1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking guide for newbies here...

Discussion in 'OC Archive' started by NF7-S, Oct 29, 2003.

  1. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 18, 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Biglunn: nF4 boards have all locks enabled. I will edit my guide to reflect this. You are roughly correct about what you are doing so you are in the right direction.

    However, 2 things.

    1) Your signature is too big. 4 lines of text maximum OR 1 Picture of no more than 20KB and 400x75 pixels + 1 line of text.

    2) This is the guide thread so all questions should be posted in the forum itself as a new thread. Only guides go in here (or are supposed to) not help/questions unless they relate to something specifically in a guide e.g. corrections. Just for future reference :).
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2005
  2. MoNkEyMiKeY

    Mobster

    Joined: May 17, 2004

    Posts: 4,667

    Christ sake give the new guy a break Mr Policeman. Besides the whole of the last page was nearly all your posts :D
     
  3. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 18, 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Which I've asked to mods to delete :) including all these ones. :). He may be new but I just point him in the right direction. I don't mean to sound oppressive, just merely point out the rules so he doesn't get into trouble with the mods.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2005
  4. Biglunn

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2005

    Posts: 384

    Location: Slough, Berkshire

    Just changed the size of my sig - sorry about that...I am slowly learning and getting the hang of things here... remember... I am an idiot! Will be giving it a go tomorrow - just out of interest, how much do you think an average Venice E3 cpu could be expected to get on stock cooling? Last advice post in this thread! Cheers
     
  5. Holbeck

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 3, 2005

    Posts: 36

    Bios or Third Party

    I have been using Fuzzy Logic to overclock to 2005mhz (222.8 x 9.0). I have been running this for a month or so now with no apparent problems apart from a slow-down in opening programs after about 5 hours of use.
    Would I be better to use the Bios to overclock instead? :(
    Speedfan shows the following:
    Vcore1=1.38V
    Vcore2=2.54V
    Cpu Temp=34c
     
  6. MAllen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 24, 2003

    Posts: 2,236

    Location: Brighton, UK

    The BIOS is where your true hard core overclockers will live. I don't know what the "Fuzzy logic" is that you are refering to, but I assume it is a windoze utility.

    BIOS overclocking will nearly always give you access to finer settings for your to tune to perfection. :)

    Personally I have found that the MSI WIndowze utility is a bit dodgy, and a BIOS overclock will always get me further and more stable. :) (This is just my own personal experience.....)

    Edit: Eeek!! You are talking about an MSI Windoze Utility. They must have changed the name in the last few months. This is the dodgy util that would lockup my PC at random, but when I used to BIOS for "real" overclocking, I found no problems and could push a lot further. :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2005
  7. ROfu

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 333

    Location: London

    Deleted - as wasnt a guide just a question :/
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2005
  8. frosty15

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 2, 2005

    Posts: 5

    I am absorbing as much info as my brain will take with regards to o'clocking, I think I'm starting to understand where to begin.
    I'm hoping to get an A7N8X or A7N8X Deluxe to start o'c my Athlon 1133 then XP2200 as I presently have a Gigabyte GA-7VM400M which has very few options.
    I have read and have a hard copy about unlocking my XP2200, but am unsure as to what's best to use to fill the laser cuts, (I'll be painting them with the old de-mister repair kit).
    My main questions are

    : DOES the A7N8X / Deluxe have a PCI/AGP lock? (It's not mentioned on any of the pages I've viewed).

    : Is the Athlon 1133 un-locked like the Duron?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2005
  9. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 19,558

    Location: Oxon


    ooo

    thanks mate

    HEY NF7-S , any chance u adding this as part 2 on your first post ? lucklly i was scanning through and foumnd this,

    very usefull

    thanks!
     
  10. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2005

    Posts: 4,336

    Location: Manchester

    Edit
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2005
  11. pricha3518

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 27, 2005

    Posts: 113

    hey guys, this is my first time so be gentle.

    I have a DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-DR now I have read all the posts and I have failed misserable to even gt off the starting blocks. As I can't seem to translate your posts to my bios. The options in this bios are so many and so confusing ;-)..

    So I will put what I have tried:- you can then drag me over the coals. laugh at me or even help me!!

    Gone in to the Genie Bios, alt the FSB Bus Freq to 205, the LDT/FSB Freq ratio to x1 and the CPU\FSB Freq to x4...on boot up I get pass post but then get h/d failure. I am booting of Sata1.
    Help much appreciated!!
     
  12. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 18, 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    This is a guide posting thread pricha3518. Questions about specific problems should go in the motherboard thread, just for your future info ;). With regards to your problems (seeing as I have virtually the same motherboard) - why have you set the LDT multi so low? 3x is the lowest you should really need to go - I run at 4x. CPU multi down to 4x too? Why? Perhaps this bus slowdown has caused problems, I don't know as I've never set it so low. In any event, there is a whole 100 page help thread in the motherboard section for this motherboard here. Ask this question there and you will get DFI help. Failing that, ask at DFI street as I have no idea why, unless of course the HDU is faulty - check the manufacturers website for a DOS drive checking utility.
     
  13. speeduk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 3, 2003

    Posts: 7,501

    Location: Canterbury

    Hi guys. This is my guide for the S939 and older S754 cpus.

    Clicky

    Not perfect but useful.
     
  14. buachille

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 28, 2004

    Posts: 751

    i'm sorry for being so thick :confused: but i can't begin this guide because i can't do the following:

    figure out how to lock the pci lock in my bios.

    when you say up the front side bus in increments of 5mhz i gather that refers to the cpu frequency?? am i right??

    if anyone is interested enough a copy of my bios manual can be found at http://www.ntj9.co.uk/epox_EP-9NPA+Ultra_bios.pdf

    i want to overclock this thing but at the moment i am finding the learning curve more or less vertical :D
     
  15. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 18, 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    nF4 ultra's don't have any PCI locks because they are all completely locked already :). And yes, Epox seem to call the FSB, CPU frequency.
     
  16. cathain

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 1, 2005

    Posts: 163

    Whats this all about, cant find anything in my bios that relates to this?
    I have an AGP card btw.
     
  17. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 18, 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    PCI-frequency. Must be locked to 33. If not, it will cause crashing when overclocking. - Which motherboard btw?
     
  18. cathain

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 1, 2005

    Posts: 163

    I have an Abit Av8 running bios revision 26.

    After a bit of searching I found 'AGP Ratio' which I set to Fixed 66MHz.
    According to my manual locking it at 66MHz means PCI is locked at 33MHz aswell, so its all good then yeah?

    Anyway why exactly does it have to be locked for overclocking does anyone know?
     
  19. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 18, 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Otherwise when you overclock, the PCI bus overclocks too, causing any PCI devices to stop functioning.
     
  20. kingdhesiii

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 22, 2004

    Posts: 154

    how to unlock your CPU multiplier how the hell do u do this. I have an opteron 146 processor.And is it essential in overlcocking.