1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

**Gigabyte Super OC GTX 480's - VERY LOW PRICES!**

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Gibbo, 14 Mar 2011.

  1. Randall8686

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jan 2011

    Posts: 2,280

    Location: Hampshire

    also is it me or are there more people having problems with the SOC over the Special edition ?
     
  2. REDNINEAPB

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Aug 2008

    Posts: 241

    Location: Avgorou

    I intially had issues with my oc (onthe the cpu) this was just aan unstable overclock that became apparent after installing the card. I have tested quite rigoursly since and on my coolermaster silent pro 700w my system with GB GTX480 Soc is stable. no artefacts or errors other than errors in OCCT

    testing has included
    Crysis 1920*1080 max settings with 4*aa
    Heaven 2.5 1680*1050 as per the thread
    Furmark
    3dmark 2006-vantage and 2011
    world in conflict max seetings 1920*1080
    Dirt2 max seetings 1920*1080 directx 11mode
    Just Cause2 everything maxed 1920*1080

    no artefacts whatsoever

    spec
    2500k @4.6Ghz
    MSI P67 GD65
    corsair 4gb memory
    samsung f4 2.otb
    corsair f60 ssd
    samsung DVD-rw
    gb GTX480Soc
     
  3. Nodiggidy123

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2008

    Posts: 3,076

    Location: a galaxy far far away

    thats it ordered one of these. :D
     
  4. Nodiggidy123

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2008

    Posts: 3,076

    Location: a galaxy far far away

    this was my point. im not convinced its a safe/stable oc.

    still time will tell.
     
  5. scorpionUK

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 50

    Just wanted to add my overall very positive experience of this card so far. It seems to be working very well after the first couple of hours of use. In game (Shogun 2) load temps are peeking at around 83C with the auto fan speed ramping up to about 74%. I'm finding a huge performance improvement moving from 2xGTX 260 (SLI) in Shogun 2.

    A couple of odd things I noticed:

    The clocks are 700 Core, 1400 shader , 924 memory by default. I'm having to set them manually to the overclocked settings (820, 1650, 950 respectively). Is this common with all of these cards?

    I can't get the OC Guru OSD to display at all. Does this feature actually work?
     
  6. Randall8686

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jan 2011

    Posts: 2,280

    Location: Hampshire

    its odd as my SE is clocked higher than SOC at stock volts and stable as you like. :confused:
     
  7. Tediore

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2011

    Posts: 1,127

    My SOC came clocked at 821. It's perfectly stable so far, bar the irritating buzzing noise when playing Dragon Age. I don't know what that is but I've played Metro 2033 and Lead and Gold now, and neither of those games do it...

    Temperatures are nice. I've seen a high of 73, and the fan hasn't bothered to go any quicker than the stock auto setting of 47% yet. Overall I'm very happy with the card. I came across this thread just as I was about to order, which was a little disconcerting, but I seem to have struck lucky :D

    I hope those of you having problems get them sorted soon, as it really is a nice card :(
     
  8. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Oct 2010

    Posts: 22,383

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    DSR or faulty?
     
  9. xolotl

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 2,140

    DSR, while I've no doubt that it was faulty it was just easier to DSR it. For the sake of paying the £6 postage it wasn't worth going through the hassle of RMA especially as some people on here were getting no fault found despite having artefacts.
     
  10. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Oct 2010

    Posts: 22,383

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    I really should've done this :(
     
  11. Grale

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Apr 2011

    Posts: 116

    £6 postage, i just paid £9 special delivery. with my luck at the moment it would probably get lost and i couldn't risk £240!! :eek:

    Hopefully it will be found faulty and i'll get the postage refunded if it is.
     
  12. thebigak

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2009

    Posts: 168

    OK a quick update on my new card. The VDDC under load has been set much higher in the BIOS so more power is being used, more heat is generated and the fans spin louder. I am not sure if this modification has been done at the factory or after using something like NiBiTor, but it has not helped that much. I am still getting errors in OCCT, just takes a little longer for them to appear. Please all bear in mind that you cannot make claims that these SOCs use less power than stock cards if the load VDDC varies from card to card...

    In effect my new card is just the same as the old one that was found faulty and replaced by Overclockers, but someone at some stage has massively increased the load voltage to compensate for the instability.

    My old load VDDC was 1.0250v and the new card is 1.0880v

    The errors only begin to occur at approximately 80 degrees C now, so if I can somehow keep the card below that I may be able to stop the errors, but I doubt this will be possible even by manually increasing the fan speed to very noisy levels...

    I am very miffed to say the least considering I footed the return postage bill once and am looking at another RMA. I am going to try one more PSU swap for an 850W Corsair, but I think I am going to have to RMA again... :(

    Update:

    I have noticed one positive difference with this new card which is a little strange, my LEDs now display the power usage without the OC Guru software being loaded and even show the correct power usage when the PC is booting up or in the BIOS screen. It now idles with only one LED on whereas my old card idled with 2 LEDs on, so maybe this card has been slightly tweaked in some way?
     
    Last edited: 13 Apr 2011
  13. Van Diemen

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2007

    Posts: 2,522

    Location: London & Dubai

    Could someone post OCCT, Furmark etc settings that people are using.

    I finally have some time to play around with this card, so will give these tests a go & will report back my findings.

    @ thebigak, what BIOS version has your card got?
     
  14. bemaniac

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jul 2006

    Posts: 2,964

    just buy the SE mine goes to 900core and I don't even know what I'm doing!
    Putting it above another 900 core card in sli with no airflow is funny-hot tho like 100c in games but meh it's cheap to replace.
     
  15. thebigak

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2009

    Posts: 168

    I am using OCCT with GPU: OCCT test and 'Error Check' ticked.

    My BIOS is the same as my old card: 70.00.21.00.02.

    I have really stress tested the card with certain games that take the GPU to 100% usage, Cryostasis with PhysX for example, and the GPU temp goes over 80 degrees with the stock fan profile and that is the temp that I get errors in OCCT.

    I can keep the GPU in the 70s with the fan at 100% so that is how I am gaming at the moment to test the stability in games.

    Even though I have 4 case fans and great circulation inside the case, I think the absolute best case design for this type of heatsink is one with a very large side mounted fan (or fans) that blow cool air in from the side and directly onto the side of the card. Unless I do a ghetto mod and slice up my side panel, it might be time for a new case...

    All in all I think this card has been a real false economy for me as the money spent on the PSU and case could have gone towards a GTX 580...

    Might try with the side panel off for a bit, but that is no long term solution as it will be caked with dust in no time...
     
  16. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Oct 2010

    Posts: 22,383

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    thebigak - you could get some antec spotcools.
     
  17. thebigak

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2009

    Posts: 168

    They don't look adequate really, it is all about getting as much cool air over the cooler from the outside as possible.

    Seems to be working OK for me in games with 100% fan speed set manually, and I can just about bare the noise for now.

    Will try OCCT with new 850W corsair PSU when it arrives and see if it makes any difference...
     
  18. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Oct 2010

    Posts: 22,383

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    Well you can consider the PSU an invesment
     
  19. Buckster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Aug 2006

    Posts: 9,171

    is it the same card ? did you make note of the serial number before sending it off ?
     
  20. straxusii

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 May 2003

    Posts: 4,884

    This is bound to be the case. The SE stock speeds are trivial to achieve compared to the SOC stock speeds.