1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LG OLED C9 as a PC monitor - Yes, I'm crazy, Yes time to get some burn in.

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by aoaaron, Sep 29, 2019.

  1. hyperseven

    Soldato

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 7,000

    Location: M28

    Isn't it two dashes at the start? --enab.....

    Only works on fresh tabs. If you have tabs auto open from the last season it won't apply to them unless you close and reopen them.

    It does work as using on both Chrome and Edge chromium.
     
  2. aoaaron

    Mobster

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 2,521

    Not working for me sadly. :( I'll try a restart.

    BTW, if you enable via ease of access colour filters on windows 10, you can basically have your windows and web browsing in 'grey scale' so black and white. thats windows + ctrl + c.

    so Im assuming black and white is going to be pretty safe if someone does feel the need to do a lot of web browsing!
     
  3. hyperseven

    Soldato

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 7,000

    Location: M28

    If it's Chrome make sure you exit all instances. You might have that background Chrome thing running (little Chrome icon near the clock) so even if your close Chrome it won't apply.
     
  4. aoaaron

    Mobster

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 2,521



    Did a restart. Still not working. Not sure what I'm doing wrong. This is meant to eliminat the scroll bar right?


    clicked google chrome - open file location - right clicked on chrome -> properties, -> shortcut -> went to target: changed it to the following:

    Tartget: "E:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --enable-features=OverlayScrollba
     
  5. hyperseven

    Soldato

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 7,000

    Location: M28

    :confused:
     
  6. Aparat

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 18, 2013

    Posts: 2

    Good evening.
    I bought c9 and trying to figure out what's considered as "best" setting for HDR gaming on pc, because that's what it will be used for
    I'm trying to figure out how to set Nvidia panel settings: leave it at RGB full 8bit? or 422 10bit limited? at 1440p. If the latter will it be alright to use for SDR gaming as well?
    And will it be better to set the input as a gaming console or pc? because I was reding pc introduce more banding.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  7. hyperseven

    Soldato

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 7,000

    Location: M28

    Printed a few of these off and have them dotted about the place, also have remixed a version without screw and use VHB.

    https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3547336

    Holds the remote quite secure and save knocking off desk etc.


    @aoaaron Any luck with that browser thing?
     
  8. aoaaron

    Mobster

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 2,521

    Haha nope sadly I've given up. Maybe my windows is just weird. :(
     
  9. Dan Beaman

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 5, 2020

    Posts: 5

    Location: shrewsbury

    Hi all, first time poster.
    I have had my LG C9 65 inch since August and love it gaming on my RTX 2070 super is amazing.
    My question is when using G Sync I get an occasional half a second black seen flicker/flash. It only happens when G sync is enabled. Others online seem to have the same as the link below but cant find a fix. It's very annoying and otherwise the gaming is flawless! I have tried changing cables and resetting drivers etc.
    Thanks all

    https://lgcommunity.us.com/discussion/8287/g-sync-black-flicker-on-c9
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2020
  10. ltron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 30, 2014

    Posts: 2,023

    Does this happen during gameplay? Because I get the same when starting a game or on the desktop after exiting a game and it's Gsync turning on or off. I have a Dell S2716DG Gsync monitor. If you are getting the same I'd say it's normal.
     
  11. Dan Beaman

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 5, 2020

    Posts: 5

    Location: shrewsbury

    Yes with me it only happens In gameplay and even if I pause the game for a minute. It's not frame drops either.
     
  12. Colonel_Klinck

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2007

    Posts: 2,774

    Location: London, UK

    Has anyone got a link to instructions to downgrade the firmware that actually works? I want to go back from 4.71.05 to 4.71.04 to try and get BT Sport playing in the built in web browser again.
     
  13. lors111

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 29, 2019

    Posts: 3

    I'm playing with my 2080ti on my 65C9 with Gsync since 28.10.2019 and i haven't seen a single flicker since then.
    How long is your HDMI cable? I'm using this: https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B00Z9X0USK But only 2m.

    Edit: Oh, you say it only occurs at 120hz. I play at 4K@60FPS, the only game i played at 1440p@120hz was COD:MW, but only for 1 hour or something. I have to test it.

    Edit2: After 1 hour of playing RDR2 @ 1440p@120hz i haven't seen flicker or flashing.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2020
  14. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 1,052

    Location: Leeds

    To my knowledge you can’t roll back firmaware.
     
  15. Vega

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 12, 2010

    Posts: 1,556

    Location: Washington D.C.

    So I decided to test on my 55" OLED on what the 48" would look/play like inset on the 55" size. I was quite surprised on how much of a difference that 7 inches makes. It definitely took a lot of the "OMG this is huge" vibe away and plays much more manageable when it's back against the wall on your desk. If you have a 55" 4K and wish to test yourself, set a custom resolution to 3280x1844. Granted you won't have the full 4K clarity but it's still good to test the size.

    Link:

    https://www.overclock.net/forum/28340428-post205.html
     
  16. b00merang69

    Perma Banned

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 2,578



    You could have asked the wife that part. ;)
     
  17. TNA

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 13, 2008

    Posts: 14,605

    Location: London

    Lol :)
     
  18. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 34,989

    Location: Co Durham

    And of course you have the option to make a custom UW res as well which means the picture size isnt much bigger than the current 38" ultrawides. If people are happy with them sat at their desk, there should be zero issues with a 48" oled.
     
  19. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 22,192

    Location: y0 Momma's a$$

    Great info and comparison, thanks :)
     
  20. 1Deep

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 15, 2009

    Posts: 449

    Location: Wolverhampton