1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** AMD "Zen" thread (inc AM4/APU discussion) ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Boomstick777, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 27,937

    Location: Dormanstown.

  2. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 27,937

    Location: Dormanstown.

  3. Chinook121

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 24, 2017

    Posts: 3

    Location: Harlow, UK

    Thanks ill try upping the voltage and see how it goes. As for the BIOS updates im hoping it will just be a case of install that and were all fine.
     
  4. Pannalicour

    Associate

    Joined: May 5, 2017

    Posts: 69

  5. SupraWez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 17, 2007

    Posts: 2,136

    Interesting about the latest NVidia driver causing stutter that is not present in the older driver, hopefully new driver will fix that.
     
  6. balky12

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 6, 2011

    Posts: 4,217

  7. N19h7m4r3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 13, 2008

    Posts: 9,275

    Location: Ireland

    Yup, that's a year old slide. AMD ended up exceeding that and getting a 52% increase.
     
  8. Kelt

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,013

    Location: With the færies

    Not sure why anyone would buy this when the better featured X370 Gaming Plus is only around a tenner more.
     
  9. Pannalicour

    Associate

    Joined: May 5, 2017

    Posts: 69

    Can I ask you guys something, I am interested if people with a good (CPU) rig especially a Ryzen rig can play this 8K movie ON 60 FPS!

    Make sure not using edge because it uses your GPU instead of the CPU

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNz-CLzEcCs

    edit: you need a fast internet connection to play this without buffering!

    Step 1 click on the link
    Step 2 turn the quality to 4320 60FPS
    Step 3 Turn off any gpu hardware acceleration
    Step 4 check your CPU usage and put your cpu stats/results in his thread
    Step 5 thanx all!
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2017
  10. Balb0wa

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,500

    Location: Chesterfield

  11. SiDeards73

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 19, 2011

    Posts: 5,774

    Location: Kent

  12. antonusklesk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 4, 2007

    Posts: 1,381

  13. RBImGuy

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 26, 2017

    Posts: 252

  14. Balb0wa

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,500

    Location: Chesterfield

    Well this is it, only got them this afternoon! , will tell you in the morning

    cold boot issue there !
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2017
  15. AllBodies

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 28, 2010

    Posts: 1,541

    Location: Brighton

    R7 1700 at 3.9 GHz here, with 32GB of RAM.

    I can't watch it at 60 FPS on Chrome, but I think it's a limitation of chrome/youtube, because I only get about 50% CPU usage (including any other background stuff going on), so I imagine it's fine hardware-wise, just crap software.
     
  16. jaffveyda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 1,103

    Location: Hay May Land

    i7 860@4Ghz hovers around 94%
    My fans spins like a crazy.
     
  17. Pannalicour

    Associate

    Joined: May 5, 2017

    Posts: 69

    Thx for trying, yeah I also think its software crap. Even the 6950x stutters.

    But wasn't your internetconnection bottlenecking it?
     
  18. antonusklesk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 4, 2007

    Posts: 1,381

    Nevermind - I'll stick to sleeping the PC rather than turning off for now then. Seems no need to update to this version, will wait for the next :(
     
  19. triss

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 16, 2013

    Posts: 2,715

    Run it in Microsoft Edge and your cpu wont even break a sweat :)
     
  20. AllBodies

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 28, 2010

    Posts: 1,541

    Location: Brighton

    Yeah works fine on Edge, but that's expected :p


    Nah I'm on 65-70 Mb/s, and in "Stats for nerds" in the right-click menu, it was getting up to 10 seconds of buffer.