1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

***** AORUS DID NOT INVENT THE GRAPHICS CARD, THEY PERFECTED IT! RTX 2000 SERIES!! *****

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Gibbo, Oct 17, 2018.

  1. seanyc5

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 30, 2011

    Posts: 835

    Yeah it says close Aorus engine. It is not installed. Then says BIOS version does not match. Program then exits.
     
  2. GIGA-Man

    Gigabyte rep

    Joined: Feb 25, 2009

    Posts: 806

    Location: GIGABYTE UK

    I have re-sent all the info to R&D, I have seen a similar issue. It could be related to registry entries from older versions of the AORUS Engine maybe, I will keep chasing my HQ.
     
  3. GIGA-Man

    Gigabyte rep

    Joined: Feb 25, 2009

    Posts: 806

    Location: GIGABYTE UK

    Hi Seanyc5,

    I have gone over the issues with my HQ now several times, they cant seem to replicate the issue. I think it has something to do with it possibly not being a fresh install of Windows maybe and old registry entries. The best option I can offer to resolve the issue for you quickly is to arrange to have the card pick up from you under RMA, tested, BIOS flashed or card replaced if needed and sent back to you. I will get this arranged at our cost.

    I'm away this afternoon and wont be back until Monday, let me know if this is okay for you and I will arrange the RMA. Mail returns@gbt-tech.co.uk... reference this conversation with me and I will get this all done ASAP so you should not be without your card for more than a few days.
     
  4. Kelt

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 14, 2007

    Posts: 9,545

    Location: With the færies

    That's what you call service.
     
  5. Apone70

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 15, 2018

    Posts: 1,042

    I was thinking the same. I love my Aorus 1080ti and hope the issues with the Aorus 2080ti are a one off.
     
  6. seanyc5

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 30, 2011

    Posts: 835

    @GIGA-Man Thanks you very much. I will get on it now and let them know how much of a help you are! If the new BIOS can bring my temps down that would be amazing as well!

    This is already a recent install of Windows10 around 2 months old.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2019
  7. chrcoluk

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 27, 2015

    Posts: 3,714

    Fingers crossed, if they also tuned the voltage curve as well so lower voltages for same clocks that might help as well, curious if gigabyte did that on the new bios.
     
  8. Reality|Bites

    Soldato

    Joined: Apr 5, 2006

    Posts: 5,840

    thread title is a bit off is It not anyways? The company is Gigabyte the brand line is Aorus
     
  9. scubes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 1,549

    Location: Saturn’s moon Titan

  10. seanyc5

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 30, 2011

    Posts: 835

    @scubes I have been ill week with a stomach bug, I will get it sorted this week and update the thread!
     
  11. Sega Mega Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 31, 2010

    Posts: 3,050

  12. Apone70

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 15, 2018

    Posts: 1,042

    Has anyone had any luck with the Aorus 2080ti on the stock cooler? Out of the box or with the newer bios?
    People obviously had issues with the original batch but i am interested to know if these issues have been resolved
     
  13. scubes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 1,549

    Location: Saturn’s moon Titan


    Don’t get me wrong I loved my arous but with the problems is was having and after spending £1300 quid on my his card I wasn’t expecting to he trouble I had I guess that’s wot happens when your a early adopter.
     
  14. scubes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 1,549

    Location: Saturn’s moon Titan

    I think my fave maker has to be zotac nice card run very cool as well ..
     
  15. Apone70

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 15, 2018

    Posts: 1,042

    What model Zotac dude?
     
  16. Ian Jones

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 2, 2012

    Posts: 717

    Location: Cambridge

    Hi all.

    Do you think it is worth changing from a zotac 1080 amp extreme to a aorus waterforce 2080 super?

    2560x1440 res.

    Thanks
    Ian
     
  17. Kelt

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 14, 2007

    Posts: 9,545

    Location: With the færies

    No.

    Wait and see what 2020 brings to the table.
     
  18. Robert896r1

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 28, 2018

    Posts: 482

    PSA: check your thermal paste. I've had my Windforce OC 2080ti since launch.

    I noticed that it's thermal performance degraded heavily over time. I took apart the gpu and noticed that the thermal paste has completely dried up and crusted over. Like old toothpaste. I had to use my nail to chisel it off the die and heatsink. I'm disappointed at the level of quality for a 1000+ card.

    I replaced it with some cheap paste and it's about 5c cooler now. I'll take it apart again and put Kyro on it and see how that goes.

    Even then the heat dissipation of the stock fans is quite poor and the heatsink is just not good enough. This heatsink, like any heatsink, has a thermal limit that after while it's efficiency falls off a cliff and the fans start doing a scream of death trying to keep it all together. It's useless though because once a certain amount of heat is built up the heatpipes more or less fail and the card will thermal throttle routinely in extended sessions.

    Along with the paste swap, I would set a custom voltage frequency curve that keeps your temps down below 80c and under a peak of 300w for extended sessions. The stock heatsink and fans can't dissipate more than 260/270w of sustained running. You'll need MSI afterburner for that.

    A custom curve is not different than overclocking your cpu with a fixed vcore and frequency. The only difference is here as the card will still throttle down in steps as temps rise. There's no way to disable that part outside of keeping the core cool.

    There Is *NO* fix for the heatsink/fan issue so if you really want low temps, get a AIO on it with a G12 or a custom loop. Thankfully with GPU dies being massive and thus greater surface area, keeping it cool even with a cheap AIO is more than enough and you don't need a high end water cooling setup at all.

    In short, replace the stock thermal paste and set a custom frequency/voltage curve. You'll be happier for it for sustained gaming sessions for GPU intensive games.

    @GIGA-Man I can't say that I'm a happy customer when such penny pinching happens on the paste for such an expensive card. In contrast, when I removed the cooler of my 2600k after many years of continuous use, the paste was still soft on both ends.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2019
  19. GIGA-Man

    Gigabyte rep

    Joined: Feb 25, 2009

    Posts: 806

    Location: GIGABYTE UK

    Noted, I've made sure any issue like this get fixed at our cost if they are raised to me.
     
  20. Grim5

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 6, 2019

    Posts: 1,414

    Gigabyte needs to fix their quality control - thermal paste issues shouldn’t happen on any card. For the low end models like the wind force I can understand average thermal performance because they priced quite low relative to others. But the high air cooled extreme have some serious issues - Gigabyte needs to re-evaluate it’s air coolers or start shipping all it’s cards with AIO water coolers

    go to Gamers nexus and look they they have ripped XFX a new one for shipping an expensive card that has terrible thermal performance. That could be you Gigabyte next time, so please fix the air cooler that’s used on extreme cards.