1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ram pricing

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Old Man, Oct 14, 2017.

  1. 4K8KW10

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 516

    Location: South-East Europe

    I wonder whether these "strong profit margins" result in increased absolute profit or because of the (much) lower demand, they are doing an evil favour both to the cutomers and to themselves. :rolleyes:
     
  2. mattyfez

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 12, 2007

    Posts: 7,838

    Be quite intriguing to see a price per MB graph since the age of the 386. Alas I don't have the resources.
     
  3. jeff83nz

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2013

    Posts: 181

    This has got to be the first time I have bought computer parts and their value has more than doubled in a years time. My 4x4gb ddr4 kit I got for £60 June last year haha.

    It is a niggle, as it is stopping me upgrading my home server from a Devil Canyon i5 to Ryzen
     
  4. 4K8KW10

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 516

    Location: South-East Europe

    Going from £80 up to £300+ means 3.75x+, which isn't normal regardless of how much/many factors contribute for the price increase/ price gouging.

    This type of increase means that this particular industry is sick :eek:
     
  5. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 15,932

    Location: North West

    Price fixing init.
     
  6. Cooper

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 16, 2004

    Posts: 2,104

    No, it means Apple is gobbling up all the memory production to meet demand from morons willing to spend £600-£1000 on a phone.
     
  7. Danny75

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 26, 2013

    Posts: 5,136

    Can't be discounted. Happened before and could be happening again.

    While it's happening, they'll use supply and demand as an excuse. If they are selling loads to Apple, their profit margins will be very healthy, so it's not quite a lack of supply. On the retailer side, it is understood that supply and demand forces price to go up a bit, to cover for loss (perceived or actual) in the number of sales. But that's usually in the 25-50% region as there has to be a limit. This reeks of more than just a supply/demand issue, if that at all.
     
  8. Danny75

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 26, 2013

    Posts: 5,136

    Having said that, Apple has long been guilty of charging exorbitant prices for hardware they don't even make themselves and can be bought much cheaper elsewhere, or used to be, as most everyone in tech knows. Being allowed to do this as they have would eventually lead to something like this, such as memory manufacturers thinking: oh yeah? You're charging £200 for what we sold you for £25? Well we'll just have to raise our prices too.

    Like they say, one bad Apple spoils the whole barrel.
     
  9. 4K8KW10

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 516

    Location: South-East Europe

    You are right, extreme capitalism is very bad.
     
  10. neviditelny

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2015

    Posts: 332

    I was thinking about adding another 16GB of memory but changed my mind. The Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb (2x8GB) 3200mhz cost me £100 last year, now it is £220 for the same set =/
     
  11. Clarkson

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 10, 2010

    Posts: 1,302

    Location: Midlands

    Increase in DRAM price? Enter PCRAM ;)

    http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2017...acebook-text&utm_campaign=ramgeneration-16390
     
  12. HangTime

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 25, 2002

    Posts: 26,872

    Location: Hampshire

    Definitely a blocker for me upgrading at the moment, I need more cpu threads for Mafia 3 but despite cpus falling a bit in price (i.e. decent options available under £200) the overall cost of upgrade is still high. I’d like to spend £350 on 16GB RAM, mobo and a 6 core cpu with overclocking potential, but the numbers don’t stack up at the moment.
     
  13. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 25,971

    Location: OcUK HQ

    I shall have some BF deals, hopefully some 16G kits around £150 which in the current climate is very good pricing, still terrible compared to a year ago but in the current market the best.
     
  14. famas

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 12, 2004

    Posts: 2,506

    Location: the south

    I'd bite if you do :)
     
  15. Jay343434

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 100

  16. pigeonguyuk

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 11, 2012

    Posts: 800

    Location: Bangor - Northern Ireland

    Curiosity in why the corsair RGB ram has increased so dramatically. The 32gb kit within 2weeks has went from around £430 to £500.
     
  17. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2010

    Posts: 12,809

    Can't remember when, likely 4 or 5 years ago I got 4gb DDR3 (2x2gb) for £20.
     
  18. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 25,971

    Location: OcUK HQ


    I am confused, I am guessing you spoke to someone who probably does not 100% understand.

    G.Skill make the kits, so our staff member probably just assumed they test single sticks and then make dual and quad kits from them. No one at OcUK would open a quad kit and then make two dual kits, something we'd never do and something we don't have the ability to do either as we don't just have spare packaging, barcodes from G.Skill.

    What he probably meant to say was you can simply buy two dual channel kits and they will run happily in quad channel, of course you might need to optimise some of the sub timings for quad channel compared to dual channel and that is something 8 Pack could help you with if you gave him a shout on the forum. :)
     
  19. Jay343434

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 100


    Thanks a lot for the explanation. It’s much appreciated.

    I did think it was unusual that you’d split quad channel kits and sell them as dual channel to be honest.

    What made me call and query my order initially was to confirm that it was infact 2x8gb and not 4x4gb. As the listing states 2x8gb but quad channel, it was at that point that the staff member said “it’s 2x8gb but the listing states quad channel as we repackaged it”

    Anyway it doesn’t matter now and as I’ve said I really appreciate you taking the time to respond.

    Cheers
     
  20. deuse

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2007

    Posts: 17,625

    Location: Solihull-Florida


    3000hz?
     


Share This Page