1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Raspberry Pi - $35 Linux computer

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor and Single Board Computers' started by daz, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. jrwagh333

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 20, 2008

    Posts: 4,067

  2. Monkeynut

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 7, 2007

    Posts: 6,406

    Location: Cheshire

    I've been running PPSSPP on mine for PSP emulation, it runs surprisingly well, depending on the game of course. :)
     
  3. TangoEchoAlpha

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 13, 2016

    Posts: 802

    Location: UK

    Put a Pi 3B+ in a Retroflag SNES case today, now running SNESES on it. Enjoyed playing Starwing :D
     
  4. Emlyn_Dewar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 15, 2003

    Posts: 12,691

    Location: Chengdu

    Got any pics of the setup? Sounds pretty cool.
     
  5. TangoEchoAlpha

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 13, 2016

    Posts: 802

    Location: UK

    Here's a picture:

    [​IMG]

    But if you want to see the project then check out the ETA Prime video on Youtube :)

     
  6. Rensin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 15, 2008

    Posts: 1,140

    Looking for help setting up network share from Pi to Windows machine.

    I have sonarr installed on the Pi (downloads via sab on my windows pc) but I can't get sonarr to process/move the file to the correct location on the windows PC.

    I've tried this guide to setup a network share but say error can't find mount.

    https://www.bitpi.co/2015/02/16/accessing-a-windows-share-with-a-raspberry-pi/
     
  7. Emlyn_Dewar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 15, 2003

    Posts: 12,691

    Location: Chengdu

    I just don't need a Pi, but seeing that SNES case and then after some searching a Megadrive one... Difficult NOT to buy more IT clutter. :D
     
  8. Infidelus

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,477

    Looks rather good, but I've still got my original SNES still in its original box sat in a cupboard :)
     
  9. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 3,610

    I want to set up a basic Wiki prototype to show some people.

    Will a RP4 run Media Wiki in a Docker Container? Assume it consists of Media Wiki + PHP + MySQL + Apache but not sure at this stage.

    Would probably be a less than 5 concurrent users at peak, real world use will be 1 or 2 connections. Articles would be a mixture of full text articles and user guides with text and screenshots. Maybe 20 - 50 articles to begin with.

    If the prototype is successful we will find some hardware to migrate it to.

    Have lots of experience with the 3B and some experience with Buster. Not touched a 4 yet.

    What do you think? Right tool for the job or not?
     
  10. TangoEchoAlpha

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 13, 2016

    Posts: 802

    Location: UK

    I know what you mean :)
     
  11. Avathar77

    Mobster

    Joined: May 28, 2010

    Posts: 3,972

    Location: London, UK

    Can anyone help?
    I have been trying to update my RPi4 cbut gettin ghtis error:

    Ign:8 http://repo.mongodb.org/apt/ubuntu xenial/mongodb-org/3.4 Release.gpg
    Reading package lists...
    W: GPG error: http://repo.mongodb.org/apt/ubuntu xenial/mongodb-org/3.4 Release: The following signatures were invalid: EXPKEYSIG BC711F9BA15703C6 MongoDB 3.4 Release Signing Key <packaging@mongodb.com>
    E: The repository 'http://repo.mongodb.org/apt/ubuntu xenial/mongodb-org/3.4 Release' is not signed.


    How to fix this?
     
  12. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 22,564

    It's exactly the same concept just faster hardware. Do you have a laptop? I would personally do demos from a local web server like mamp/lamp e.t.c
     
  13. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 22,564

    I just wrote a little backup script that backs up my pi important files to /dev/sda2 (USB STICK) - and it runs via a cron job every hour, tested and it's working great. Shared below if anyone wants it. If anyone can think of any more important files to backup let me know! - that would be great!

    rsync-backup.sh
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    basePath="/home/bu/Backup"
    outputPath="/var/log/rsync"
    
    # Script to backup important files to /dev/sda2.
    
    echo "Backing up important files to /dev/sda2.  Please wait.."
    echo "" 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    echo "-------------------------------------------------------------------------------" 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    echo "$(date) $(ls -1 | wc -l)" >> ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    echo "-------------------------------------------------------------------------------" 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt 
    rsync -av /var/www ${basePath}/var/ 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    rsync -av /etc/motd ${basePath}/etc 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    rsync -av /etc/ssh/sshd_config ${basePath}/etc/ssh/sshd_config 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    rsync -av /etc/update-motd.d/10-uname ${basePath}/etc/update-motd.d 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    rsync -av /etc/caddy/ ${basePath}/etc/caddy 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    rsync -av /etc/ssl/ ${basePath}/etc/ssl 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    rsync -av /etc/thelounge/ ${basePath}/etc/thelounge 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    rsync -av /etc/samba/smb.conf ${basePath}/etc/samba 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    rsync -av /etc/ssh/sshd-banner ${basePath}/etc/ssh 2>&1 | tee -a ${outputPath}/rsync-output.txt
    echo "Backup Completed Successfully to /dev/sda2.."
    
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  14. Frozennova

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 13, 2009

    Posts: 11,213

    Location: Northampton

    you're missing a "tee" call on line 11
     
  15. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 22,564

    well spotted. :D

    EDIT: I have modified it slightly to add variables. I will be changing it again soon to include each line backups in a separate file for easy viewing.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  16. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,534

    Location: Parts Unknown

  17. jrwagh333

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 20, 2008

    Posts: 4,067

    Is it still required to do the firmware update to lower temps if installing the new raspbian from scratch?
     
  18. jrwagh333

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 20, 2008

    Posts: 4,067

    So I have been looking more into this as I saw 'Novaspirit tech' do a video review on it.

    I was first thinking of using it as a Plex server as I could just add drives when they get full but actually want I am wanting to do is setup a Raid1 array for some more critical backups... Not sure if that's possible?

    Seems to be sold out now anyway :(
     
  19. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 22,564

  20. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,534

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Seems to be built in now. I get idle temps of 35 ish with the Flirc case