1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** AMD "Zen" thread (inc AM4/APU discussion) ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Boomstick777, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 17,379

    Location: North West


    Still affects performance. Besides there are updated for other vulnerabilities.
     
  2. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,102

    Location: PA, USA

    That is one serious fricken drop no matter what CPU you have.
     
  3. Kelt

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 14, 2007

    Posts: 9,560

    Location: With the færies

    Well, the Wintel association goes back a loooong way.
     
  4. Drollic

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2013

    Posts: 3,335

    Location: East Midlands

    Wouldn't worry about pcie4 becoming obsolete. Consoles drive games heavily and the ps5 looks likely to be an adopter of tech barely pushing 4. A refresh console will probably take full advantage but that's years away and will have a shelf life of years again. Pcie3 top end nvme will be good for years.
     
  5. h4rm0ny

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 25, 2011

    Posts: 5,475

    Location: Yorkshire and proud of it!

    I faced the choice at the start of the year whether to hang on 7-8 months for a PCI-Ev4 board or go ahead and upgrade. I don't like buying on the wrong side of a technology leap but it was the right decision to do so. I've had six months of benefit from the new hardware and there's very little that requires 4.0 yet. I'll likely skip 4.0 entirely and buy in with 5.0 five years from now.
     
  6. Murphy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 16, 2018

    Posts: 2,298

    More like 2011, the only reason we're really getting PCIe 4.0 now is because AMD's Zen uses a slightly modified version for their Infinity Fabric.

    I would imagine they'll want to move to PCIe 5.0 quicker than the previous eight year wait for obvious reasons so we may possibly get it, along with DDR5, when they move to a new socket.
     
  7. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 19,139

    PCI Express 4.0 was officially announced on June 8, 2017, by PCI-SIG. 2011 was a preliminary notice of specs. The first test machine wasn’t until 2016 at an intel forum.
     
  8. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,278

    Two years on, did i make the right choice?

    7600K £230
    1600 £160

    One significant win here for the 7600K with the significantly higher clocks, predictably in FC New Dawn. a few with give and take roughly even results.

    But the 7600K went to #### for BF5, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, The Division 2 and Assassin's Creed Odyssey

    https://youtu.be/97sDKvMHd8c?t=545

    I'm glad i didn't spend the extra £70 on the 7600K

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2019
  9. Fire_fly

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 18, 2012

    Posts: 3,683

    Location: Derbyshire

    To be fair as soon as BF1 released in 2016 it was obvious that 4c4t i5s as the gamer's CPU of choice were over. It didn't have to wait until now.
     
  10. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 22, 2004

    Posts: 12,137

    Very good video, makes me wish I waited an extra month for Ryzen to be released, Instead I went for a 6700k pc.
     
  11. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 30,632

    Location: Welling, London

    How far can a 2700X generally be safely pushed using the stock wraith cooler?
     
  12. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,278

    About 4Ghz, its a half decent cooler.

     
  13. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 18,660

    Location: London

    Anyone else upgraded to Windows 10 1903 and noticed their ram speed has an odd speed in task manager?

    My ram is set to 3133MHz in the bios as usual and has worked just fine until now but in task manager I can see the speed is reported as 1567MHz.

    I've verified the speed is set to 3133MHz in the bios still.
     
  14. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,278

    1567Mhz would be right, Its Double Density Ram don't forget, some applications read the internal bus speed.

    1567 X 2 = 3134
     
  15. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,649

    It's double data rate :D

    But my task manager reports mine as 2400 MHz, which means it takes into account the effective speed.
     
  16. anthony99

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 15, 2016

    Posts: 235

    haha yes i wondered when i read that:p
     
  17. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 6,649

    With previous versions, on desktop machines, the task manager didn't report any RAM frequency at all.

    My theory is that Microsoft does it purposefully for some odd reason, on mobiles the speed has always been there.
     
  18. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,278

    :o
     
  19. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 18,660

    Location: London

    I've been on holiday for the last two weeks. I can assure you 2 weeks ago task manager was reporting 3133MHz not 1567MHz.

    So that is a change. Yes I know that double it and it makes 3134MHz... are we saying now that this is the new normal and not a bug?

    ---

    On my other Intel based DDR3 machine with 1600MHz ram the ram speed is reported as 1600MHz through task manager. So as far as I am concerned this is a bug.

    (Win 10 1903)
     
  20. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 18,660

    Location: London

    Exactly. But mine on my Ryzen system isn't.

    I think this is a Win 10 1903 bug as up until this update it's always reported the correct ram speed. (3133MHz etc)