1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

** ASUS DO IT AGAIN: IPS, 144Hz & FREESYNC!!! Asus MG279Q thread **

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Gibbo, Apr 8, 2015.

  1. Fixide

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 20, 2016

    Posts: 21

  2. DeadMan3000

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 20, 2014

    Posts: 28

    When is this coming back into stock?
     
  3. clone

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 11, 2003

    Posts: 6,015

    Location: Telford//west mids

    Anybody got hints on how to set this monitor up.
     
  4. andyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 12, 2004

    Posts: 1,895

    Location: Stoke

    what connection you using and which gfx card
     
  5. clone

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 11, 2003

    Posts: 6,015

    Location: Telford//west mids

    Dp 1.2 EVGA 1070 FTW.
     
  6. andyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 12, 2004

    Posts: 1,895

    Location: Stoke

    I had mine last week and using a RX480 and dp 1.2

    not over impressed at the minuit though , not as bright as I thought it would be or as clear either
     
  7. clone

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 11, 2003

    Posts: 6,015

    Location: Telford//west mids

    Had mine over one year,bought it as I wanted a good gaming panel with ips love it.
     
  8. andyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 12, 2004

    Posts: 1,895

    Location: Stoke

    can you list some of your settings as it could just be that with mine
     
  9. mahius

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 1,501

    Location: Surrey, UK

    I'm in need of a good 1440p144Hz Monitor. Only issue is that I've not got the desk space to put it and double-monitor wall mounts are extortionate. Even with my 970, this still seems like a good monitor to get, but I'd need somewhere to put it first.
     
  10. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 706

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    I have the TFTCentral ICC profile loaded and then I'm using FPS preset modified to below, as my testing showed the image is clearer than other presets stock/modified:-

    Blue Light Filter = Level 0
    Brightness = varying depending on room lighting (30 daytime 15 evening under lighting)
    Contrast = 80
    Saturation = 50
    Color Temp = User mode R:100 G:96 B:96
    Skin tone = Natural
    Sharpness = 50
    Trace free = 80
    Vivid pixel = 0
    ASCR = Off but will select On at times as helps with darker environment games.
    FreeSync = On

    I have edited FreeSync range using CRU to 57-144 but tend to just use default after testing the mod as it's more relevant to the FPS I have in game.

    Next a question for MG279Q owners that have RMA'd direct with Asus, did you receive new or refurb replacement monitor?
     
  11. andyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 12, 2004

    Posts: 1,895

    Location: Stoke

    Thanks for the reply , I ended up changing it for a Benq TN panel in the end
     
  12. melmac

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 19, 2010

    Posts: 7,549

    I still have mine and love it. Even though I switched to a 1070 a few months ago and don't have freesync, I wouldn't change it. Brilliant picture and great for gaming.
     
  13. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 706

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    No worries :) , mind if I ask the reason behind swapping? cheers :) .
     
  14. adamg64

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 24, 2008

    Posts: 154

    picked one up yesterday blown away completely its amazing, have a few questions so please help!

    Firstly its just come out of the box and setup up not actually tinkered with any settings so any recommended settings?

    only been playing battlefield 1 and when i first load bf1 up a pop in middle of the screen comes on saying freesync disabled no range 30-90 or something like that shouldn't freesync stay on?
     
  15. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 706

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    I posted what I use, it's quoted in post 1051 :) .

    That message means refresh rate went out of FreeSync range. Even though the panel is 144MHz it's FreeSync range is 35Hz to 90Hz. If you set windows to use 90Hz refresh rate you shouldn't get that message. I don't have BF1 so can not say if you can set refresh rate in game menu, if you can set it as 90Hz and regardless of what windows is set to you will get that Hz.

    The other option is to use CRU to customise the FreeSync range (guide). I have modified mine just for testing the procedure and it does work, you will see the refresh rate follow FPS in the OSD of monitor even if you get the message on screen that FreeSync is disabled.

    HTH :) .
     
  16. adamg64

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 24, 2008

    Posts: 154

    Thanks for that will try your settings out tonight , I take it editing the freesync range with that guide is risk free?
     
  17. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,927

    I purchased one of these this week and found myself distinctly underwhelmed by it out of the box, even after applying the settings TFTCentral recommended. It just didn't look good at all. Then I applied the ICC profile they provided (something I've never actually done before) and wow, the difference is incredible. It looks amazing now. I don't know if it makes such a large difference for all monitors, but the improvement it made to the image quality is remarkable.

    Other than that, the panel has no dead or stuck pixels, only a very tiny bit of backlight bleed on the left edge and slight IPS glow in the bottom right (but I knew to expect that from my previous Dell U2414H). Pretty delighted with it overall. Now I just need Vega to live up to the hype so that I can use FreeSync. :D
     
  18. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 6,783

    About to pull the trigger myself since it's dropped in price by £60 overnight. Don't have a GPU to drive it yet but that's OK for now!
     
  19. w00dy85

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 14, 2008

    Posts: 956

    Wow these have gone up, glad I got mine on black Friday.

    Like others have said, use the TFTCentral settings with the ICC profile and it really looks great on my monitor. I also have some backlight bleed on the bottom right hand side and no dead pixel. I came from a 24" Dell ultrasharp IPS at 1080 and this just looks brilliant compared to 1080, I'm really happy with it.
     
  20. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 6,783

    Yep I was very close to buying on Black Friday but just wasn't sure; it was £430 then IIRC. Since then my monitor died (not a simple replace capacitors job unfortunately) and I haven't had a serious upgrade to my setup since I bought it in 2009 (aside from an SSD) so I thought I'd go for it. Been waiting for it to stop yo-yoing between £460 and £500 for weeks!

    Thanks, will do.

    I notice you're using a GTX 1070, so not using FreeSync. Are you waiting for Vega or not interested in that feature? My current GPU doesn't support it anyway so I'm not going to get to use it just yet but I really want to try FreeSync later this year.