1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nest Hello - Now available in UK

Discussion in 'Home and Garden' started by Psycho Sonny, May 31, 2018.

  1. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 3,353

  2. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 3,353

    People on the nest subreddit are ****** because 3rd party integrations like IFTTT will break in August as a result of the changes.
     
  3. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 16, 2007

    Posts: 22,293

    Location: UK

    Wow you weren't kidding - They're losing their **** :p
     
  4. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 3,353

    I do kind of feel for those that have dropped a massive amount of money into the ecosystem if they felt they had more control over the hardware so they could control the products using the API. That guy that dropped nearly $3k in nest products is steaming!
     
  5. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 16, 2007

    Posts: 22,293

    Location: UK

    After setting up a motion zone (and turning off all other motion notifications) - I still get 2 random motion notifications through the night...
     
  6. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 29,752

    it will likely be from a car driving by the headlights causing what looks like motion to appear in the main zone. or a bird flying past or even a bat maybe? i've had birds flying past set mine off.
     
  7. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 16, 2007

    Posts: 22,293

    Location: UK

    I've had a few birds trigger it before, which isn't too often - But the ones overnight appear to be; 1 when the night vision turns off, and the other looks like the camera dims very slightly and then back up again (almost like it was going to fall asleep or something :p).

    Last night, I had just one motion trigger at 4:57 - No animals or cars around, just as if the camera has had to readjust to the light for some reason...
     
  8. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 29,752

    if it's just 1 trigger then i wouldn't worry about it. probably an anomaly not worth worrying about.
     
  9. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 16, 2007

    Posts: 22,293

    Location: UK

    Every night though is a bit annoying...

    Is there no way to turn down the sensitivity on the motion notifications? I'm also getting notifications throughout the day (2 already this morning) with nothing happening, apart from a cloud or leaf moving :p
     
  10. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 29,752

    i get them too. you could make the main activity zone smaller. i believe it may catch areas just outside the zone.
     
  11. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 16, 2007

    Posts: 22,293

    Location: UK

    Fair enough - Thanks - I will maybe try and make the zone smaller and see if that helps.
     
  12. rexehuk

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 3,910

    Location: My own head

    Had mine running a few weeks off the TLC transformer and all is well. Actual output is around 16v, with no load, although nest only needs 12.

    Already paid for itself... Caught kid stealing post from letterbox and tracked them back to their house.

    Evidently it was only a leaflet for a curry house!
     
  13. Em3bbs

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 26, 2011

    Posts: 4,350

    Location: City of London

    I'm surprised more people on a fairly techie forum aren't annoyed by Google cutting off so much third party integration. I'm really glad I went with Hive (who are now selling TRVs) and Ring in my house now.

    You must have valuable curry house leaflets if tracking down the kid who stole it paid for the cost of the Nest Hello. ;)
     
  14. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 3,353

    Do you have a security system that shoots GPS darts at trespassers too?
     
  15. rexehuk

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 3,910

    Location: My own head

    Haha lucky enough I had his bike clocked... And saw direction he left. Guy was cycling around outside his house .. so paid his dad a visit and showed him footage!

    We didn't know it was a leaflet until the end, thought he had stole a letter.
     
  16. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2003

    Posts: 19,158

    Location: Midlands

  17. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 29,752

  18. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2003

    Posts: 19,158

    Location: Midlands

    Thanks, hopefully getting a new one won't be a problem. I'm more worried about the VA. I've read the Hello needs 0.8 amps and my transformer appears to be 0.6. I'd prefer not having to switch it out as it's in my hallway entrance and the uprated transformers appear to be DIN railed with large ugly enclosures.
     
  19. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 29,752

    I bought a enclosure off screwfix but the sparky managed to install it in my fuse box.

    So I have a spare one as I couldn't be bothered to return to screwfix as it isn't nearby.

    Decided to keep it in case I need it in future. Likely won't but if you want to buy one trust message me.
     
  20. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2003

    Posts: 19,158

    Location: Midlands

    Cheers, I'm thinking I may need an electrician for all this in the end as I've got a fused switch next to the current doorbell transformer, which might be easier to convert to a normal socket and use one of those plug-in transformers.