1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LuxMark 2.0 Bench Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LtMatt, Apr 30, 2014.

  1. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,736


    You could take over the world with that much computing power :eek:

    Whats is it, about 25 Tera-Flops?
     
  2. GoogalyMoogaly

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 29, 2010

    Posts: 6,954

    Location: Cornwall

    in that case run it at the out-of-the-box clocks on out-of-the-box voltages...

    EDIT
    I mean obviously it's up to you, I'd just hate to see this being quoted as an OC testing tool from now on and people thinking they needed to be stable in this to be 'stable'.
     
  3. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

    On the reference coolers? Lol no chance! I can keep decent temps with these settings and still maintain a 10% core overclock from a stock 290 Pro. ;)
     
  4. GoogalyMoogaly

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 29, 2010

    Posts: 6,954

    Location: Cornwall

    I guess 'decent' temps is a subjective term... (I bet Kaap's definition of decent temps would be different to yours for example :))
    I could argue with mine at stock (volts and clocks) I can keep decent temps (with a custom fan profile).
     
  5. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

    Aha but you said you hate noise!

    What temps and fan speeds? With these settings i can keep temps in the 80-85c range (depending on game played and if i use vsync or not and fan speeds from 50-55%.) I could keep it cooler if i used a more aggressive fan profile. That's with a 10% overclock as well.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014
  6. GoogalyMoogaly

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 29, 2010

    Posts: 6,954

    Location: Cornwall

    I do hate noise, but you didn't mention noise, you just said temps.
    Also, I'm the one arguing that reference 290s are loud, you argue that they're silent.
    I imagine Kaap would be panicing a bit if his cards hit 80-85ºC! I'd be surprised if Kaap's temps were much more than 60ºC?
     
  7. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,214

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I don't know much about Tera-Flops I am afraid.

    Isn't that how the guys at AMD HQ are describing the Titan Z.:D
     
  8. N19h7m4r3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 13, 2008

    Posts: 9,275

    Location: Ireland

    Here's the results for my FirePro D700's in Windows 8.
    In Windows 8.1 64-bit Enterprise
    AMD FirePro D700 6GB x2
    Drivers: Catalyst 14.4
    GPU Clocks Default. Core 850Mhz Memory 1370Mhz

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Here's the results under 2.1 in OSX

    Drivers Default OSX 10.9.2
    Clocks GPU 1 850Mhz
    GPU recognised as 150Mhz, should be 850Mhz ( possibly a bug in Luxmark reading the second GPU in Idle state )

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014
  9. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

    I never said they were silent! I said they were not as loud as people make out, which they aren't. I did say they were silent at idle though, which they are. ;)

    I doubt Kaap's cards go much over 50C tbh.

    :eek:

    Blimey that's going to keep my busy for a while.

    EDIT

    Can you list the gpu clocks and driver used please.
     
  10. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 31,736

    Its the Raw Floating Point performance of the GPU. just like the CPU's performance, your i7 39## probably has about 180 Giga-Flops of processing power.

    1000 Giga-Flops = 1 Tera-Flop

    Top 3 GPU's

    R9 295x2 = 11.5 Tera-Flops
    R9 290X = 5.6 Tera-Flops
    Titan Black = 5.1 Tera-Flops

    Titan-Z does not exist :p
     
  11. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,214

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I don't think mine have ever been over 45c on water.

    This is what they are doing at the moment.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014
  12. GoogalyMoogaly

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 29, 2010

    Posts: 6,954

    Location: Cornwall

    I thought 60ºC was being generous, but you do have 4 and I've no idea how hot 290Xs actually run (I know reference runs hot, but are the cards hot or the cooler underperforming).
    Also, I wastalking about what you'd consider 'decent' temps not 'good' temps or 'excellent' temps let alone what temps you actually get!
     
  13. N19h7m4r3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 13, 2008

    Posts: 9,275

    Location: Ireland

    I edited my post, but there's the extra details for ya

    In Windows 8.1 64-bit Enterprise
    AMD FirePro D700 6GB x2
    Drivers: Catalyst 14.4
    GPU Clocks Default. Core 850Mhz Memory 1370Mhz


    Drivers Default OSX 10.9.2
    Clocks GPU 1 850Mhz
    GPU 2 recognised as 150Mhz, should be 850Mhz ( possibly a bug in Luxmark reading the second GPU in Idle state )
     
  14. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,214

    Location: Dalek flagship

    With air cooled cards I don't really worry that much as long as the card is designed to run that hot and does not throttle. My GTX 690s are a good example when gaming the primary core can hit 90c and the other 3 anywhere between 80c and 85c. I don't worry about that as the 690s are built to run at those temps (the rest of the 6 series are a bit wimpy with temps). What can cause a problem is the heat generated can cause problems for the rest of the PC (motherboard/CPU/memory/SSDs) so it is important to get rid of it. Going from air to water on my 290Xs did wonders for the rest of my PC, the cards were ok on air but the rest of the PC was suffering.
     
  15. GoogalyMoogaly

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 29, 2010

    Posts: 6,954

    Location: Cornwall

    Another thought, although more work for LtMatt, how about a section for CPU+GPU?
    I'd also be interested to see just the CPU results, but not really the right sub-forum for that. CPU+GPU could go in either though, I'd guess a lot of GPU benchmarks are affected by CPU anyway.
     
  16. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

    I do have a reserved section so that could be added at a later date.
     
  17. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,214

    Location: Dalek flagship

    This is my 4930k @4.0 on it's own

    [​IMG]

    If I run it at the same time as the 290Xs it only adds about an extra 70 points to the score the cards get on their own. I think most of it's processing power is used driving the GPUs and so there is little left over to add to the score.
     
  18. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

    Scoreboard updated. :)

    I'll think on the cpu section. Not convinced at the moment.

    Who's going to be our first Nvidia benchmarker?
     
  19. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,214

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I am waiting for the rest of the green team to come out to play.
     
  20. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

    I will do a HD7770 run on the other computer. :cool: