1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Microsoft Flight Simulator

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by ic1male, 27 Jan 2008.

  1. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Dec 2010

    Posts: 40,900

    Location: Welling, London

    That’s the best you can get I’m afraid. Better pick yourself up some VFR charts and learn to navigate

    That an advantage of the PC version, you can download map add ons which are proper maps and show you where you are.
     
  2. 2004typer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,233

    Location: Up North

    Old Trafford looks pretty good too, Etihad not modelled though, just a flat aerial image on the ground, it's a decent looking stadium as well.
     
  3. chrismscotland

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jul 2009

    Posts: 4,437

    So any previous PC players tried out the Xbox version? Keen to hear your views on this!
     
  4. wildest_jjk

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,730

    Just flew around the Himalayas to Mount Everest. The views and expanse of snow covered mountains was phenomenal.

    Then I was also introduced to my first in game thunderstorm. The combination of this with all the clouds etc. running on a console is absolutely incredible.
     
  5. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 68,485

    Location: Wish i was in .Lethal's house

    My console gets a bit toasty playing this, actually a stream of warm air coming out.

    This is pretty accurate, except a bit too many trees than in reality.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 30 Jul 2021
  6. picnic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2009

    Posts: 2,000

    There is also the option in the main configuration menus for displaying Points of Interest (POI) Shows airfields/towns/castles and stuff if you want it
     
  7. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 68,485

    Location: Wish i was in .Lethal's house

    Ok thanks.

    I've also plugged in a mouse, makes using the cursor much easier than the left stick.
     
  8. KraniX

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,265

    Location: Leeds

    Thanks all for the responses regarding the active pause, it's odd as I was using the free flight mode as was taking off from Leeds Bradford and trying to find my house.

    I'll check later and see if I can map it otherwise.
     
  9. KraniX

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,265

    Location: Leeds

    I looked around on launch day and slim pickings, ordered from Amazon as said was temporarily out of stock and no ETA but at least I guess I'm in the queue and they won't charge until it ships... If ever.

    Thrustmaster official site had stock but said 3 weeks for delivery so I left it but kicking myself now.
     
  10. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 68,485

    Location: Wish i was in .Lethal's house

    There is one on eBay for £80 right now.
     
  11. chrismscotland

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jul 2009

    Posts: 4,437

    Totally out of stock; not sure why they've even left it listed
     
  12. ahenners

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Mar 2010

    Posts: 1,413

    Location: Lancashire

  13. 2004typer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,233

    Location: Up North

    Maybe the ship that was stuck in the Suez that has now docked has a massive consignment of them on, can only hope lol.

    I'm gonna keep my eye out for one as soon as I can get one, think it'll make the game eminently more involving. Not doing too bad with the pad but can tell there are loads of assists on, great for sight seeing flights though.
     
  14. 2004typer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,233

    Location: Up North

    Doesn't sound great - willing to risk it though, shame some of the great PC peripherals won't work with the Series X - wonder if there are any workarounds somebody clever has come up with - I'm in no way am expert but due to the PC like nature of the Series X architecture perhaps the way peripherals communicate with the Series X is similar to a PC? Might be totally off the mark though here in my ignorance.
     
  15. turbot1984

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,786

    So after the 125GB re-download finally got to play. Noticed RAM usage way down now at Ultra 4K, but still topping out at 10GB vram so got a few 'jerky' moments flying over hong kong, grrrr!
     
  16. KraniX

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,265

    Location: Leeds

    For the clicks, I notice this a lot with eBay.
     
  17. KraniX

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,265

    Location: Leeds

    It's weird other controllers don't work since you can plug in pretty much any mouse and keyboard from what I understand, I guess there must be issues with the mapping or something for flight and joysticks.

    There are some other control options coming supposedly but not sure when in the UK - Take to the Skies with These Official Microsoft Flight Sim Accessories - Xbox Wire

    Turtle Beach VelocityOne Flight - Fall 2021 for $349.95 USD

    [​IMG]

    Honeycomb Alpha Flight Controls XPC - Early 2022, no pricing

    [​IMG]


    Thrustmaster T.Flight Full Kit X - July 27 for $199.99 USD in the US (This is just the Hotas One but with the pedals, cheaper as a bundle is you want both)

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: Thrustmaster are also meant to be releasing a yoke controller this holiday.
     
  18. beachBOYken

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Feb 2007

    Posts: 10,882

    Location: London


    Yeah it does get warm, whats impressive though is how taxing this game must be, yet the series x fans don't ramp up, just a nice constant air flow from fans without being distracting.
     
  19. ahenners

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Mar 2010

    Posts: 1,413

    Location: Lancashire

    Same, in the lack of alternative options currently I would take the risk, plus it's not especially expensive.
     
  20. CaptainRAVE

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 Nov 2004

    Posts: 39,604

    It’s been fun flying over the UK in this weather today :p

    I’ve just about managed it. Have switched off all flight assists, I thought I had, but for some reason my throttle cut out completely on landing and I fell short of the runway - at the end of an hours flight. There was no obvious reason for it either.