1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** Official Ryzen Owners Thread ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Frozennova, Mar 4, 2017.

  1. ubersonic

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2009

    Posts: 20,666

    Back during the lead-up to Ryzen launch when the hyper train was at full speed he was one of the main doomsayers. He promised to give his computer to the first person to hit 3866Mhz DRAM before xmas.
     
  2. laddy

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 16, 2017

    Posts: 154

  3. antonusklesk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 4, 2007

    Posts: 1,381

    It seems I spoke too soon about manually setting RAM resolving cold boot issues.

    I just had to go through two rounds of OC setup and CMOS clearing before it made it through POST once warm. The RAM issues really do need to be sorted in the next BIOS updates.
     
  4. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,430

    Location: Surrey

    Hi,

    3500 CAS14-14-14-39 1T (1107)
    3.8@ 1.345v
    DIMM @ 1.356
    SOC @ 1.156
    PLL @ 1.89

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Peachybum

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 21, 2011

    Posts: 3

    Quick Question.

    What voltage reading do I trust, CPUZ or Ryzen master.
    Ta in advance.
     
  6. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,430

    Location: Surrey

    I use the probeit points.
     
  7. gavinh87

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 29, 2015

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: West Midlands

    What differences have you observed between your dmm and software?
     
  8. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,430

    Location: Surrey

    More than I'm used to, 20 to 30mv

    Edit: BIOS is worse on certain rails
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2017
  9. gavinh87

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 29, 2015

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: West Midlands

    Thanks for sharing this. Trying similar settings with a faster ram kit resulted in code 8 crashing as soon as I hit windows. Posting was not an issue however. What I did find is that you are using a higher PLL voltage, so I upped mine and straight into windows she went!
     
  10. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,430

    Location: Surrey

    ProcODT can also be night and day between a pass and fail at training. This kit likes around 60 ohms
     
  11. gavinh87

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 29, 2015

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: West Midlands

    I found auto or 80 ohms for this 4233 any lower results in a f9. But neither would allow a windows boot. Only raising PLL did that.
    Are you having cold boot problems while using bclk? I've had none so far at 3200, currently testing memory at 3500......
     
  12. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,430

    Location: Surrey

    Not with the right settings, every kit is different. Use HCI with one instance per thread once you've got it relatively stable
     
  13. gavinh87

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 29, 2015

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: West Midlands

    Will do, currently using Aida 64.
     
  14. NeoWave

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 10, 2016

    Posts: 556

    Location: England

    Ditto. I don't think the BIOS is saving the values correctly. I've noticed after a cold boot when I go in to the BIOS it claims my 1700 is at 3800mhz, 1.36v & the RAM at 3000mhz, 16, 18, 18, 36 but when I check in Windows it isn't. The CPU is at stock & ditto with RAM timings; even though you set it to 16, 18 etc after cold boot it seems to sometimes revert the timings to the default of 15, 16 etc which causes it to fail with a frequency overclock because it remembers that part.

    Both Asus & MSI aren't releasing BIOS updates atm, they are releasing alpha builds imho that clearly haven't been through anything other than the lightest look over. It's actually rather beyond a joke.
     
  15. gavinh87

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 29, 2015

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: West Midlands

    Error found at 3500 CL14. 420% in HCI, going to loosen timings.
     
  16. antonusklesk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 4, 2007

    Posts: 1,381

    I think that could be the case, either that or the hardware is degrading.

    Last week I was booting fine on 3.8 CPU and 2933 RAM. It became 1 CMOS clear required and reset, then 2, and now it's taking at least 3 clears to cold boot with the same settings that previously worked without issue. (MSI B350 Tomahawk).

    Also, today I've noticed my U12s CPU fan speed around 200rpm (it's normally 900+). Run a blend and it only jumps to 600 rpm - seems the mobo is interpreting temperatures differently, or controlling the fan incorrectly all of a sudden. Very strange :/

    UPDATE - it seems that this fan behavior is actually the only time that the rpm has been correct - looking at the temp/rpm curve it has been spinning too fast all along.....a reboot later and it's back to spinning at 1k+ all the time :confused::p
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2017
  17. gavinh87

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 29, 2015

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: West Midlands

    700% of HCI at 3500 CL16 so enough to call stable imo. Reboot pc, fails ram training. Wtf is up with this platform and memory?
     
  18. eyetrip

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 8, 2006

    Posts: 8,933

    I feel your pain.

    I'm just hoping mine continues along this time. I just don't want to fiddle any more for a bit.

    No doubt it'll throw a tantrum just as I sit to get settled into something :)
     
  19. gavinh87

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 29, 2015

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: West Midlands

    I'm hoping that the new agesa update gives us more stability and sorts boot problems out. Not holding my breath though.
     
  20. haszek

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 10, 2014

    Posts: 1,094

    I had similar, only more RAM voltage helped 1.45v