1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by michellez, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 2,525

    hi they are all wired - not sure why it's showing the wifi logo
     
  2. Dangerous Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 10, 2006

    Posts: 3,253

    Do you get the same results when downloading from a known good site ? I just downloaded some drivers from Nvidia and updates from Microsoft and both downloaded in the 700-900Mbps range.

    One thing I didn't notice yesterday was my upload speed is capped at 100Mbps.

    Appears to have zero slow down in peak times.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2020
  3. Furyus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 15, 2010

    Posts: 924

    Location: Weston-super-Mare

    So overall what is the best router to use to obtain the full 900mb? Would the Router/modem they provide and running a network cable to my PC be fine?
     
  4. Allnamestaken

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 25, 2010

    Posts: 4,383

    Location: Ipswich

    I paid for the Fibre halo package that gives 130-140 or something and included one of those BT discs.

    The Engineer came round today and set me up and I am getting 161 Downstream sync speed, he also told me that they have been laying fire around the area for months and another company are installing gigabit internet on my road too lol.

    So alot of good news today! I am really pleased so far.
     
  5. Mushy Peas

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 1, 2010

    Posts: 10,617

    Location: Under the thumb.

    Is there any truth to the rumor that the more 'properties passed' you accrue on your FTTPoD order, the more of a reduction you get on the installation quote? I've been searching for information all day but Openreach seem to be really cloak and daggers when it comes to any information on their pricing scheme since they revamped the distance-based charging structure!
     
  6. Rendog

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 17, 2003

    Posts: 328

    Location: Andover

    I replaced my BT Smart Hub 2 with a 'Netgear Nighthawk X4S R7800' a couple of weeks ago and it's been rock solid to the full 900Mbps since (in fact always pushing 930-940Mbps).

    I could never really max out the Smart Hub (normally 850Mbps or so) and found it couldn't really handle a high amount of simultaneous connections. I also had frequent disconnects which lasted around 3 minutes, turned out it was BT constantly applying some kind of update to the Smart Hub. Since I switched to the Netgear not a single disconnect in the last couple of weeks.
     
  7. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2010

    Posts: 18,034

    I believe that's the case, yes, but the number of properties seems to be taken as complete guesswork from some of the quotes people have had here and elsewhere. There's a long thread on Thinkbroadband.com about peoples experiences.
     
  8. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 2,525

    Christ the super hub potentially is not fit for purpose.
     
  9. apachegoose

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 28, 2020

    Posts: 45

    The BT one is meant to be good enough, but it really is at its limits. If you want a all in one consumer focused router then as per Rendog says the R7800, or ASUS RT86U supposedly can do 1gbps, but both are at their limits as well.

    If you know a bit of networking then Ubiquiti (ER-4 and above, although the ER-X etc can do it but best not) or Mikrotik (various but best SoHo router at moment is the RB4011).

    Another option is pfSense / Opnsense, gives you loads of more functionality and a Odroid H2 running either can easily cope with a 1gbps connection, or just use a spare PC.
     
  10. robj20

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 9, 2007

    Posts: 8,863

    I eventually plan on getting the Ubiquiti ER-4, what I like about FTTP is that the modem is separate from the router, so free to choose what you like.
    Even though I'm only going for the 150Mb plan to start with I want everything to be 1Gb capable.
    My Cat6 wiring should be 10Gb capable as well for the future.

    Plusnet sent me a confusing letter today about leaving my contact early which they have wrong, contact is up 28th May, change over is 9th June so how is that before. I'm guessing it's from when the letter was printed 26th May.
    But I hope I don't have to argue with them.
     
  11. Zeebedy

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 28, 2011

    Posts: 3,762

    Standard BT Smart Hub 2 router..

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Dangerous Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 10, 2006

    Posts: 3,253

    fast.com isn’t a good test as it goes to a local CDN on the ISPs network, generally when you are up to 1Gbps connections it’s hard to get a reliable test and you can run into limitations on the sites you connect to, rather than individual users these high speed packages are really for multiple users downloading with no slow downs.

    I go with what I am able to download my usual files at although nperf.com pretty good I pick a site in Europe to make sure it’s leaving the ISPs network.
     
  13. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 23,741

    It's fine for seeing if a router is up to the task, though. I would have been surprised if the hardware supplied for the 1Gbps product isn't capable of supporting it, and the Fast.com results confirm that.
     
  14. robj20

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 9, 2007

    Posts: 8,863

    That's why I have chosen a relatively slow 150Mb. At most we might have someone streaming 4k and someone downloading files at the same time.
    The faster upload I think we'll be most noticeable and I'm guessing ping times should improve over FTTC.
     
  15. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 23,741

    Ping changes will be marginal, it's far more affected by things like physical distance (to London, mostly). I can ping at 6ms to bbc.co.uk on my FTTC about 20 miles out of London, but a customer I have in Leicestershire gets 12ms on a fibre circuit.
     
  16. Ayahuasca

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 20,908

    Location: County Durham

    I get 10ms pings to bbc.co.uk and I'm based in the North East. Tried another London server on speedtest.net and it's the same. Not even full fibre here, just an EE (Openreach) G.fast connection.
     
  17. robj20

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 9, 2007

    Posts: 8,863

    I get about 17ms when running a speed test about 73Mbps.
     
  18. lltfdaniel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 23, 2009

    Posts: 2,246

    Location: Bournemouth

    I am on fttc zen 80/20,

    Ping where done when the connection is least saturated so no downloads nothing, i used to get 40-50ms on virgin media but now i get 10-13ms ish on zen and ping times is why i moved from virgin media to zen,

    Pings on zen used to be something like 17-20ms at worst and 13-15ms at best but better than virgin media.

    C:\Users\Dan>ping www.bbc.co.uk

    Pinging www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.237.253] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 212.58.237.253: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=52
    Reply from 212.58.237.253: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=52
    Reply from 212.58.237.253: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=52
    Reply from 212.58.237.253: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 212.58.237.253:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 11ms, Average = 10ms

    C:\Users\Dan>tracert www.bbc.co.uk

    Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.237.253]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms fritz.box [192.168.178.1]
    2 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms losubs.subs.bng1.th-lon.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.17]
    3 10 ms 12 ms 10 ms ae1-177.cr2.th-lon.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.38]
    4 10 ms 10 ms 11 ms rt-lonap-b.thdo.bbc.co.uk [5.57.80.90]
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms ae0.er01.telhc.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.109]
    7 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms 132.185.255.148
    8 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms 212.58.238.4
    9 11 ms 10 ms 11 ms 212.58.237.253

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\Dan>tracert www.google.co.uk

    Tracing route to www.google.co.uk [172.217.169.35]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms fritz.box [192.168.178.1]
    2 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms losubs.subs.bng1.th-lon.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.17]
    3 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms ae1-177.cr2.th-lon.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.38]
    4 11 ms 12 ms 11 ms 72.14.223.28
    5 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms 216.239.48.217
    6 12 ms 11 ms 12 ms 172.253.66.89
    7 11 ms 11 ms 10 ms lhr48s08-in-f3.1e100.net [172.217.169.35]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\Dan>

    I am happy my ping times are like 10 ms now though.
     
  19. Dangerous Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 10, 2006

    Posts: 3,253

    Strange I'm getting a German AWS address for www.bbc.co.uk from Cloudflare DNS

    ping www.bbc.co.uk

    Pinging gtmlivelive-eu-c-1nlbwwwcouk-17e0f31403454351.elb.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com [3.120.156.170] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
     
  20. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 17, 2007

    Posts: 8,638

    Location: UK

    I'm using CF DNS too, no AWS here. (ZEN 80/20)

    Code:
    Pinging www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.237.251] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 212.58.237.251: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=53
    Reply from 212.58.237.251: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=53
    Reply from 212.58.237.251: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=53
    Reply from 212.58.237.251: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=53
    
    Ping statistics for 212.58.237.251:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 6ms, Maximum = 6ms, Average = 6ms
    
    
    Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.237.251]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  RT-AC86U-7B40 [192.168.1.2]
      2     6 ms     6 ms     6 ms  losubs.subs.bng2.th-lon.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.21]
      3     7 ms     8 ms     6 ms  ae1-183.cr2.th-lon.zen.net.uk [62.3.86.82]
      4     9 ms     7 ms     7 ms  rt-lonap-b.thdo.bbc.co.uk [5.57.80.90]
      5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      6    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  ae0.er01.telhc.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.109]
      7     7 ms    10 ms     7 ms  132.185.255.148
      8     7 ms     7 ms     6 ms  212.58.238.5
      9     6 ms     7 ms     6 ms  212.58.237.251
    
    Trace complete.