1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** AMD "Zen" thread (inc AM4/APU discussion) ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Boomstick777, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,637

  2. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 19,139

    They released (officially announced) PCI Express 4.0 in 2017. So we've got at least until 2021 for 5.0 I would have thought.
     
  3. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,173

    Location: West Midlands

    Incorrect, 4.0 devices were available 12 months after it was finalised, and the only delay was Intel/AMD on the CPU side for commercial and consumer applications. EPYC Milan will have PCI-E 5.0, and is being released to market next year.
     
  4. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,637

    We have a problem right here. Should we buy boards with 4.0 which will become obsolete in only 2 years or should we wait 2 years, skip 4.0 and jump directly to 5.0.
    What will happen to the 4.0 SSDs, will they be developed or the manufacturers like XPG will go straight 5.0?!
     
  5. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 19,139

    I suppose i was referring to consumer, rather than enterprise. But Intel's roadmap has doesn't have PCI-E 5.0 for enterprise until 2021, if AMD beat that then good for them, but can't find any info on that myself. Source?

    As a consumer, they'll be obsolete in 2 years anyway, right? This is how technology evolves and PCI-e devices are backwards compatible. What's the problem?
     
  6. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,637

    I don't think you will be able to run a 5.0 SSD in a 4.0 slot.
     
  7. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 9,967

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Why not?
     
  8. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,173

    Location: West Midlands

    You can run a 3.0 one in a 2.0 slot, so I'd suggest you do some research before posting nonsense, not that it will stop you. ;)
     
  9. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,637

    Because of different electrical specifications, no? Why doesn't my NVMe XPG S11 Pro 512GB PCIe 3.0 x4 work in my Acer Nitro 5's M.2 slot?
     
  10. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2009

    Posts: 15,366

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    Because your laptop doesn't support NVMe, we've been over this several times
     
  11. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,637

    But it could have been that the SSD could have supported NVMe and SATA, no? But it doesn't.
     
  12. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 9,967

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    NVMe and SATA are completely different connection/signalling standards that just happen to be bundled up into a single form factor.


    No because it would increase complexity and cost by having the controller support both.

    Ideally they will just drop M2/SATA completely, leaving M2/NVMe drives, and actual 2.5" SATA drives.
     
  13. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2009

    Posts: 15,366

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    Your laptop won't support an M.2 GPU either :p
     
  14. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,254

    Anyone had a drop in performance on Cinbench? around 20%?

    MS have been ####'ing up a lot lately with Ryzen performance killing updates to win 10, Joker Production just launched a video about 1809 breaking Ryzen stability.....

    So out of curiosity i did a Cinebench run, should be scoring near 1300, am scoring around 1100, ST should be 160, is 120, rebooting ecte.... doesn't fix it, it's stuck like this.
     
  15. Tee Hee Johnson

    Mobster

    Joined: May 30, 2007

    Posts: 3,965

    Location: Glasgow, Scotland

    It's a conspiracy!!
     
  16. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,254

    Re-Installed an older version of Windows 10 and my scores are back up to 1300 :eek:
     
  17. pete910

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,491

    Shocker :p
     
  18. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 17,378

    Location: North West


    Will be all the meltdown updates.
     
  19. Harlequin

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 17, 2004

    Posts: 2,948

    Location: Eastbourne , East Sussex.

    Except Ryzen isn`t meltdown vulnerable
     
  20. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,254

    :D