1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** Oculus Quest 2 Owners Thread ***

Discussion in 'Virtual Reality' started by Zefan, 13 Oct 2020.

  1. Unseul

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jun 2018

    Posts: 3,204

    Location: Isle of Wight

    Standalone library is pretty good. Especially for shorter replayable things (beat saber, superhot, mini golf, table tennis).

    You do need facebook, and game you buy will be linked, so make a legit one that you can prove, even if you don't want to use it. I just use my actual facebook because I don't see the point in not doing so.
     
  2. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    im going to submit a ticket to Oculus support

    Headset is playing up


    i have 100% battery

    i hold down power button, hear the tune, oculus logo appears, then goes black just before the menu and music sounds, it goes off, like ive pressed the power button the once to goto standby ?

    i press power button, but its black, no sound, no menu, nothing

    if i hold power button down, i do not get the option to reboot, it just shuts down
     
  3. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    defiantly f******

    factory reset, still doesn't boot up :(
    Borked :(
     
  4. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    credit to Oculus support, they are responding already!!
     
  5. Musty Pie

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Jan 2009

    Posts: 6,182

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Ah no sorry to hear shi. Hope for a quick turn around for you!
     
  6. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    fingers crossed
     
  7. melmac

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Dec 2010

    Posts: 10,249

    That sucks Shi. It could be Monday before anyone gets back to you. You can't play at all?
     
  8. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    as ive said, im communicating with them now

    its broken, it wont boot
     
  9. melmac

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Dec 2010

    Posts: 10,249

    Oh, I mean anyone outside the regular front line support, who are probably just to tell you the things you have done already like Factory reset etc. etc. They will probably ask you to send in logs. And those guys won't be working until Monday.

    You have been having ongoing problems, so it's probably an RMA. :(
     
  10. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    ah ok thanks
    yep, most likely RMA
     
  11. melmac

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Dec 2010

    Posts: 10,249

    Did you try using the headset without the headstrap? Just to see if it's interfering with the sensor and has caused the headset to be stuck in a sleep state.

    Take off the headstrap and the facial interface.
     
  12. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    ooo no, thanks ill try that
     
  13. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    Melmac your a Legend !

    im going through the set up screens, holding it to my face (no straps)

    where is this sensor ? worth putting tape over it ?
     
  14. melmac

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Dec 2010

    Posts: 10,249

    haha, class!! Glad you are back up and running. I am not sure where the sensor is, but, you can turn it off in the settings menu.

    Just Disable the autowake and autosleep feature. You just have to push the button to wake the headset up and to send it to sleep when you take it off.

    EDIT: I just took a look inside my headset. You see where it shows the IPD setting? I think it's just above that. If the disabling the auto wake/sleep in the settings doesn't work, you could try tape over it.
     
    Last edited: 16 Oct 2021
  15. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    cheers
    ill do that, then ill put the strap back on
     
  16. Mr.Cookie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,795

    Location: Earth

    Occulus support 0 Melmac 1

    :D
     
  17. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    strap back on and it still works ! :D
    disabled those 2 things in the settings menu, so fingers crossed it wont happen again !
     
  18. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon


    cool

    cheers ! :)
     
  19. melmac

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Dec 2010

    Posts: 10,249

    Wait until ShiWarrior gets my bill for out of hours support on the weekend :p
     
  20. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,241

    Location: Oxon

    hehe :D