1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poll: SO RYZEN: WHICH ONE DID YOU BUY OR ARE GONNA BUY?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Gibbo, Feb 22, 2017.

?

Which Ryzen did you buy or are planning to buy?

  1. 1700

    142 vote(s)
    41.0%
  2. 1700X

    92 vote(s)
    26.6%
  3. 1800X

    112 vote(s)
    32.4%
  1. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,822

    Location: Leeds

    1800x
    Asus prime x370 pro
    Already have ram

    I will get a better board later as idk if this one with cut it for Ln2 :p
     
  2. Bonjour

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 30, 2004

    Posts: 9,076

    Location: London

    Jim Keller and Lisa Su.
     
  3. djbully

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 7, 2013

    Posts: 259

    Location: Southampton

    My basket at Overclockers UK:

    Total: £828.88
    (includes shipping: £0.00)


    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Just about to pull the trigger on this lot!

    Also have some:
    G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3000Mhz CAS14 32GB (2 x 16), thought it was 3200 for some reason.
    NZXT Phantom case
    EVGA 1000W T2 Supernova
    Samsung 960 EVO M.2 drive 250GB

    I'll be going with 2 Fury X as video, my only concern is the lack of 16 x 16 PCIE

    Will it make much of a difference if it is only 8 x 8? I know Fury X is not going to push it too much, but Vega might be different. Ultimately, I'm looking to power 3 4k screens for eyefinity, it's a little way off yet though!
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
  4. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,723

    Probably going to go with the 1800X, though I'll wait and see what the verdict is on 1700 overclocking. Back in the Phenom II X6 days it was the case that the lower end models like the 1055T could be cranked up every bit as high as the 1090T and 1100T, rendering them pointless. I guess it was slightly more difficult due to having to use the base clock since the multiplier was locked, but that's not the case with Ryzen.
     
  5. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 561

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    Not ordered Ryzen. Maybe when I need one I will get mid tier R5, by then reviews, etc will be out to make more informed purchase.

    Not that I doubt AMD have come up with the goods this time, be nice to be back on AMD CPU as enjoyed my K6 to Opteron 165 rigs.
     
  6. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,822

    Location: Leeds

    Crossfire works with 4x so 8x is fine.
     
  7. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,509

    Location: Autonomy

    The 1700 looks like a phenomenal chip for the price!

    Bring on the benchies...
     
  8. Fire_fly

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 18, 2012

    Posts: 3,674

    Location: Derbyshire

    Think I will be holding fire until the reviews are in. Should make it easier to choose between the 1700 and the 1800x once I know if the 1700 can be OCed to match the 1800x. It also has the added bonus of giving time to see what is the pick of the motherboards.
     
  9. FrozenShivers

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 14, 2014

    Posts: 150

    I'll be considering the 1600x or 1700x once reviews are out :)
     
  10. stewski

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 12, 2015

    Posts: 4,014

    I'm looking at the below as a serious option this Month.
    Can some sane, technically literate, knowledgeable people look it over for compatibility and or insanity.

    My basket at Overclockers UK:

    Total: £1,104.90
    (includes shipping: £0.00)


    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  11. ltron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 30, 2014

    Posts: 1,404

    Did you intend to buy 64GB of RAM? You ordered the 2x16GB kit twice. Other than that it looks fine.
     
  12. stewski

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 12, 2015

    Posts: 4,014

    Lol, 64Gb is almost indefensible I know but.
    1. Realistically it wont get loads cheaper to invest in RAM short term.
    2. The only realistic way I can imagine utilising 8 cores 16 threads in any meaningful way is virtualisation (MediaServer/Workstation/Lab) in which case 64Gb isn't as mental as it appears.
     
  13. djbully

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 7, 2013

    Posts: 259

    Location: Southampton

    Thanks, I went for it but CC has locked me out! :( Will hopefully get it sorted in the morning.
     
  14. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 30,859

  15. subbytna

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,827

    Location: Belfast

    Can you overclock all CPU's or just some?
     
  16. Jon20

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 12, 2008

    Posts: 998

    Location: Newport, Shropshire

    Tempted to get a 1700x and a Asus Crosshair VI Hero. Especially as the Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT I'm using appears to be AM4 compatible out of the box. Just need to see a few more reviews.
     
  17. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,723

    All Ryzen chips have an unlocked multiplier, so can be easily overclocked.
     
  18. subbytna

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,827

    Location: Belfast

    Look at all the CPU and mobo's on sale in the MM lol :D
     
  19. subbytna

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,827

    Location: Belfast

    So that leads me to ask why the 1800x over the MUCH cheaper 1700? Surely it's the higher bas clock you're paying for?
     
  20. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,723

    Because we don't yet know how AMD are binning the chips. It may be that the 1700 can't even hit stock 1800X speeds, or it may simply be a case of ten seconds in the UEFI to make up the difference. We'll find out post-launch when people start reporting on their overclocks.