Bike License

Soldato
Hi Guys,

So I have been driving for almost two years now and really, really have that itch to get on a bike. I'm 20 years old, so cannot do anything like direct access etc...

I think the 24 restriction is a joke personally, especially if you already have a full license for X amount of time. I know the reason for it but still //RANT

So my question is; what step/stages would I need to do?

I'm aware I would need to do CBT first, but am not really clued up on the rest. Would you be able to fire me some suggestions please?

My goal for now is by mid next year be riding say a Kawasaki 250r, so for the second question, which bikes would you guys recommend? I would be using it to and from work, a bit of motorway bits, and A roads.

Soldato
OP
Thanks for all of the advice guys, especially IC3.

My Dad has an Older Yamaha Genesis 750, which I really like and want to buy off him as he will be selling it soon. But as it is a 750 (Racing engine also!) I wouldn't be able to ride it at all.

Would I be able to get a restriction fitted to one of those to make it run at the A2 specification?

I will get a picture of it later to show you all, needs a bit of work, but otherwise is a great runner.

Soldato
OP
Sorry for the lac of update on this from my side.

I have been out today at CMC motorcycles (Chesterfield, are any of you guys local?) and clarified a few points, while also finding the bike I want!

I am aiming to do my CBT in December, with my tests following on from there over around an 8 week period. Now, while I'm excited I really have no idea what would be the best way to revise and approach this, any suggestions?

In regards to the bike, I sat on a Yamaha MT-07, and wow. I love it! The riding position is spot on, and while it is 689cc (an odd number) it can be restricted to A2 standards. I plan on buying new, so will get plenty of experience before I'm 24, which is a good thing of course.

A couple of piccies for the colour I like: