1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

****Folding@home setup guide****

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by dekez, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. Stalker_26

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 293

    Location: Rugby

    hi all, started folding again - apologies for the long absence.
    Have had a ram increase and GPU upgrade since last folding session so hopefully going to get more out of it :)
     
  2. Stalker_26

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 293

    Location: Rugby

    quick question tho - i've set it to full but it only seems to be my CPU working? have i missed something? is it normal?

    **edit - ignore that.
    Installed latest version and GPU is starting to move :)
    Not been running long and CPU is chewing it up :)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
  3. Stalker_26

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 293

    Location: Rugby

    if i look on the advanced control window it shows:
    Expected PPD on GPU of 107956
    Expected PPD on CPU of 21028

    :D
     
  4. Stalker_26

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 293

    Location: Rugby

    evening all,
    When folding - what determines whether the gpu or cpu is used more?
     
  5. Tohrazer

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 20, 2013

    Posts: 787

    hi, i've set this up but im getting 0 PPD from either cpu or gpu
     
  6. Acme

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 24,704

    Location: Broken down.

    Have you waited for the work units to download? :p
     
  7. Tohrazer

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 20, 2013

    Posts: 787

    hm, how large are they?
     
  8. deano-5

    Hitman

    Joined: May 2, 2014

    Posts: 682

    Location: England

    can a crap pc be any use?
     
  9. MGP

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 24, 2004

    Posts: 2,510

    Location: Surrey

    Yes and No

    It will come down to the power consumption cost versus the points you return. Only the person paying the bill can decide if that is worth it.

    Modern hardware will be more powerful and thus do more work for a certain energy cost. Older hardware may not be able to access the more strenuous workunits to return them in a timely fashion and thus the returns may be small.

    Although distributed computing was marketed on the basis that your computer was not being fully used so you could make use of the spare processing power, in fact using that spare cpu capacity means the pc uses more energy. If your crap PC has to be on for other things, you might think the extra juice being used is justified, you might not.
     
  10. deano-5

    Hitman

    Joined: May 2, 2014

    Posts: 682

    Location: England

    It may not be worth dedicating a whole crap pc?
     
  11. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,314

    Location: Herts/uk

    define crap? if its amd say nomore lol jokin...
     
  12. mt50

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 9, 2006

    Posts: 77

    Hi, Just joined in myself used to do this years ago on the ps3, but forgot all about it.
    So just downloaded it and joined the team not got the fastest of setups but should add a few points.
     
  13. deano-5

    Hitman

    Joined: May 2, 2014

    Posts: 682

    Location: England

  14. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,314

    Location: Herts/uk

    Welcome, what project you running?
     
  15. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,314

    Location: Herts/uk

  16. mt50

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 9, 2006

    Posts: 77

    Thanks, it says I'm contributing to Project 9007. is that the one?

    I've not really looked at it apart from installing it yet.
     
  17. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,314

    Location: Herts/uk

    Folding? theres a mt50 on team hexus
     
  18. mt50

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 9, 2006

    Posts: 77

    that's probably me from years ago, i registered as waynec now(forgot to put that in my post)

    edit: yep just looked and that was me from 8 years ago.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2015
  19. Trunkey

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 25, 2015

    Posts: 361

    With regards to an R9 290x, would an 8gb card score better at Folding than a 4gb one?

    Thanks.
     
  20. Urbanfreestyle

    PermaBanned

    Joined: May 11, 2015

    Posts: 456

    Location: Exeter, Devon

    Just Joined! :) estimated PPD of 15 :)...... that's bad isn't it?
     


Share This Page