
  19. Things change I've changed

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 27, 2005

    Posts: 11,579

    Location: The Orion Spur

    Seriously I tire of the AMD fanboyism on here, it's like AMD can do no wrong, there are no bios issues, no heat issues, no voltage issues, no boosting issues, no memory issues, AMD is perfect, absolutely ******* perfect, yet even in this very thread only a page back we have AMD owners having issues and questioning whether to stick with AMD in the future, how can people deny that there hasn't been issues with this Ryzen launch is beyond me, read through the comments of Jays YouTube video, there are plenty of AMD owners saying that they have had issues with their build, I'm not trying to poo poo AMD, they have a good chip, but as a launch overall it has not been plain sailing.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2019
  20. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 17,377

    Location: North West

    You can tire all you want, Jay will always be an inept idiot.