1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rig/Cruncher images and specs......

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by Area 51, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. hanluc

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 22, 2010

    Posts: 2,637

    Location: Ratae Corieltauvorum

    Very nice, I have the same board, similar case 700d, with 980x in it watercooled, a bit conservative isn't it, 4ghz? Crank it up! mine does 4.5ghz with 4.125v, and the 990s generally clock better.
     
  2. eggcup

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 16, 2006

    Posts: 1,885

    Location: Poole, Dorset

    4.3ghz now :p

    4.125v????? lol mine is 1.345 volts at 4.3 :)
     
  3. hanluc

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 22, 2010

    Posts: 2,637

    Location: Ratae Corieltauvorum

    Hey! it does 4.2Ghz at 1.306v :p, but it does needs a big kick to get to 4.5Ghz, not really worth it to be honest, with the performance per watt ratio.
     
  4. eggcup

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 16, 2006

    Posts: 1,885

    Location: Poole, Dorset

    lol indeed, i think im draining the national grid as we speak :)
     
  5. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    Pre Upgrade:

    [​IMG]



    Upgrades:

    [​IMG]



    First W/B fitted to the GTX 680:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Block Two Fitted:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
  6. Scon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 27, 2010

    Posts: 1,833

    :eek:

    What do you do for a living?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
  7. Marine Iguana

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 25, 2008

    Posts: 6,768

    Location: Orsett, Essex

    :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  8. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    Team Leader.........

    Building:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. DoneADougalOnSofa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,162

    Location: Bath

    Wow.
    What a job. What a rig. You may well be the nicest bloke on the planet, but I think I hate you.

    Single to Clifton suspension bridge please, driver...
     
  10. RiseAgainst

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 5, 2011

    Posts: 515

    modest purchase for you guys I know but after getting my yearly work bonus I just pulled the trigger on a 7850. Should see some good points out of it once it arrives :D
     
  11. DoneADougalOnSofa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,162

    Location: Bath

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Well here's my cruncher...

    Dripping with fans (Viper, two Xilent Redwings (one behind the mobo) and two CM Sickleflows and the 20cm whopper in the roof. Not exactly quiet- really need a fan controller...
    And despite bad things said about the Freezer 13, I'm flat out on MilkyWay and the max so far has been 57C!

    Pushing much gigafloppage already, going to have a pop at OCing the GPUs tonight...
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2012
  12. DoneADougalOnSofa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,162

    Location: Bath

    I did have this lot in a CM Sileo 500 case.
    Without removing the side panel, CPU temps would hit 72C upwards- BSODd several times due to overheating (Only when BOINCing). This was due to the case only having one exhaust fan. Even with the Viper, it just couldn't shift enough air...
    Since switching to the Antec 1100, I've not managed to exceed the high fifties.

    Seriously folks- if anyone is on the lookout for a good case (esp. if you crunch a lot), the 1100 is a real stunner, and a total joy to own. So much space to play with, and ventilation is second to none. I have experimented with and without the 'behind the mobo' fan- it is good for another three Celsius' worth of difference- hit 60-62C without it.
     
  13. FMTopfan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 17, 2009

    Posts: 1,041

    Location: UK

    That's good to hear. Did you consider the well reviewed mid-tower Corsair Carbide 500R white/black for only £90 and better cooling (plus options for watercooling)?

    I'm buying that next week to move my ProLiant MicroServer into (not saying array size to blow my own trumpet ;)) to sort out a few niggles. Official specs here, worth checking out.
     
  14. DoneADougalOnSofa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,162

    Location: Bath

    Yes, I did look at the Corsair- it was either that or the 1100!
    I just prefer the look of the Antec, and the side fan port behind the mobo just swung it for me. I know the 500R is a great case- it was a bit of a coin-toss decision in the end.
    There is plenty of room for watercooling, although I'm not planning to go that way at the moment- still got plenty of headroom with air for the time being!
     
  15. ToxicTBag

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 7,186

    Location: TBagTowers

    Been slacking royally of late as money has been pretty tight. Have managed to build the rig below on saving pennies here n there and buying second hand.

    While the layout might leave a lot to be desired for me not being a serial watercooler i dont think i did too bad. I realised i was going to run short of fittings so there might be exclamations of "what is that" and had to build the loop in such a way as it would be easier to add next gtx 580.
    Am working my way up slowly o/c the gpus right now they are at 850 so aways to go yet :)

    Never really thought of blue as a colour scheme before but getting the mobo at a good price i thought i would give it a go ..... its ok ... ish.

    I7 930 @ 4ghz
    12gb Corsair Dominator Ram 8-8-8-24
    2 x gtx 580's with ek blocks .... backplates will come when i have the spare cash.
    Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w
    Cpu - thin double rad in push pull at top of case below 2 x 200mm fans.
    Gpus - rear mounted triple rad in push pull.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    [​IMG]

     
  16. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    That my good man is one hell of a cooling set-up......

    I am currently in the midst of trying to resolve a few issues - seems the Corsair 800D is a little too small for my requirements :(

    Still got a few ideas tho......

    Have a few pics so far - but nothing to get excited about.

    Hopefully, it wont be out of action for too long.........

    Fingers crossed.
     
  17. ToxicTBag

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 7,186

    Location: TBagTowers

    Cheers Mr Loudbob sah, am not so bothered about the looks of kit as i used to but am well chuffed the cooling numbers and oc's are a lot better than i anticipated :)

    Do get a move on sah ..... i've not seen a rig with 4 x 680 yet i could use a new screensaver :)
     
  18. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    :o

    Well I've managed to fit a triple rad and four single rads into the 800D along with six fans. So now I know it all fits I'm in the process of fitting the water blocks to the last two 680's. After which I will clean the cpu loop and proceed to rebuild it all. Just hope it goes as well as I hope - but its gonna be very tight...... :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2012
  19. ToxicTBag

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 7,186

    Location: TBagTowers

    Fingers crossed for you sah i started 8am saturday morning stopped for lunch and was done for 5am sunday morning ..... i likes taking me time (plus manflu) :)
     
  20. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    Three 680's down...one to go.

    Will have to continue with the rebuild tomorrow tho.... :(

    Be warned tho.....when finished its gonna be chaos inside the case....but that's the way I pictured it :)
     


Share This Page