1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by RoosterC, Oct 4, 2019.

  1. JOSH

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 23, 2013

    Posts: 9,766

    Location: Surrey

    Yup getting the same.
     
  2. FredFlint

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 1, 2006

    Posts: 2,141

    Just had a small game update.
     
  3. RobPot

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 19, 2003

    Posts: 285

    Location: Looking out of the window

    Both on E:/, but ruunning the Launcher as admin at least started the game, until it stopped...
    Thanks for the tip :)
     
  4. ceaton88

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 14, 2013

    Posts: 717

    Location: Durban

    [​IMG]

    I am running on the lower end of Balanced now so basically Ultra textures and everything else Medium/Low.
     
  5. Goose

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,273

    Location: Kent

    I'm playing with gfx settings on 'Balanced' with my Vega 64 at 1440p my OSD is saying my FPS never drops below 60. Thing is I keep experiencing what I perceive to FPS drops but my OSD never budges from 60 fps. I dont know if the OSD isn't reading things properly or something else is going on.
     
  6. KungFuSpaghetti

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 7, 2017

    Posts: 1,091

    Game runs like an unplayable bag of crap. Started out at near 100fps, then its now dipped to 28fps and stuck there with the GPU at under 40% utilisation. Wtf...
     
  7. olliej82

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2013

    Posts: 192

    If this is true then what a huge disappointment, the game has come to pc a whole year later than console. The performance should be far better.
     
  8. McBain

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 21,703

    Location: Lancs/London

    80MB patch has just come down for me, hasn't fixed **** though. I have the launcher exit problem.
     
  9. Strudders

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 27, 2011

    Posts: 2,530

    I seem to be lucky. No issues here and solid 60fps 1080p performance with my 980Ti

    Stuff is turned down but looks great.

    My settings

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2007

    Posts: 18,045

    This is the problem with PCs compared to consoles, on consoles everyone has the same hardware and software. Take even just this last page or so, you have some people saying its running smoothly and others saying its unplayable or doesnt run at all. Must be a nightmare for PC devs
     
  11. TonyTurbo78

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 26, 2013

    Posts: 9,330

    Location: West End, Southampton

    and this is why I was fine waiting for the Steam release. Get the issues ironed out and i'll play it at Christmas. It's not like I haven't played it, got 70% of trophies on PS4 so I can wait for bugs and patches to roll out.
     
  12. Bishie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 10, 2010

    Posts: 1,460

    I appreciate your concern, but thankfully the game runs via the launcher, I just prefer to use desktop shortcuts for my games!
     
  13. Len Dananey

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 23, 2019

    Posts: 469

    I don't understand why you are all getting issues? I am maxed out at 1440p here and has not dipped under 120fps once. I do use 2 x 1080ti's and overclocked cpu but you guys should be able to run this easily with newer cards with decent FPS. I wonder if a program is making the game run crap or something in the background? One of the smoothest experiences I have played on PC for years from release. If I can help I will.
     
  14. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,767

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Just got home and decrypted, all working. Was not expecting to be so lucky!
     
  15. ScoTTyBEEE

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 1, 2004

    Posts: 1,964

    Location: London

  16. Strudders

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 27, 2011

    Posts: 2,530

    Just had a 85 Mb update....
     
  17. A Man Called Sun

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 1, 2018

    Posts: 12

    Location: Oldham

    HDR is a mess. Everything is so damn dark even after maxing out the HDR brightness settings.

    Ah well. Hopefully they fix it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2019
  18. P1Fanatic

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 27, 2005

    Posts: 741

    Location: Reading, UK

    Another one who had the crashing part way through the intro scene. None of the Rockstar suggestions made any difference. Changed to DX12 and its running ok now.
     
  19. no_1_dave

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 7, 2004

    Posts: 6,515

    Location: Gloucestershire

    Think I'll wait for Steam release once all the bugs are ironed out and OCUK has had a good Black Friday offer on 2080TI's *cough* :)
     
  20. jpm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 14, 2004

    Posts: 1,206

    Location: Abertillery, South Wales

    Same getting pretty annoying now.