1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Microsoft Chromium Edge - Now Available to Download

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by mrbell1984, Jan 15, 2020.

  1. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,228

    You can get this for iOS now looks like they have updated it. :)
     
  2. mid_gen

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 20, 2004

    Posts: 9,001

    No more than any html rendering engine opens you up to any form of web based tracking.
     
  3. Orcvader

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 11, 2009

    Posts: 14,216

    Location: Havering

    It's based on Chromium where there's no Google telemetry, and even then Microsoft has done more work to remove anything Google related and replace it with theirs.

    Instead, it'll be Microsoft harvesting your data.
     
  4. Elevon

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 22, 2006

    Posts: 3,013


    Quite a few Chromium browsers you can ask "not to track" in settings ie Vivaldi, problem for Microsoft is they are up against tough and experience competition with regards to Chromium based browsers, so the big question is what does Chromium based Edge offer over the competition, simple answer nothing really unless you consider it's another choice/option to choose from.

    I'll be sticking with good old Vivaldi :) .
     
  5. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 26,605

    Location: Westchestershire

    Really liking this. I can see it's more speedy compared to Chrome. I might even switch over.
     
  6. Glanza

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 13, 2007

    Posts: 10,131

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Been using it at work this week and apart from one website having issues with certain things lagging but other than that it's replaced Chrome for me at work and now using it side by side with FF at home.
     
  7. kevcampbell

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 8, 2017

    Posts: 101

  8. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 25,421

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    I'm liking the windows 10 version it's a lot faster than chrome.
    The mobile version though I had to get rid of it in ten minutes. It's just not right for me and I don't want to retrain myself.

    So if I can't have a synchronous system across all my devices I'll probably end up sticking to chrome in the long run.

    I'll keep trying it android but I get frustrated :p
     
  9. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 25,421

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    Any time on this? Its basically all that's holding me off.
     
  10. The_Arbiter

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 2, 2019

    Posts: 263

    Just installed Win10 and using Edge for time being until i switch browser, but thought i'd give it some time to try also. It feels slower than Chrome, and have had issues with a few sites already. But ideally looking to move from Chrome though. Hmm
     
  11. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 26,605

    Location: Westchestershire

    Does anyone know how you can emulate other browsers with this? In old Edge, pressing F12 brings up the dev tools and there was a tab called "Emulation" where I could pick Windows Phone to spoof. But there is no similar tab in this new version.

    EDIT: Figured it out - there is a little button "toggle device toolbar" which lets you pick from other platforms.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  12. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,228

    Someone in here mentioned that it's in discussion somewhere, I am not sure of a time scale. This would be fab to sync across platforms. The thing I would have loved to see is one providor where all browsers natively syncs across all platforms! Wouldn't this be great? By this I mean actually built into browsers not some.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  13. kevcampbell

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 8, 2017

    Posts: 101

    There is also this extension you could install on the new edge browser, it not only lets you spoof browsers but other devices too like an android phone https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/user-agent-switcher-for-c/djflhoibgkdhkhhcedjiklpkjnoahfmg
     
  14. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 25,421

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    Cant find a way (a fast way) for it to cast to my Google Homes or Chromecast/TV

    It simply wont discover any of my 5 or so devices.....

    Thats a game breaker right now and ive put Edge to one side... Im sure in a few months everything will be working and then ill be back.

    See you in March i guess! :p
     
  15. b00merang69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 2,412

    ^^ I just checked latest Dev build and no devices found in Cast for me but they were there each previous build, I will report it.
     
  16. b00merang69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 2,412

    Fix for casting (it did work for me till this bug) and fixes mine.


    "Thanks for reaching out. At this time, issues with casting are part of a known bug. Here's a workaround from one of our PMs:

    Enable edge://flags/#load-media-router-component-extension (paste this into the address bar, select Enabled for the option) and restart the browser."


    Fawkes (they/them)
    Project & Community Manager - Microsoft Edge"


    https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/discussions/microsoft-edge-cast-tab/m-p/1123920
     
  17. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 25,421

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    Thanks I'll check it out.
     
  18. b00merang69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 2,412

    [​IMG]

    Living Room Pair is my Goggle Home Nest Mini Speakers (Stereo Paired).
     
  19. Drizmod

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 18, 2006

    Posts: 2,288

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    Been using it for a few days now and it's going to replace Firefox for me. I think it's really great.
     
  20. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 19,262

    Location: London

    What websites have you guys noticed Edge having issues with?

    ---

    Right so I tried Edge again... and my two comments are scrolling a website is definitely quicker in Edge, but I find Edge is a little unstable when rendering compared to Chrome. Chrome has that lick of quality about it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2020