Halo Infinite Mulitplayer (free and out now)

Associate
Joined
14 Sep 2009
Posts
1,562
Location
Accrington, Lancashire
Geometry quality seems to be the killer for me, ultra to high setting is giving me an additional 20+ FPS in the open world areas.

I'm on a bit of a weirder setup at the moment, a 240hz 1080p monitor but with a 2080ti and [email protected] 4.4, from what I can tell I'm extremely CPU limited, running this at native 1080p or with the resolution scale all the way to 4k is giving me the same performance.
 
Catwalker
Soldato
Joined
11 Nov 2009
Posts
4,619
Location
Edinburgh
Can anyone tell me how I can rid my PC of this pop up. Clicking cancel usually means the games will load just fine but not all.
Obviously this is Halo but it happens on most other games it seems. I have Googled without success so hopefully someone here can help.
WPRvVSG.png
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Nov 2011
Posts
20,490
Location
The KOP
Can anyone tell me how I can rid my PC of this pop up. Clicking cancel usually means the games will load just fine but not all.
Obviously this is Halo but it happens on most other games it seems. I have Googled without success so hopefully someone here can help.
WPRvVSG.png


Is your pc controlled by a network administrator? This happens when the file what is required is located on another computer.
 
Catwalker
Soldato
Joined
11 Nov 2009
Posts
4,619
Location
Edinburgh
OK try browse to the halo install location and then you want to look inside a folder with additional files.

Sorry not at the pc right now with correct names of the folders provided by games.
Will do but I do feel this is a bigger problem than just Halo as I mentioned it happens quite often with several games. Unfortunately I do not have much installed at the moment but I can remember a couple of demos recently just would not launch because of this issue, one was Chorus if memory serves.
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Nov 2011
Posts
20,490
Location
The KOP
Will do but I do feel this is a bigger problem than just Halo as I mentioned it happens quite often with several games. Unfortunately I do not have much installed at the moment but I can remember a couple of demos recently just would not launch because of this issue, one was Chorus if memory serves.

Do you install your games onto another drive other than C:?

Because that software from Microsoft is looking for it within C: drive you need to point it to the correct folder for the games.
 
Catwalker
Soldato
Joined
11 Nov 2009
Posts
4,619
Location
Edinburgh
Do you install your games onto another drive other than C:?

Because that software from Microsoft is looking for it within C: drive you need to point it to the correct folder for the games.
Yes I do I have a separate SSD for my games.

So where should I be looking on the games SSD?
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Nov 2011
Posts
20,490
Location
The KOP
Followed this to find the folder and ProgramData is missing?
What Is the ProgramData Folder in Windows? (howtogeek.com)

Right for some reason you have lost that folder. It looks like alot of files that games use to install the software come from these folders.

How to get that back I am not sure. You might need to create the folders yourself and put in the software its asking for vc_runtimeadditional_x86.msi 14.28.29334

You will need to download this file from Microsoft or maybe a system restore point can help.
 
Catwalker
Soldato
Joined
11 Nov 2009
Posts
4,619
Location
Edinburgh
Found the
Right for some reason you have lost that folder. It looks like alot of files that games use to install the software come from these folders.

How to get that back I am not sure. You might need to create the folders yourself and put in the software its asking for vc_runtimeadditional_x86.msi 14.28.29334

You will need to download this file from Microsoft or maybe a system restore point can help.
Found the folder just not where it was supposed to be.
And inside that is the packagecache but not the file it is looking for.
 
Catwalker
Soldato
Joined
11 Nov 2009
Posts
4,619
Location
Edinburgh
I have also discovered that I have a problem with Hidden Folders not showing. So I will deal with that first .
 
Associate
Joined
17 Feb 2009
Posts
869
For a free game I think it's excellent. Reminds me of Halo 3 back in the day.

I love the training drills.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom